We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but it would be better if you could buy fresh fruit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kates Berry Farm

Kates Berry Farm
12 Addison Street, Swansea, Tasmania, Australia
+61 3 62578 428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Swansea
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice but it would be better if you could buy fresh fruit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Superb ice cream and a great assortment of berry based products but fresh produce would have topped it off. Well worth visiting!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    80
    45
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I could spend days there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My family visit Swansea in January every year for a holiday. As part of the "must do things" is a visit to Kates Berry Farm.

We actually did two trips. Over both visits we tried various ice cream flavours as well as the raspberry sorbet and the Belgium waffles. The whole family loved them. The two scoop ice cream cone was almost too much!!

The view sitting out at the tables of the bay is just beautiful.

The only problem we encountered was that there was only one toilet for customers. On one of our visits there was quite a long queue (and it is difficult for kids to hold on!)

We'll be back again next year!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Morning Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Expected to see a number of berries growing but was disappointed.
The shop sold a variety of berry products at reasonable prices.
Morning tea was tremendous. A good choice, waffles, pancakes and scones. We had scones with black-current jam although other toppings were available. Very nice.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“OK but a bit of a tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was nice, but it was expensive for what you got both in the cafe as well as the produce on sale. The fact that they had electric fences around the perimeter of the main bit of the farm was a bit off-putting. It is OK and worth going there if you want a break but don't go out of your way for it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Berry Farm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

After picking our own mixed berries at the Sorrell Berry Farm, Tasmania and tasting at same time, we were expecting a similar outlet at Kates Berry Farm. Disappointed it is only a retail outlet for coffee, lunch & preserved berry products and we wouldn't visit again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kates Berry Farm also viewed

 

Been to Kates Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kates Berry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.