We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility but not operation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swansea Backpackers

Swansea Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Swansea Backpackers to your Saves list
Swansea Backpackers
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   96 Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great facility but not operation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

A notice was posted that the water supply of female shower would stop after 5 min., actually it ran very slow from the 1st second.
Guests were not discipline, many of them did not wash the dishes after use.
My male friend told me the basin was left with moustache probably a guest shaved and left it there.
Paid linen set would be given to other guests who did not pay for it. Caused misunderstanding between guests in shared room.
Booked female dorm but turned out one male user used the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Ridiculous for a backpackers that guests had to pay extra to use the cooker ($1 for about 20min). The BBQ, which wasn't working properly, cost $2 per time to use, and some other guests, not realising it wasn't working, fed it with quite a few $2 coins before they gave up and cooked their BBQ food on the cooker instead (spending even more money).

We had a private double room which had enough space but was very dark inside - only one small window which didn't let a lot of light in anyway.

There is only one set of bathrooms (separate male and female) for everyone staying at the hostel and the combination of people getting up to go to the bathroom during the night, the wooden boardwalk creating noisy footsteps and the sound of the heavy doors opening and closing equated to a fair amount of noise being produced that could be heard in almost all of the rooms, which are not soundproofed, nor are they heated. We managed to sleep only by using earplugs. While the heating wasn't a problem when we were there since it was summer, I imagine the place could be rather cold in the winter.

The facilities in the kitchen were of a good quality and clean, but the bathrooms were heavily used, the showers were very basic and on a few occasions the toilet paper had run out.

The couple running the hostel (not the owners) seem to be doing the best they can, but busy periods seem to overwhelm them, and the evidently greedy owner could do with employing some more staff to help them out and enable the place to run more smoothly. A 'flashpackers' this is definitely not!

Room Tip: The further away from the door to the bathrooms, the better in terms of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked this place after our visit to Freycinet NP. It looked stunning on the web.
It is a real great place, clean, big rooms, clean bathrooms etc. BUT the current owner is just too narrow-minded: internet 2$ for 5min, cooking: 1$ for 15min power, sheets: 6€ pp… Name it, he charges for it… And the dorms weren't cheap to begin with!! The people running the place were great though, but you can tell the owner doesn't leave them any possibility to change the place into the amazing hostel this place could be…

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are extremely disappointed with the service of this bacpacker's accomodation! We have reserved 2 rooms in May this year for a coming trip late this year. The said reservation has been confirmed with full payment made.
However, we have just been informed recently (after 4 months) by the management that our reservation is NO LONGER AVAILABLE!!! This is simply ridiculous! We do not expect this kind of service from a reputable service provider in Australia! The management do not even have the courtesy to look for a replacement accomodation.
We are left to find alternative place to stay in such short notice....
Hence, we will never ever recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Friendly and cosy! Now that is hard to find in a backpackers. Clean rooms, large rec area and warm woodfire heater. I suggest to you pack food as nowhere is open after 8pm on a week night (growling tummy). Arrived just out of office hours but the staff were on a couple minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

As June is a very quiet time of year in Tasmania, I wasn't surprised to find very few people staying here. I had a fairly positive experience although not perfect.

Positives:
Large dining area, great comfortable lounge & billiards room, with large screen tv's in both areas.
Everything was super clean and organised.
Nice wood heater in the dining room, great in winter.
Excellent BBQ and outdoor eating area which would be great in summer.
My room was a 6-bed dorm which I had all to myself which was a bonus!
The building appears to be very new and everything works!
The manager was friendly and informative and gave me detailed information upon arrival and included a discount voucher for a local restaurant.
The hostel in pretty centrally located in the small, very attractive, town of Swansea.

Negatives:
No heater in my room (although there were instructions printed on the door telling me how to use the heater) so perhaps it had been removed for some reason? Pretty cold room in Winter, lucky their were spare doonas to use.
Only 1 sheet given, so the doona/quilt that is already in the room is all I have to cover me (which may have been used by many bodies before me!) this happens at numerous hostels, yuk!
Fairly expensive at $37 for a dorm bed in a small town in the middle of the 'off' season. (All other Tas hostels are around $26-27)
Seemed to be only 2 female showers for the whole hostel.
Definitely not a fan of the $1 timed use of the hot plates in the kitchen. Cooking facilities should be provided free of charge in a hostel situation.
No tea towels provided in the kitchen.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was at Swansea Backpackers in April 2013 and had a wonderful stay. Originally planned on a night, but stayed for two more nights (the remainder of my stay in Tassie!) because it was so comfortable and Ken was a wonderful host -- I could perhaps see why some may not mesh well with him, but really knows the area and fun to chat with. Dorms have luggage storage (not lockers though) space and two windows per room; open to the outside, but only steps to the common spaces and bathrooms. Each bed had a reading light and towels were provided. It was the off season when I was there, so not sure if outlets would be a problem if crowded -- I didn't really check that out since it wasn't an issue for me. Comfy mattress. Large lounge with leather couches and TV, pool table, books, games, wood fire. Spacious and well-equipped kitchen. Everything was kept very clean! Easy drive to many of the East Coast attractions, including Maria Island and Freycinet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swansea Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swansea Backpackers

Address: 96 Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swansea Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Swansea Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swansea Backpackers Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swansea Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.