We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hursey Seafoods

Hursey Seafoods
2 Alexander Tce, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
03 6458 1103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Stanley
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were so looking forward to some local fish and potato cakes. However we were bitterly disappointed. We were given a choice of crumbed or battered fish so we chose two varieties of crumbed fish. They were both tasteless even after adding more salt, as were the potato cakes which had the consistency of a hash brown. Also quite expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    16
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We visited again to Hursey's Seafood Take away 2 weeks ago, were greeted very nicely by the attendent and I asked for Anne(The Chef), Anne came out with Big Smile and took care of our order, we had shellfish this time, Prawns, Calamari, Scallops and Chips. She took little time to cook and served with tarte Sauce, we went out by the sea and enjoyed evey mouthful. All the staff were very friendly and the place was clean, with that lovey seaside view, you are always a winner at Hursey's Seafood, just ask for Anne.

We are looking forward for some more yummy seafood on our next visit sometime soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“top seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

after a walk around the nut my wife and myself a bit hungry and was told about Hursey's.we decided on scallops and flake in batter(can have it crumbed or grilled),the batter was light and crispy.Recommend

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“The best seafood chowder in Tasmania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had been traveling in Tasmania for over a week and enjoyed seafood each day; this place was definitely amongst the best. We sat upstairs and had the crayfish/curry & rice entree which was very good and only $16 for a very generous serve. The best was still to come with the BEST seafood chowder ($18) I have ever had. Big serving with loads of fresh seafood. Absolutely heaven. Service was very good with extremely cheerful and friendly staff. We would have preferred more Tasmanian wine on the wine list.....we like to drink local! We then went downstairs and ordered crayfish rolls to take back to our accommodation for dinner and we couldn't believe the generous serving of cray. Highly recommend; wish we could get interstate delivery!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Highly recommend Hursey's to all.
The lobster mornay was exceptional and only $25!!
The curry lobster and rice entrée was absolutely delicious.
My hubby was so impressed he chose that over the lobster for his main course.
Staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome.
This restaurant is a must do when visiting Stanley even if its just for take away fish and chips.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hursey Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Hursey Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hursey Seafoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.