We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, peaceful stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gordon Gateway to your Saves list
Gordon Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grining St | off The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Latrobe, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great room, peaceful stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

After reading the reviews i was a bit worried about what i was getting into. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly lady who was more than helpful. Our room was the 'Sir John Franklin Suite' which we found to be very nice. The room was clean and the view looking directly over the harbour was beautiful. Our room was serviced with a freshly made bed and clean towels left in the bathroom. The location is slightly out of the way but it is an easy 10-15 minute walk on a flat walking track. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Having seen other reviews and knowing that we might not be arriving until reception had closed we made arrangements beforehand and the key was available for us when we arrived.

We chose a Studio Room which was self-contained on the ground floor. While the motel is not located in the centre of town, our room was large and had great views overlooking the harbour towards the cruise boats (just like the pictures on the website).

The room was very quiet and whilst the facility was fully booked we didn’t hear any noise from the other rooms. We found the bed to be very comfortable and had a great stay.

If we ever make it to Strahan again we would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived at 6 p.m. & found our key stuck on reception front door, room was pretty dated, was not impressed with sign in bathroom asking to re hang towels as water, washing is expensive, (that is what we pay for) fridge needed defrosting & a clean, power went out for 3 hrs while we were there, the owners eventually brought us a candle!! We were ready to leave @ 9 a.m. the next day, sign on reception door said open @ 8.30 a.m. Waited until 9.15 then decided to go & have breakfast then come back to pay (credit card details given when booked & won't be charged until you checkout) went back @ 10 a.m. to pay finally reception was open but they had charged us already, not happy about that, only positive we have is that the view from our room was nice & would have been better if the windows were clean, for $120 we expect some service & at least to have someone in reception, this is a tourist town & I'm sure tourists would appreciate a friendly welcome on arrival & to be asked if they enjoyed their stay on departure. Come on Management sort out these issues.

Room Tip: Go and have a look before you commit to staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I decided to give it a try because of the reasonable ($100) price and arrived with low expectations.
Envelope on the window, good views, good guest laundry, dated room with mediocre bed. The decision on whether to come back here would depend on my mood at the time

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Studio 1
The outside approach to room was uncared for and water features green and slimy.
We opened the door and the first thing to hit us was a musty smell.
The large cover on the bed was filthy.
The carpet was too stained to chance walking on it with bare feet.
We had booked 2 nights at $120 per night and after a most awful night's sleep in the smell we left in the morning NOT to return for the 2nd night. We notice that others staying there paid a lot less than we did and we would also appreciate a refund for the 2nd night that we didn't stay.
The only positive about this place was the view!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful harbour views. Studio room at $120 per night was very reasonable. Nice and clean with a microwave, toaster and kettle but no stove. Manchester could do with renewing. Good choice we would definitely come again. Laundry was clean and only $2 per wash. Complimentary powder.

Room Tip: We had a studio room which had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in one of the basic studio units for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. The view overlooking the harbouor was wonderful. Staff were very friendly and a good place to stay if on a budget. My only complaint was the size of the TV - very small indeed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gordon Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Gateway

Address: Grining St | off The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordon Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gordon Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Gateway Strahan, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.