We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely yet extravagant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanleys On The Bay

Stanleys On The Bay
15 Wharf Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
03 6458 1404
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Stanley
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homely yet extravagant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My favourite place to fine whenever I am in Stanley. The hosts are lovely and the food amazing. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stanleys on the bay was worth every cent! I had the chicken fillet and it was absolutly mouth watering! My partner stated that the eye fillet was the BEST steak he had ever had! Highly recommended, very friendly and the resturant itself was extremely welcoming and cosy!! The only thing I would suggest is that staff change out of their jeans and runners (something small and it did not effect our experience at all but makes a big difference).
Thank you Stanleys on the bay, we will be back again soon :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb little restaurant with big attitude.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about this place. Location, ambience, service and food! A must see is the size of the seafood platter for two.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I travel to Smithton with work serveral times a year, and always ensure that I stay in Stanley, and my favorite place to dine is Stanleys on the bay.

The service is always friendly and professional, and I find the decor perfect for the setting.
Orders come out quickly and presentation is perfect, with fair size serve.
The food is excellent, fresh, tasty and cooked perfectly, personal favorite is the slow cooked Beef cheeks, they come on a creamy mash and bundle of fresh green beans.

Already I look forward to my next visit (I was only there 15 minutes ago!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner at Stanley on the Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Full of somewhat cheesy nautical bric a bra but is beside the fishing port so why not.
Fair prices,good service,impressive selection of dishes.
Very satisfactory dinner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanleys On The Bay also viewed

 

Been to Stanleys On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanleys On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.