We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Strahan Village to your Saves list
Strahan Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Kangaroo Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Needs Work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed for a couple nights in August.

We initially booked a Hilltop Suite (i think this was the room type) which sounded nice and was a good rate. When we arrived the room was just average - very dated and just not overly appealing at all even for the price.

We upgraded to one of the cottages in the main street. The location was great but again the room was not that flash. Don't get me wrong it was okay and we enjoyed the spa but for the $160 off we paid during winter it was easily the least value we had at any accom in Tasmania.

This property would have been great 15 odd years ago but it is just tired now and in huge need of a total refresh.

During winter a lot of eateries were closed. The staff - which were by the way very friendly - only directed us to the two owned by the company (the pub and seafood place) and didn't even mention that anything else was open. Whilst i completely understand that they want to direct people to their eatieries i just think they should at least make us aware of other dining options in the town.

The second night we ate at Risby Cove which was fantastic and i would recommend. Perhaps next time we will stay there instead.

Having said all this, we did the Pure Tasmania World Heritage Cruise (owned by the same group) which was absolutely fantastic and one of the must do things in Tassie.

  • Liked — Location and Spa
  • Disliked — Price, the room in general
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    130
    108
    36
    28
See reviews for
53
205
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

Strahan really is a beautiful town, no doubts about that at all, unfortunately it's predominantly owned by Federal Hotels, which have ripped the character from the main street with casino like bistros, alfresco dining designed no doubt for the big numbers. We visited in the off peak season and struggled to find a place that was not owned by Federal Hotels. At a cost of $114 per night (off peak) $199 peak season we stayed in an unrenovated dark motel room which felt more like a a sleazy rates by the 1/2 hour room you'd see in Kings Cross. The hotel management front staff were almost smirking when confronted about the cost, knowing quite well that you either pay the over priced amount for the room or drive 3 hours back to where you came from. Thankfully the locals in the public bar were a great deal more friendly. We tried our hardest to only eat or buy products from shops that were locally owned and not owned by Federal Hotels, but it was very difficult. No breakfast included or available at the hotel, the restaurant/bar was closed (off peak) so really we paid for a bed and a shower. I can only imagine what the poor town is like in summer.

  • Liked — Close to the main street
  • Disliked — Where do I start!!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed in the Executive Hilltop Suite with a spectacular view of the harbour. Unlike other reviewers, our stay was very pleasant, lovely staff, very helpful and friendly. Not sure if this was due to the winter season with less tourists, therefore more time to be able to engage with guests or not.

Tasmania itself seems to have a thing against decent sized showers, especially for someone over 6 feet tall, but the suite and a very good shower and wonderful king sized bed - 2 things of most importance. We don't use the mini bar so can't comment on value for money. The breakfast buffet was a bit lacking, but that could be attributed to our 9:45 start (when the buffet finished at 10). We didn't eat in the restaurant either night and had breakfast at the bakery one morning (first rate!).

Had dinner one night at Hamer's and can't fault the food. Not sure if this is again something attributed to the winter season and not tourist season, but the food was beautifully cooked, The service was a little slow, but we enjoyed the atmosphere enough not to care.

Strahan is exactly as one would expect of remote west coast Tassie, and the road from Queenstown to Strahan in the dark and rain can be quite trying. There isn't a lot there as far as standard entertainment, but the walks are beautiful, the West Coast Wilderness Railway well worth the price of the ticket. We wish we had stayed another day to do one of the cruises on the Gordon River, but it gives us the excuse to go back.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — breakfast buffet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Stayed here for just one night. Strahan Village is all owned by one company and there are various cottages and and motel style rooms available all ranging from basic to executive. We decided to stay in an Executive Hilltop motel room with sweeping views of the Macquarie Harbour. Motel is on a hill above the town - but only a 2 min drive or 5 minute walk. Make sure you get a harbour view room as there are others at the back which look at the carpark. The reception for the motel is down in the town. The rooms are split level and quite spacious and very comfortable. On the top level there is a very large bathroom with heatlamps, large vanity, and double size shower with lovely fluffy towells. Also on the top level is a comfortable queen size bed with electric blankets. You go down 3 steps to a lounge area with smal desk and tea & coffee making station. Off this is a balcony with wonderful views. We found the rooms very comfortable. We decided to eat in house at the 42 degrees restaurant which has sweeping views of the harbour. Our only gripe was there was no choice except a $40 buffet with very mediocre food. Since it was cold and raining we didn't want to bother going down to the town where there is only a choice of a seafood cafe or a pub which has a modern decor and no atmosphere. All in all it was a comfortable stay.

One thing you must do whilst in either Strahan or Queenstown is to take the West Coast Wilderness Railway, which is absolutely spectacular, but make sure you upgrade to the First Class carriage where you will have nonstop food and drinks and wonderful service and comfort.

  • Liked — Comfort with great views
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,161 reviews 1,161 reviews
291 hotel reviews
Reviews in 313 cities Reviews in 313 cities
2,738 helpful votes 2,738 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

Strahan is remote, and its pricing tries to make your money 'remote' from your wallet or purse.

In what seems a company town whose owner is the ubiquitous Tasmanian company Federal Hotels, I heaved my backpack up what seemed like 100 steps to the motel room.

Fittings and furnishings were adequate but unfortunately the accommodation, on balance, was overpriced.

However that's what happens in a near-monopoly situation.

I redeemed the stay by travelling on the excellent West Coast Wilderness Railway to Queenstown, but it's fair to say my overnight in Strahan was not enhanced by the lackadaisical attitude of this property's staff, who basically had a 'take it or leave it' approach to guests.

Again, that's typical of monopolies. Who says sometimes the laws of economics don't play out in real life?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor staff attitude and overpriced
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

My wife and I satyed two nights in a waterfront cottage. We booked package deals that included a nights accomodation and premier class rail tickets and cruise tickets. By incorperating the accomodation and activities the packages saved us a significant amount.

The cottage itself was basically a medium size hotel room behind the facade. It was clean and modern. The room is visible from the street so passers by could look in. There was also soome noise at 2.30 as people left the bar.

The breakfast included in our package was fine although if it had not been included I would have been eating at the Banjos bakery.

Be prepared, Strahan is one of the most expensive destinations in Tasmania. Understand that before you go and have a great time.

  • Liked — Great location in the heart of Strahan
  • Disliked — A little expensive - but so is the rest of Strahan
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

Some of us must be very hard to please! Stayed at Strahan on the weekend 10 & 11th November 2007. Chose one of the waterfront cottages and it was fantastic. In fact we thought the entire street face that Federal have built to be excellent. They have tried to make it "fit" which is more than most do on these sort of projects. The staff were very nice & certainly no complaints there. The eateries in the town were very good. Banjo's offer a rudimentary but nice choice for breakfast; Hamer's Hotel was very good and the food was excellent as were the wine choices; and the fish and chip eatery was also excellent (try the platters!).

Went on the Lady Jane Franklin cruise (also Federal) and it was brilliant. Wonderful staff and very informative. Try the Captain's Upper Deck - certainly worth the extra money. The food, the wine, the ambience. Great stuff.

Well done Federal. No complaints from this couple.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strahan Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strahan Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.