We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why The Crays?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crays Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crays Accommodation to your Saves list
The Crays Accommodation
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   59 The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ADELAIDE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why The Crays?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Crays is a great choice, and as the key turns in the lock it feels like 'coming home'.

We arrived late, frosty Strahan welcolmed us with open arms and as we approached our destination mother nature was at her best.

Across from the wilderness setting with it's immaculate gardens, azaleas and camillas flowing from their branches is the amazing Macquarie Harbour, with the sheer beauty making for a perfect location.

The Villas provide a generous space with room to move, and to say they are clean is an understatement! Megs and her team of friendly loyal staff sing the praises of their beloved establishment with pride and experiencing the hard work and efforts that are invested in maintaining the high standard is absolutely worthwhile.

We had been to Strahan before and had enjoyed the harbour cruise and train trip, however this time we just wanted to relax and take in the ambience which is in plentiful supply at 'The Crays'.

The walk to the nearby waterful and if inclined dinner at Risby Cove is all close by, and once you have parked the car beneath the convinient undercover park provided not much more is required.

Thank you Megs and Wendy for preparing a yummy feast of crayfish and providing an amazing experience that will sustain us till next time!

Mary Adelaide

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMNStrahanTasmania, Owner at The Crays Accommodation, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us in Strahan at The Crays Accommodation. It is really pleasing to hear that our pride in the business shows, and is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Clean, spacious, well equipped self contained unit with sunny sheltered outside area, comfy bed, huge bathroom, and the friendliest service by managers who know just what a traveler needs. No doubt about it - we will be back.

Set in scenic Strahan - the gateway to the wild Gordon River and historic Macquarie Harbour. Magic scenery of lush green forests, wild ocean beaches, and a village dating back to the earliest settlement of Tasmania. The Crays management know just how to arrange a fabulous visit. Thank you Megs and Trevor Norton

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

A fantastic friendly, personal booking experience over the phone.

A very well appointed, large, spotlessly clean room with everything we needed. Self serve laundry on site. We had apartment 2.

An easy stroll to the pier and the pub -- along the waterside all the way.

Not too commercial. Undercover parking for the motorcycle - at the door.

No reason to even consider looking elsewhere. I'll be here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed in Unit 1. After a day trip on the Gordon River or Westcoast Railway, it was nice to sit on the deck with a glass of wine. We were encouraged to try Risby Restaurant across the street but it was closed 1 Jan. The Crays is a short walk to Strahan Village, or the other way to the train. Our unit was clean, well apppointed and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed at the Crays, apartment 1 at the front of the small building complex for 2 nights. The unit was well appointed, clean and comfortable and in a quiet setting. A short (5 mins) walk took you to the centre of Strahan, and restaurants / pub. There was also the Risby Cove restaurant across the road for a more upmarket meal (reservations recommended for evenings) which had excellent food although the service was not as good as it could be. The owner of the Crays, Meg, was very pleasant and helpful. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed in the Kelly unit at the Crays for 2 nights whilst visiting Strahan. Whilst not the most modern accommodation, we found it comfortable and well kitted out. The weather was still cool during our visit and we found that the unit heated up very well. We were very pleased to be able to use the washing and drying facilities at nominal cost. There was a carport and undercover washing line. The unit had good wheelchair access and the bathroom was equipped for disability. We found the unit to be comfortable and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We ended up at The Crays after at short notice - luckily the owner, Megs, had just finished cleaning one of the three bedroom units and we were able to book in for two nights.

The unit was excellent - well furnished and kitted out. We were in unit 6, which is at the back of the complex, and is very quiet.

The Crays is an easy, level 10 minute walk from the main part of Strahan, and seems to be one of the few accommodation options in this part of town that isn't run by a large hotel chain.

While we didn't goet a chance to check it out, the owners also run a 60 foot steel hulled yacht out of Strahan. That's on my list for next time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crays Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crays Accommodation

Address: 59 The Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Strahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crays Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Eight fully self-contained, holiday units. Studios, and 2 and 3 bedrooms.* Two central locations in Strahan * Harbour or wilderness views from each unit and from the covered decks:* Outdoor furniture. * All ground level. * RAINWATER TANK at The Esplanade for your delight! * Our lawns are lush, and the clean air is invigorating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crays Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crays Accommodation Strahan, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crays Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.