We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lovely - a true gem of Stanley, highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamps of Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stamps of Stanley to your Saves list
Stamps of Stanley
11-13 Church Street, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
alibl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So lovely - a true gem of Stanley, highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This place was just lovely - we stayed in the 'Exchange' ensuite studio. Very clean and spacious with all the facilities we needed for our stay. It was cosy and warm, with books and magazines (and some fairly dated videos!).

Such a great place and the couple obviously put in a lot of effort to make sure that everyone has a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Sue also gave me lots of pointers on the best places to go around Stanley and the North Coast.

Highly recommend, and for such a great price! Wish we had more time here, would have loved to extend our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Really enjoyed our one night there - if there is a next time for us, it would be our base for the north-west Tassie attractions. Mick & Sue know how guests should be treated, warm and friendly and the appropriate hosts and great ambassodors for this peaceful little town

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed in the ‘Postmaster Apartment’ for three very enjoyable nights in mid December. We check Stamps out on their own web site and TripAdvisor. Their web site is excellent and the apartment was ‘as displayed’ there. We only used the lower level of the apartment as there were only two of us. We did however have a little look at the ‘Ensuite Room’ and the upstairs bedrooms/living area above our apartment – they were also lovely.

Situated right in the heart of little Stanley with wonderful views, off street parking, entrance terrace (with table and chairs) and a covered (shared) outdoor BBQ area this apartment had everything going for it at a great price. The hosts were accommodating and helpful.

The living area is large with a very comfortable corner settee, TV/DVD/CD player, open fire and electric heater and there was a dining table with seating for six. The kitchen area (where the great view is) had windows on two sides, good cooking facilities and equipment, plenty of china and glassware and bar seating plus two chairs by the window for casual dining. The queen size bed was comfortable and the room had drawer and hanging space, electric blankets and good lighting. Again a great view from the big old window. The bathroom was spacious and had a washer and dryer in one corner. There was a shower over a bath, good mirrors etc and excellent heat lamps. This historic apartment had lots of character, was tastefully decorated and everything was very clean and well maintained. Yes we could hear some noise during the day from the Post Office and other guest returning in the evening to the other accommodation but it did not disturb us.

The photo displayed on the Stamps header page on TripAdvisor and the review of Palm Tree Cottage plus some of the photos appear to be related to other accommodation and misplaced. There is a lot of specialist B&B accommodation in Stanley, surprising considering how tiny the town is. We found Stamps to be just right for our needs – central, spacious and self-contained at a very good price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

A lovely spacious house, either for just two, a family or two couples. Has both an old-world charm and a modern stylish appearance. Two big bedrooms at the front with queen beds, another with two single beds. One queen bed, the four-poster, was very comfy and with an electric blanket was very cosy. Nice size kitchen, separate dining area, modern bathroom with a corner spa, separate toilet and nice lounge room. Spotlessly clean. Easy to warm up the living spaces and bathroom – a fire was setup in the lounge if required. Great views from many areas and the front veranda. Definitely a place that encourages you to stay for more than just one night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed one night at this delightful place and could have stayed a month!!The location is great,right below the Nut.The room ( Exchange Studio) was full of character,spacious,spotlessly clean and very good value for money----$85!
The owners own the Post Office next door and are very friendly and helpful.HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

If we lived in Tasmania, we would be regulars here. The hosts (Mick and Sue) are delightful and very helpful. They also run the post office located next door. Stamps of Stanley is in a historic building from the 1800’s that houses the post office and two accommodations. We stayed in the Customs House which is the larger of the two. The main floor has one bedroom, a large living/dining room with comfortable furnishings, bathroom, spacious kitchen and washer/dryer. You will find additional beds upstairs. The history of the building shines through with its high ceilings and brick walls. We liked the kitchen best of all. It’s a sunny room with large picture windows, a center island to sit and enjoy the water views, and fully stocked with everything a cook needs to prepare meals. We found ourselves spending most of the time in this room. If you want to take a nap during the day, it’s best to use an upstairs bedroom. The downstairs bedroom shares the same wall with the town post office and conversations can filter through during business hours. We highly recommend Stamps of Stanley for your stay. It’s also reasonable at A$100 per night for two in peak season.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamps of Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamps of Stanley

Address: 11-13 Church Street, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamps of Stanley is situated beside and above the Stanley Post Office in the heart of Stanley Tasmania. We overlook Sawyer's Bay, The Greenhills, Tatlow's Beach and directly under our iconic "Nut".Being centrally located, shops, restaurants, The Stanley Hotel, our award winning Godfrey's Beach, Moby Dick's breakfast bar and the wharf are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stamps of Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamps Of Stanley Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamps of Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.