We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Franklin Manor to your Saves list
Franklin Manor
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   75 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Strahan B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming and wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Franklin Manor is a beautifully furnished and spacious property with pleasant and welcoming hosts and a quiet location. The rooms were comfortable (thank you for the non-feather pillow in deference to an allergy) and breakfast was pleasant, if basic continental. The hosts' dinner suggestion was also excellent and, happily, we could walk there and back!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a beautiful space, historical, peaceful and quite majestic. Our hosts were so lovely and inviting. We felt like we had come home as soon as we walked through the door. I highly recommend this accommodation

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Suite overlooking the garden gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A gem of a place. Beautiful room with a personal touch comfortable clean and welcoming. Christine is there to help and advise about the area with a calm smile. Wifi is free in the lounge, breakfast just what is needed. Located centrally enough and far enough to be in a quiet atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed on the entrance floor and had wifi in the room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Franklin Manor is an interesting old Manor House creating a stunning B & B location in Strahan. It is located close to everything and has all the mod cons needed for a comfortable stay. More of a local flavour for the Jams and Honeys at Breakfast would be good as Tasmania has a wealth of great produce that could be used.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent B&Z .. apart from real character and history, Christine is a wonderful hostess - friendly and really accommodating in every respect. Good rooms and great breakfast
Very well located. Nothing more is needed for Strahan - which is good and interesting for a one night stopover

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A delightful place to stay, with Christine proving to be a very gracious and warm hostess.

The Manor is well appointed with all mod cons (including free WIFI), but retains the charm of an old style hotel that's very unique and authentic.

Breakfast was delicious and well organised, with the honour system bar working beautifully with a nice wine selection.

Perfectly clean, in a great location and well worth a stay.

Was the best of our 8 nights in Tasmania.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Over three nights, everything about Franklin Manor was wonderful but something more has to be said about the hosts, Christine and Craig. Their warmth and genuine interest was such a pleasure. Nothing was too much for them at any time of the day. We experienced other hosts during our Tasmania travels and we simply could not help comparing them with C and C. Some failed dismally. None exceeded. Robin and Prue from Adelaide say "thank you" for giving us our highlight.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franklin Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Manor

Address: 75 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklin Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmth and hospitality blends with contemporary elegance at Franklin Manor.This beautifully restored historic property, in the village of Strahan, sits at the edge of south-west Tasmania’s World Heritage Wilderness Area.At Franklin Manor, take a well-earned break in a standard queen room, or manor suite. Enjoy your breakfast in our dining room or on the porch overlooking the lush gardens.Immerse yourself in our island’s incomparable wilderness. Our staff can help you to choose an unforgettable Tasmanian experience, from a tranquil Gordon River cruise or scenic wilderness flight, to guided kayaking, bushwalking or four-wheel drive tours and the inspiring West Coast Wilderness Railway. You’ll return to the Manor comforts feeling invigorated and refreshed.After a day’s exploration, relax with a drink by the open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Franklin Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Manor Hotel Strahan
Franklin Manor Strahan, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.