We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to give the key back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Risby Cove

Save Saved
You added Risby Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Risby Cove
The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Strahan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Didn't want to give the key back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in May. Peaceful and lovely place. My apartment was right on the water upstairs so I had an uninterrupted view of strahan. The apartment has a microwave, plates, cup, cutlery, kettle and toaster. Also port and chocolates was a bonus! Just sitting on the veranda at night and hearing the sounds of the water and the birds in the nearby bush was lovely. I ate in the restaurant one night also and the food was good. Limited vegetarian options but that is usual. Desert gets a special mention. Hogarth falls walk starts just across the road and is an easy walk through some lovely Forrest. There is also a footpath that takes you around the bay for a nice stroll and one end is a beach. Easy walking (2min) to Gordon river cruise and all strahan's attractions. The lovely lady that runs risby cove was very helpful and also told me about the bonnet island boat trip that takes you out to see the little penguins. I would highly recommend this place. Left here very relaxed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    45
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
81
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nj
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Located on the water about a 10 minute walk from the small "downtown" area of Strahan, and therefore convenient to the river cruise, play, and coffee shop. Exterior of building, steps, deck, etc., are in poor repair, but the room is perfectly adequate; spacious, with kitchenette and living space. Contains coffee making supplies with a coffee press (pay for the coffee beans); free port and little chocolates. Free wifi in lobby area only, restaurant is good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful relaxing place to spend a couple of days. Right on the waterfront, watching the boats come and go on the harbour. Very private and quiet, clean luxurious rooms, and the complimentary filled port decanter and the delicious chocolates (both replenished every day) made it very special. The room was cosy and the bed very comfortable. The service was extremely friendly. Loved the shop at reception, with all the beautiful examples of Tasmanian creativity. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was the best and most reasonable place I stayed in all of Tasmaia. For $240 we had a huge suite with complimentary port and chocolates each night. The location is great, right on the water. The reception area is also a gallery with some beautiful jewellery. the staff were great, so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were upgraded to one of the waterfront rooms. It was a very nice room, with all the comforts you could want, except we were there on a 30 degree day and the room with its corrugated iron outer walls became quite warm. The only air conditioning was to open a window or turn on the fan. A few of the room fittings have become old and broken and need replacing, such as for example one of the window winders.But overall we had a very nice stay in a beautiful location. Sitting on the front verandah at sunset was magical. We also ate at the Risby Cove restaurant which, although pricey, was superb and couldn't be faulted. Note that it was packed out and is obviously one of the best places to eat in Strahan, so booking ahead is highly advisable. We were so impressed that we changed our breakfast plans the next morning and returned to the Risby Cove restaurant for breakfast. They were very accommodating about the fact that we had to catch the Gordon River Cruise and rushed our breakfast through for us. We would definitely recommend a stay at Risby Cove.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. The waterfront rooms offer lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Risby Cove in March 2013. Our room was "The Punt". Nice bed, clean room. Had nice little kitchen area so we could make our own breakfast (highly recommend, breakfasts are too expensive at hotels these days). Was really tired after big day and just wanted to relax in room so ordered room service dinner. Was lovely, prompt and food excellent. Especially the Pavlova Roulade for dessert! Nice to wake up and see the water and enjoyed all aspects of our stay. Including feeding the ducks!
Staff are courteous and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Also very knowledgeable about Strahan and cruises. All in all I'd recommend Risby Cove for a short stay in Strahan.
And by the way , it is just a short walk to the town and all the cruises so you can leave the car and walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Punt. But all the rooms looked good. Maybe not the one over the restaurant as tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Bottom Line: Nice accommodations and management with a flair for hospitality. I recommend Risby Cove if you need a place to stay in Strahan.

We stayed three nights at Risby Cove while visiting Tasmania. Our room was spacious, with a small table for eating, a kitchenette (microwave, fridge, and sink, no stove for cooking), small sitting area with a couple of armchairs, and, of course, a bed area. The space was basic and uncluttered, and was clean and clearly well looked after.

Where Risby Cove excels is the hospitality of the staff. It was clear that the owners take little steps to make the stay more comfortable and inviting. When you arrive to your room there is a decanter with port for you to enjoy, on the house. I thought it was a welcome amenity, but the decanter was refreshed each day of our stay. One night we decided to stay in and eat at the in-house restaurant. It was fully booked that night, but the reception desk said to ring the restaurant and let them know we wanted to eat in our room. We did and the wait staff set a table outside our door, on the deck, overlooking the cove. Very nice. Little things like this help make a stay better and more memorable.

There is also a guest laundry, which is offered without charge to those staying at Risby Cove. This is another example of their eye toward making the traveler's stay easier.

The only real downside for us was the Internet: it was spotty and eventually stopped working altogether. This is a minor annoyance but, if you must have working Internet, keep this in mind. If you don't require it, I wouldn't let it sway me away from staying here. Also, the day we checked in the weather was ridiculously hot. There is no A/C at Risby, mainly because the climate in Strahan does not usually require it, but it was a warm, warm night.

Thanks to the management for making the extra effort on the hospitality front: we did notice those little things and they were appreciated. Consider Risby Cove if travels take you to Strahan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Risby Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risby Cove

Address: The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Risby Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Risby Cove Strahan, Tasmania
Risby Cove Hotel Strahan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Risby Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.