We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect seafood which I took back to accomadation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Cafe on The Wharf

Fish Cafe on The Wharf
41 The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 8 Restaurants in Strahan
Cuisines: Australian
Description: Not much info online about this restaurant but phone number seems to be -(03) 6471 4332
Restaurant details
Description: Not much info online about this restaurant but phone number seems to be -(03) 6471 4332
Tasmania Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“perfect seafood which I took back to accomadation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

crunchy fresh tastie taster plate extra tartare sauce as requested
delightful service

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teens ate here one night during the week, after checking it out earlier in the day and being disappointed that it was closed. We figured they may only open for dinner on weekdays. We arrived at 6pm and had a choice of tables, however the place filled up very quickly after that. The staff were friendly and attentive. We ordered the battered calamari and chips, the crumbed scallops and chips, the sample plate of fish, prawns, scallops, calamari (all battered) and chips, and the battered trevalla and chips. All were good value for money with tasty light batter and very nice chips. Service was quick and efficient.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty and very friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

After arrivig in town on ANZAC Day, we went into the main strip to see what wasopen. As soon as we got out of the car we smelt delicious fish and chips wafting our way, anddecided to investigate. So glad we did!
The cafe was busy, so we got seated on the closest table to the door. We were served very quickly (it doesn't take us long to decide what to have) and ordered crumbed fish and chips, and the sampler plate. And a hot chocolate,and ginger beer. The drinks came out quickly, and my hot chocolate was perfect. Just how I like it, complete with giant marshmellow!
Out food came out not long after, even though the place was busy.
The chips were amazing, the scollops and prawns cooked perfectly, and the batter on the fish so light and it truely melted in my mouth. The crumbed fish my husband had was pretty tasty too.
The best thing about the dinner was probably the service. All the staff were very friendly with big smiles to greet the customers.

Other people have mentioned that it's expensive... but it really isn't that much more than your local fish and chippery... and you always have to add a few dollars extra to eat in, and because it's not in a major city (it costs extra money to transport things out here).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The only fish shop in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Even tho they were very busy on the 2nd April 2012 for dinner the two staff did a great job, nice relaxed atmosphere very clean looking dining area and kitchen, the cooks did a great job too. The food was nice and hot, not greasy and good value for money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quick and easy fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Loved the fish and chips. We just wanted some quick take-away one night to take to watch the sunset at Ocean Beach. The food was great and price was reasonable. Service was quick too - didn't have to wait too long even though the restaurant was reasonably busy.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Cafe on The Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Fish Cafe on The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Cafe on The Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.