We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“popular place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regatta Point Tavern

Regatta Point Tavern
Esplanade | Regatta Point, Strahan, Tasmania, Australia
03 6471 7103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 9 Restaurants in Strahan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Regatta Point Tavern is situated on the Esplanade in Strahan, just 50m to the waterfront at the historic old wharf site, now the departure point for the scenic wilderness railway. Our two bedroom self contained units sleep up to 6 persons, ideal for families, or you can choose to stay in a cabin for two. Five minutes walk from the Tavern is the Regatta Point Holiday Home, a spacious three bedroom cottage with patio and barbecue, bathroom, kitchen, dining and lounge rooms. Relax and enjoy a drink in the bar, or browse our well stocked bottle shop, or dine in our family friendly bistro.180 degree views of Strahan harbour and frequent spectacular sunsets makes this property an ideal place to stay.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“popular place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lots of people were there so we had to wait for a long time to get our meal, but it tasted nice when we got it. No complaints.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    28
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“It was very basic.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

It was very basic and the fish did not taste like fish at all. Wondering why we are so close to the ocean and the fish is worse compare to Alice Sprongs

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pricey but locally owned and operated business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We found many "pub" meals and drinks in Tasmania quite expensive (high $20+ per meal and $8 for glass of wine) but the local businesses are fiercely loyal about promoting local business and steered us away from the conglomerate owned pub in town. I don't mind supporting the local community but food was nothing to rave about.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“what a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

what a dump,this place is,doors dont open without a struggle,staff very unkempt,we went there for dinner,were not going to stay,but did. big mistake,food was very basic. water stains on ceiling,just a dump

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Do not eat a meal at this place. Customer service was woeful and food wasn't much better. It is beyond me how someone can actually make mash potato taste disgusting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regatta Point Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Regatta Point Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regatta Point Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.