We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent sized meals, nothing special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill

Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill
31 the Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania 7468, Australia
+61 3 6471 4335
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Strahan
Price range: $12 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rebuilt in 1936, Hamer's captures the old-world charm of this mining port turned fishing village, where the walls almost speak to you of bygone eras. Settle back by the open log fire with the locals for a local ale or select from a range of Tasmanian wines. The bistro offers steaks, seafood, chicken, pasta and daily seasonal specials. A comprehensive wine list is also available. Hamer's Hotel is open for lunch and dinner everyday of the year except Christmas Day.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent sized meals, nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Ate here with my wife for dinner one of the nights we were in Strahan. The service was very good.

I ordered pie of the day which came with a generous side of salad and chips. The pie itself was nice and I enjoyed it although it was nothing special.

Overall the food was good, but not great. This is a good place to eat if you want something better than take away. You'll pay more, but will get better quality food. It would probably be quite enjoyable also to eat here during the summer when you can sit outside and look at the harbor across the street.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    134
    68
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Biggest feed in the west”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in Strahan for 2 nights and ate at Hamers bith nights. We had eyes bigger than our bellies the first night and ordered garlic bread as well as mains - I was so full at the end if the main I had to undo my belt buckle!
The next night we just ordered mains and still couldn't finish, the serves are more than generous. The food was delicious both nights and well priced for what we received.
The staff were lovely, we had the same waitress both nights and she was very friendly. The service is very fast too so we were in and out in about an hour, which suited us because we had an early start the next day.
Would recommend to anyone wanting a nice pub meal and good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Seafood fettuccine- very very bad. Over priced for the quality of this meal. Generous servings don't make up for lack of quality unfortunately.
My partner greeted the waitress when we first entered who blatantly ignored him, and then they forgot our drink!
Recommended to us by The Strahan Village.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel has great food with good prices. Staff are friendly. Good feel about the place. You can call in for a drink or stay for dinner.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Tasmania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent attentive staff! Staff got very busy after we had ordered but still ensured we didn't go thirsty at all. Good pub food

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Strahan, Tasmania
 

Been to Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamers Hotel Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.