We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay in Strahan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ormiston House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ormiston House to your Saves list
Ormiston House
1 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Geraldton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful stay in Strahan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hosts are very friendly and informative supplying suggestions for our stay in Strahan and arranging tickets where necessary.
The room we stayed in was very comfortable and the facilities are excellent however I feel the bath and shower need some support for guests with disabilities. I have had both knees and both hips replaced and had difficulty getting in and out of the shower which was above the bath.
The breakfast was adequate but limited.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Yes we do live in a great spot and happy you enjoyed your stay. Have already taken on board your thoughts and understand with the knee situation myself.
Thank you again
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    35
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
99
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

From the time I booked to stay here for 2 nights in March, to when we left, Carolyn was such a warm, helpful hostess. She sent us tips for the drives to and from Strahan, welcomed us with warm muffins, recommended and booked a great restaurant, then sent us on our way with chocolate chip cookies! The house has been beautifully restored and every room is stunning. We slept very well in true comfort and she even has free wi-fi. If you go to Strahan, stay here!

Room Tip: No rooms are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
What a great recommendation and thanks so much for that support.
I love sharing both the House and history so very pleased that others like to hear and experience it all.
Take care and regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Carolyn is a most bubbly and informative hostess. With numerous suggestions of what to see and do. Very informative of not only whats on in Strahan, but great itinerary advice on our jorney from Hobart to Strahan and then onto Stanley. Restoration of the house to its original is amazing. We must'n forget the home cooked chocolate chip cookies provded on departure. Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I'm pleased that I could help with your journey through this amazing state.
The House worth all the attention and yes, I do love the story too.
Thank you
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

i stayed here on the 2/3/14 and i can say i absolutely LOVED my very short stay here.
I was actually supposed to have stayed somewhere else, but had some problems, and so found this place while driving around trying to find accommodation.
1st of all, the welcome was one of the best i've ever had, especially as i had just driven for 3-4 hours, was tired and fed up...it was very much appreciated.

The room i had was just stunning...4 poster bed! with a beautiful bay window.
I was a little stranded in Strahan because I couldnt get phone reception, so I couldnt call anyone...but Ormiston House had fast reliable wifi, so I was able to communiacte with family and friends and let them know i was ok, which was a bonus!

The bed...well THE BED....after the long journey i'd had..defintely has to be one of the the most comfortable beds i've ever slept in...seriously! I didnt realise how cold Tasmania gets, but what a surprise to discover i had an electric blanket tucked cosily under the bottom sheet!
Sank into the bed, turned on my laptop and watched some girly flicks, while having some tea and indulging in some delicious Muffins baked by the lovely hostess, Carolyn! BLISS

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I'm so pleased that I could help and make the welcome to Strahan warmer.
Our home is lovely but it was the story of Frederick Ormiston Henry's achievements that gave us the will to restore.
Thank you for your kind words and pleased the muffin hit the spot.
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Our group of 4 arrived late afternoon to be greeted out the front by our very friendly host Carolyn. She proceeded to show us our beautiful rooms and then presented freshly made raspberry muffins.
Carolyn had emailed my husband before our arrival, giving us travel instructions and points of interest on the way to Strahan.
After going to the local sights we arrived back to a personalized note on our bed regarding her laundry service and also a change of breakfast time so that we could catch the boat on time the next morning. We had 2 beautiful nights in this gorgeous little town.
Upon departure Carolyn presented us with unforgettable chocolate chip cookies for our road trip together with more detailed instructions on how to get to our next destination.
Nothing was too much trouble for Carolyn and we would highly recommend this B&b.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
It was all a pleasure really. I liked to be welcomed warmly so imagine that others like it too and this lovely Home and its charm and warmth, help with that.
Thank you again for your kind comments
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent two nights at Ormiston House while touring Tasmania. Carolyn greeted us when we arrived, gave us a tour of the house and showed us to our room. A few minutes later she appeared with home made muffins. The house is beautifully decorated with period furnishings and is a great place to stay in Strahan.

Room Tip: look at the website and pick the room that suits your fancy. They're all on one floor in a histo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello and thanks so much for you lovely comments. I appreciate the effort to write a review
kind regards
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed one night in Ormiston house and was very impressed by both the quality of the accomodation and the friendliness of Carolyn, the perfect host. The freshly baked raspberry muffins were delicious and the morning breakfast splendid.
I very much appreciated Carolyn advices on places to visit on my way in and also on my way out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrmistonStrahan, Owner at Ormiston House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
It was my pleasure and pleased you felt comfortable and secure.
Take care
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ormiston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormiston House

Address: 1 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ormiston House is a beautiful federation mansion built in 1899 and fully restored to its former glory. Set amongst landscaped gardens on the shore of Macquarie Harbour at Strahan the house is resplendent with 5 en-suited guest rooms, bar and lounge, breakfast room and history room. The tower and widows walk provide views across the harbour and the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine or sit back with a good book. This house is renown for its friendliness, hospitality and welcoming hosts. We feel that Ormiston House is a "must do" experience when you visit Strahan on your Tasmanian holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ormiston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormiston House Strahan, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ormiston House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.