We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagner's Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wagner's Cottages to your Saves list
Wagner's Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Perfect get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Primrose Cottage for 2 nights and the only thing I would complain about is that it wasn't long enough! The owners are so friendly and made us feel welcome, the cottage was clean, stocked everything you need and had a tonne of charm. The homemade bread and scones was the 'cherry on the top'. I would definitely recommend Wagner's Cottages to others who are after a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed at Primrose Cottage, it was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable, I could have stayed in there for days.

The owners are lovely and available if you need them.

Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in the Hollyhock cottage for two nights and couldn't be more impressed. The attention to detail and the little extras were unbelievable. Belinda the host could not have been more welcoming. We were supplied with freshly baked bread upon arrival, freshly cut flowers in each room, cereals, a BBQ for use with all utensils and oils ready to go. The place was very clean and the gardens well kept. The fire place was ready for instant ignition which was very handy. Couldn't recommend this place enough. On our second day we were treated with some freshly baked scones with cream and jam.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We chose Hollyhock cottage as we were a party of three adults , the cottage has 2 good size ground floor bedrooms .On arriving we were welcomed by our host who had fresh baked bread to tempt us. Delicious scones , jam & cream followed later. The cottage is a period style build & blends well with other original cottages in a truly delightful garden setting . All quite private , we never saw or heard other guests . Top rating for cleanliness, and attention to detail. Many thoughtful additions such as chocolates, port, fresh flowers , cereal milk . We struck excessive hot weather so were relieved to have air-conditioner, but there is also log fire for chilly days. Washing machine was added bonus for us! I enjoyed sitting in garden at rear of cottage in late afternoon watching the rabbits pop out from under the bushes, lots of wonderful bird life just outside cottage windows. Although cottages are close to road we did not notice noise and had peaceful nights of sleep. A perfect stay!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Lake, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were welcomed with fresh bread and scones from our hosts' kitchen, which made a great first impression. Service was polite and friendly. The cottage itself was a beautiful, period piece of Tasmanian farmhouse architecture that was well stocked with all essentials and a few extras, like half a caraffe of port and plunger coffee. Definitely recommended for honeymooners or couples looking for a few nights away.The town and beach front have a quiet, homely charm and there are a few spots of interest, such as the war museum and nearby walking tracks. Also conveniently situated re the East coast/Freycinet wine route. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The owner of Wagner’s cottage allowed us our privacy, and provided us with ample continental breakfast with loaf of homemade bread, fresh eggs, and good selection of tea, coffee and herbal teas. The well-equipped kitchen is perfect if you want more - just bring a few supplies for a cooked breakfast, lunch or dinner.
We loved this heritage cottage and beautiful gardens and felt very much at home. Such lovely rooms to relax in! The bathroom in Wagner’s cottage is new and contains a wonderful spa with surprise TV (one of three in the cottage). The bedroom ceiling upstairs, being original and sloping, requires careful negotiation in the dark.
It was delightful to have fresh flowers on the table, in the bathroom and beside the bed, plus the port and Cadbury dairy milk bars.
We had a fabulous stay, and I have nothing to criticise other than the summer weather was too warm for the doona and the only other options seemed to be small woven cotton blankets smelling of mothballs.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is a rare gem. Fantastic accommodation. Husband and wife team, Belinda and Kerry, are wonderful hosts and have created a peaceful paradise where each cottage has total privacy from the others. We stayed in 'The Studio' cottage for 2 nights. Absolutely beautiful inside and out. It's a old stone cottage, fully fitted out inside with modern kitchenette, spacious beautiful bathroom with large corner spa, large comfy queen bed, lounge, TV and DVD player (lots of DVD's available free of charge at reception). We found vases of fresh perfumed roses in every room, and a loaf of fresh warm bread was waiting for us on the table when we arrived. The cottage has its own walled garden at the rear with a paved deck, outdoor furniture, private winding path through its garden and masses of beautiful flowering plants, including spectacular rose bushes of every colour. There's also a private barbecue and private garden seat under a huge shady tree. There was plenty to eat for a light breakfast - cereal, muesli, sugar and coffee, plus the fresh baked bread for toast, as well as a box of assorted teas, including herbal, and a glass decanter of Port. It has a microwave, and there's a portable induction cooker ring to use if needed, plus a good size bar fridge, as well as cutlery, crockery and glasses. Everything is clean, modern, quirky and beautiful. I'd recommend any of the four Wagner cottages for a great stay. The larger cottages also have a fireplace, whereas our Studio cottage had an air-con and a heater, so we were completely comfortable for our entire stay. This is one place that's actually better than it's photos on the internet, and it did not disappoint in any way. As soon as we walked in the door, it had the ‘Wow’ factor for us. It's also just a few minutes drive to the township of Swansea, where you'll find various restaurants, and also an RSL for meals. It’s best to book evening reservations at the restaurants, because not many were open for dinner. Swansea is on the water, and has lots of little shops to browse through and a great visitors centre with helpful staff. It's also close to Coles Bay, Bicheno and Freycinet if you have a car and want a short drive to spectacular scenery. I'd happily return to this beautiful estate at any time of year. Thank you Belinda and Kerry for a truly great couple of days.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Studio which was spacious, modern and peaceful. I'm sure all the cottages woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wagner's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagner's Cottages

Address: Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagner's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Wagner's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagner's Cottages Swansea, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagner's Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.