We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bakery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bark Mill Tavern & Bakery

The Bark Mill Tavern & Bakery
96 Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
03 6257 8094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 restaurants in Swansea
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I don't know what happened to the young lady whose manner resembled a rottweiler, because on the several occasions we visited, the welcome was warm and the service excellent. The food is good value, great breakfasts and delicious rolls and pastries for lunch. The strudel is to die for.
If the number of happy diners is any guide this is one of Swansea's many treasures.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    43
    76
    24
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Ordinary Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The products we had were fine but the unpleasantness we encountered from the young lady serving could only be likened to a rottwieller greeting.Of all the places we visited on our 2 week trip this is the one we would not revisit

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing oysters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The bark mill tavern was recommened to us by the hosts of our motel. After reading about the fresh seafood that is farmed and available in this area of Tasmania, we were really looking forward to our seafood meal. It was Valentines Day when we were at the Bark Mill, so very busy, they had unfortunately sold out of the salmon( we did see other meals coming out that ordered before us, looked wonderful). Advertising at the table told you that fresh Tasmanian oysters were available so we ordered a dozen oysters kilpatrick. Whilst they tasted okay, they were very disappointing, not very fresh, quite small and not at all what was promised on the advertising blurb. I think Tasmanian seafood is fantastic, but serving second rate oysters, doesn't make you want to order again.
I always wonder when oysters are being served kilpatrick, do you get the lesser ones as you are not supposed to be able to see what is under the topping?
Service was great, staff very friendly, but food disappointing!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Title says it all. Good for filling up. Plenty of beer choice too. V busy at 7pm, but then winds down relatively early.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“love local bakeries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

this is one the best bakeries on our trip. Lots of variety of bakery items and made up sandwiches etc, plenty of space, kids playground.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bark Mill Tavern & Bakery also viewed

Swansea, Tasmania
Swansea, Tasmania
 

Been to The Bark Mill Tavern & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bark Mill Tavern & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.