We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Strahan Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Strahan Village to your Saves list
Strahan Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the main building on the hill. The rooms where downstairs. It was sooooo cold, just like a dungeon. Will not stay again. Breakfast at 42 was ok but expensive. Service and staff friendly. Watch out if you walk the deck, you may get locked out. Its was a shame the steam train was not running.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    129
    107
    34
    28
See reviews for
53
201
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location being near to the main harbour (we stayed in the old hotel up the hill, overlooking the harbour), however the rooms were a little tired. They seemed very 70s/80s with the pine cladding. The bedroom furniture also seemed a little worn out also.

The staff who we dealt with were fantastic and they sorted us out with a toaster - saved us some money with making breakfast.

The views from the hotel lobby were fab, as they were from the outside decking area. I imagine in the summer, this would be a great place to have a few drinks from. A bit cold in the winter to do that though!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Four of us stayed here and our rooms were upstairs in one of the older buildings, though we were overlooking the harbor. Rooms were very small and cramped especially the bathroom which could have done with an upgrade as the fixtures were old and needed replaced. The rooms were also cold and damp in the evenings and the heater supplied was very noisy.
They also charge $5.00/hr for Wi-Fi and do not guarantee that you will get it in your room.
Renovations and upgrades are required on these older rooms and we believe that the cottages are much nicer.
John and Morag Kerr.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After driving from Hobart to Queenstown for business, I found that I had to drive another hour to Strahan (at night, in June, in the rain and fog) to where I had a room booked for the night. I was tired and hungry when I checked into the hotel but the welcome was truly warm. This warmth also extended to the room - I was expecting that it would be cold, or at least cool, but it was very warm and comfortable. There was no need to turn on a heater to warm up the room. It may seem a simple thing but most places I have stayed at seem to want to save a bit of money by not Strahan Village.
We strolled down to the village and had a pleasant meal in the tavern. It was only a couple of hundred metres from the hotel (albeit downhill) and was a refreshing walk. I did not mind that the hotel's restaurant did not open for dinner during winter. The restaurant did open for breakfast and it provided a standard type of meal with adequate variety of options.
The room was functional without being showy. I was warm and comfortable, which meant that I slept well.
While I may not drive an hour out of the way to stay here again, I highly recommend it for anyone staying in Strahan and would gladly stay again if I return to Strahan.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

An absolutely fantastic place, we would really recommend if travelling to Tasmania to visit Strahan One of the best places to see. And the accommodation in at strahan village was just perfect. If you can book a cottage it is well worth it.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good , but if you can book a cottage as they are situated around the bay and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of time and love the location at the front of the harbour. We stayed in the little cottages you can see on their page, not the ones up the back (you need to be part Mountain Goat to stay up there.....lol) They were clean, comfortable and in a convenient location. Walking distance to restaurants, pubs & attractions

Room Tip: The cottages at the front are the most convienent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Ok rooms, but a boring, ordinary breakfast. Our room had great views of mountains, water and the village itself. The trip on the Gordon River was ok but had a much better time on a smaller boat-much more personal. Meal on boat trip was very ordinary.
We stayed out of season and there was absolutely nothing open.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strahan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strahan Village

Address: The Esplanade, Building A, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia (Formerly Quality Suites Strahan Village)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strahan Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the waterfront Strahan Village is your ideal base for west coast explorations. The individual cottages and terraces take you back to a time when the wild West was inhabited by miners, piners, fishermen and their families. Fitted out with a variety of room types, the cottages recall an old-world charm with every modern facility. Above the harbour, the 4-star rooms of the Hilltop have sweeping views over Macquarie Harbour. Tasmanian Tourism Awards Winner 2013 "Standard Accommodation". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Strahan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strahan Village Hotel Strahan
Village Hotel Strahan
Strahan Village Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strahan Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.