We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you picture of when you think "Seaside Cottage in Tassie".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagner's Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wagner's Cottages to your Saves list
Wagner's Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
1 review
“Exactly what you picture of when you think "Seaside Cottage in Tassie".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here recently on a short getaway from Sydney and absolutely fell in love with the place. Our accommodation was exactly what you picture when think "seaside cottage in Tassie". Stone walls, roaring fire, wineries, beautiful gardens and beaches, privacy, peace and quiet! The cottage itself was gorgeous, with beautiful finishing touches, comfortable and immaculate. We had the East Coast of Tassie on our doorstep, including Freycinet and a bunch of fantastic wineries. The neighbouring town of Swansea is charming, as were the hosts at Wagner's who made us feel welcome and relaxed. I would definately recommend Wagner's to anyone who is looking to get away from the rat-race and relax - sublime!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed one night on a quick weekend away from Melbourne and this has given me the taste to see more of Tassie, and especially stay again at Wagner's Cottages. We arrived late afternoon and couldn't wait to get the fire going and settle in for the night. We didn't find many places to eat dinner so opted for a takeaway pizza and drinks from the Barkmill Tavern and bought marshmallows & skewers from IGA to cook over our log fire. The "Primrose" 1 bedroom cottage was well appointed with a large bathroom and spa bath, and everything was very clean. Basic breakfast items were provided but we didn't eat breakfast as we opted for brunch on our drive back to Hobart. We'll definitely be back and I'd like to spend more time here to chill out and forget about the rat race.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Wagner's Cottages, part of the Cottages of the Colony network, offer a character rich and very comfortable accommodation experience. Each unit is located in a 'stand alone' rock walled cottage each with its own log fire; also offers kitchenette facilities. Interior decor is particularly charming and the surrounding cottage gardens are very appealing and beautifully maintained.

Visitors are advised to bring their own breakfast provisions as what is supplied as the Continental breakfast is somewhat basic.

Wagner's Cottages is recommended for the discerning traveler looking for a quality and distinctly different accommodation experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent three wonderful days at Wagner's Cottages last month - on the recommendation of close friends who'd enjoyed the comforts of Keefer's Cottages last year. We lucked into Hollyhock Cottage - large enough for a family of 4 and perfect for us adults (three "picky" females). We breakfasted daily on the warm, sunny verandah which overlooks lush green paddocks, grazing sheep in the distance, and beyond, that amazing blue sea! At night, a log fire kept us warm in the very well appointed living room. Everything is spotless, by the way, and flowers, freshly picked, adorned the cottage.
The gardens are divine, the area so tranquil. Although there are 6 cottages in the complex, there is complete privacy for all. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

"We recently visited Wagners Cottages with our little one and found it just gorgeous. The gardens allowed her to wander with safety along the garden paths and play in our safe and very private courtyard making flower posies. The big spa allowed for some cosy family time and we just loved the chance to snuggle up together and share our very own fireplace. A perfect weekend for three - and the paintings of birds and lizards and pretty flowers still keep coming!
Lovely experience"

Room Tip: highly recommended for all ages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Exceptional holiday spot. Everything was idyllic and we will be recommending Wagner's to friends and family in WA. Every day we would notice something special we hadn't noticed before and the service they provided was A1.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I decided that a second honeymoon was in order. We selected Wagners Cottages on the North East coast of Tasmania. The cottages were incredibly beautiful.; built in the 1860's of local stone and timber. The manager was friendly and helpful and mostly left us alone, which was perfect. It felt like we were the only ones there. it was so quiet and peaceful. The roaring open log fireplace ( with unlimited firewood supplied) kept us indoors, relaxing, for the first day. The second day the private garden surrounding our cottage lured us outside, smelling the roses and exploring..That night we indulged in some fine dining at nearby Swansea. Yummy food and a bottle of Tassie champagne. The next day we went for a stroll along the white sandy beach, marveling at the sheer beauty of the aqua blue water and the amazing red/pink co lour of the rocks along the coast. Then back into Swansea to stock up on fresh local produce and spent the afternoon in the cottages' fully equipped kitchen, enjoying time together preparing our favourite dishes. We had booked 2 weeks at Wagners cottages and left, wishing we had more time there, and definitely intending to return, soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wagner's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagner's Cottages

Address: Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagner's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Wagner's Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagner's Cottages Swansea, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagner's Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.