We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even "Intruders" Welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bushman's Bar and Cafe

Bushman's Bar and Cafe
1 Harold Street, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
03 6471 7612
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Strahan
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Even "Intruders" Welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is so hard not to return to this great Cafe, that we ventured back last Saturday morning, saw movement inside and ventured in. The owner was lighting the fire and Margaret, the Chef,
gave us a cheery smile. It wasn't until our orders were readily taken that we realised the Cafe had not actually opened!!!! How's that for southern hospitality? The Host, Bumpy, is a very special, colourful character that you must meet if in Strahan. He always goes that extra mile to ensure everyone is happy and well fed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    54
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Warm and cosy welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

A very relaxed and welcoming cafe and bar. Food was excellent tasty and generous. Like having dinner at home with family. Staff and other patrons all friendly and ready for a chat. Definitely going back tomorrow night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great home cooked meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Friends and I visited the Bushman's Bar and Cafe in September and found it a great place to eat if you want genuine home cooked meals. The staff were very friendly and the food was like mum used to cook. Generous servings, lots of veges and delicious. It isn't fancy but a great meal and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice tucker, good price, nice people, what else do you need. A perfect addition to the magic town of Strahan. Last 2 times we were there it was around 32 degrees Celsius. Cant imagine what it is like in the middle of winter but we will be back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
388 helpful votes 388 helpful votes
“LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wandering the foreshore of this wonderful village stirred up our hunger, finishing our viewing of all things Huon we ambled across the road to grab some lunch.
On entry we were greeted as old friends, the tables were quite full but we found a table for five and set about ordering. The menu was varied and soon our orders were taken. Moist grabbed one of their milk shake specials to have as well.
Our meals came out in respectable time and all disappeared in record time. No complaints here. The meals presented well, plenty on all plates and satisfied us all. Great little spot to stop for awhile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bushman's Bar and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bushman's Bar and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bushman's Bar and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.