We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pretty weak” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Freycinet Waters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Freycinet Waters to your Saves list
Freycinet Waters
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Franklin Street, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall pretty weak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Traffic noise, ok brekkie, pretty comfortable bed. Location is good. The owners were a mixed bag. Got the impression it was all about money, which I guess is why my credit card got charged a bit more than I agreed to pay. Not enough to challenge, but enough for others to be wary. Bob seemed pretty nice. Karen seemed to hang out in front of guest's closed doors....kind of creepy.

Port in the room was a nice touch. Location was good. Room was a bit cramped and definitely not worth a hundred bucks a night.

Room Tip: right on the road, so expect traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetWaters, Owner at Freycinet Waters, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It’s disappointing that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us as much as other reviewers have. If you would like to contact us directly we are more than happy to refund any over payment that may have been made, as we would have done at the time if mentioned. Whilst your remarks are disappointing we believe that Trip Advisor allows others to make their own judgement based on all the reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    27
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
68
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is great! Karen and Bob are great hosts, and they maintain a very welcoming B&B. The room had all sorts of little "extras", such as port and chocolates being put out every night, a towel warmer in the bathroom, etc. Karen is a wealth of information, and even insisted on lending me a backback and giving me a bottle of sunscreen when I came unprepared for the beautiful weather! The breakfasts were divine, and included things like french-pressed coffee, freshly squeezed OJ, and homemade breads. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The owners make you feel like old friends as soon as you arrive and are very helpful as to where to go and where to eat around Swansea. Everywhere is just a short walk from the property. Their knowledge of Tasmania is extensive and I wish we had met them at the start of our trip instead of at the end for guidance on the best places to see.

We stayed in a small room that was very reasonable but a bit squashy if you have a lot of luggage. Fine for one night though it is well equipped and has a beautiful view from the bedroom.

There are tons of videos for guests to borrow with many British comedies which kept us well amused.

The breakfast is very extensive and several unusual dishes are available for the more adventurous.

Room Tip: The small rooms are good for a couple travelling light, being very reasonably priced. If staying lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This property is in the centre of Swansea, easy walk to restaurants, shops etc and also Great Oyster Bay across the road. Breakfast was phenomenal, fresh, tasty and hearty and Karen was a wealth of information on the local sights. We found the Freycinet Waters B&B clean, comfortable, cosy and a very pleasant base for exploring the Freycinet area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thankyou Karen, what a lovely B & B you have set up. We had the spa suite for only 1 night but we definately took advantage of the huge two person spa! Karen has thought of the little extra's to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I won't tell you about them, you will just have to go stay there yourself! The B&B sits in the middle of Swansea with stunning seaviews. It has plenty of places to dine at night close by, and just over the road a nice beach for that moonlit walk. The breakfast is very filling and VERY yummy! I am so happy that we chose to stay here and look forward to future overnighters here.

Room Tip: Pick the Spa Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed one night after driving in to Swansea direct from Hobart Airport.

Very clean unit amid comfortable surroundings. Quiet ambience all round, dinner places close at 8pm so do get settled with your evening meal early.

Winter Rate of AUD143 a mite high for a twin-bedded room (with spa, though we didn't specifically ask for the spa; other rooms may just be cheaper).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This B&B looks rather ordinary. The house is small and located at the main street in Swansea, but looks nice and friendly. We have got very small room, but clean and quiet, despite we had the window from the street side.
The breakfast room, with the function of living room, however is spacious and very cosy.
Karen was lovely host, helpful and friendly. And she served us very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freycinet Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freycinet Waters

Address: 16 Franklin Street, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Freycinet Waters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freycinet Waters is in the heart of Swansea village. Everything is within an easy flat walk. Our property looks across the road to the delightful Great Oyster Bay. Water views can be found from most rooms and definitely from the breakfast room. Eat a filling 'English' breakfast while gazing out at the water. A great way to start the day. For those who are adventurous the menu includes black pudding and haggis. Our colour scheme reflects the colour of the water and the hues of the great sunrises & sunsets that you can see from the property. A 1930's style at the front of the house and a more modern day feel at the rear gives Freycinet Waters that light airy feel. Our prices include breakfast (or breakfast provisions), WiFi (the modern essential) and a small port to help you rest at the end of a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Freycinet Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freycinet Waters Swansea, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freycinet Waters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.