We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beachside Retreat West Inlet to your Saves list
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HEATED LAP POOL AND SPA
Ranked #1 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The property had all we needed and more and the view was amazing. We had a very relaxing stay and recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay at Stanley. The breakfast provisions were yum, especially the home made jam! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Serrin,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you had everything that you needed to enjoy your stay here. Also thank you for recommending us to everyone; it is very much appreciated. Maybe we shall see you again one day.
All the best Janette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
132
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We travelled to Tasmania to plan a 2 week holiday for a group of 15 couples driving old sports cars. We drove over 700kms the first day and 800 kms the third but in between had a 2 night 1 day stay at Beachside Retreat - what bliss. The weather was kind so we enjoyed the spa in the sand dunes, walks around the lovely local town of Stanley and on the beach near the Retreat and the intriguing local wildlife. Chris and Janette were wonderful hosts with advice before our trip about the best places to eat, the need for careful driving after dark (to avoid the intriguing wildlife) and had answers for any of our other queries, We cant recommend this retreat as a great place to stay for those who are look for a complete rest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Kerry,
Thank you for your review.
You certainly were on a mission. I'm sure your old sports cars will travel at a more leisurely pace, later in the year. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the outside, heated spa in the dunes, over looking the beach and exploring the pretty town of Stanley; one of Tasmania's iconic villages. Glad to help you out with local information and pleased your flying trip went to plan. Also hope that your group of car enthusiasts have a lovely trip in November. Maybe see you again one day.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014. It was a great way to end our three week trip around Tassie. We really enjoyed our wonderful cabin and the serenity of the location. The cabins are very unique in the way they are designed and positioned well in relation to each other offering maximum privacy. The Retreat is close to the quaint town of Stanley so you can enjoy all it has to offer, but still have lots of peace and quiet. The inlet views are wonderful and the hosts are very gracious. We definitely would return if we ever make it back to Tasmania.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi JessRobt,
Thank you for your review.
We are very pleased that you found your way here on the off-chance that we had availability on the day and were so impressed that you stayed three nights. As you noticed, all cabins are situated in the coastal vegetation and offer individual screening and privacy from each other. You would never know that other cabins are about thirty metres away. The fishing village of Stanley has a lot to offer, including several first-class restaurants, galleries, antiques and collectables, plus many historic places of interest. West Inlet is a very secluded place with interesting bird life, beautiful sunsets and a plentiful supply of oysters. Love to see you return, if you are ever in this part of the world again. Regards Janette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in the Pelican cottage and found it to have everything we needed. Although we were not there in the red hot summer we did find a lot of heat comes in via the large windows, and the A/C was struggling to keep the place cool. But otherwise the place was fantastic. Bed very comfortable. The beach was very private, and how good is it when you can go and scrape off the oysters from the rocks and eat them then and there.
Lots of native animals visiting during the night. I suggest leaving the blind up at night to see the wonderful star system plus any little visitors.
Wi fi although available, would not reach to the Pelican cottage. Apparently if you want to take advantage of the wifi you must go and sit in the sitting room at reception. No big deal, if you have a good carrier, it worked ok for coverage in the room.
The little patio/sun deck was great for watching the sun going down while partaking in a nice drink and some local cheese. Great place to base yourself, and we visited a great place called Bluff Hill Point (lighthouse) and Mawson Bay, dirt roads but worth the drive.
Had a fantastic counter lunch at the hotel in Marrawah, so if you can fit that in, please go and enjoy.
In the cottage there were plenty of power points if you need to charge batteries etc up, and there is a laundry just up near the owners house which was also very good although I think you need a few coins to operate the machine(s)

It is not a cheap place to stay, but the privacy and of course the never ending supply of oysters on your doorstep are a big plus.

Room Tip: I would go for the Pelican if we stayed there again, although I upgraded before arriving from what w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi nikowgcf,
Thank you for your long review.
Fortunately with a cool maritime climate, north west Tasmania escapes the searing heat and high humidity of many mainland states, with a mean average summer temperature of 21 degrees C. The 4.5 kva inverter should have been sufficient to maintain a comfortable temperature. Glad you enjoyed the contemporary cabin, secluded beach and wild Pacific oysters. Try the heated, outdoor saltwater lap pool and spa next time. The laundry facilities offer a new automatic washing machine, outside drying lines and washing powder, all complimentary. The large commercial dryer ($2 for 40 minutes) is mostly used in the winter months. Looking forward to your return.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent a week at the Beachside Retreat West Inlet and used it as our base to explore the west coast of Tassie.
The worst part of the experience was having to leave.
Friendly staff, great facilities, easy walk to the beach and a great base to explore from regardless of how far or wide you wished to travel.
Would certainly stay again on our next trip and would recommend it to anyone who wishes a pleasant stay in this woundful part of the world.

Room Tip: Self contained units are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Robyn,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your long stay here. Our staff are all friendly and helpful and our facilities are second to none. The heated saltwater pools are magical at night under the stars and the lap pool is great exercise during the day. Birdwatching and oyster harvesting are popular with our guests, and our Tarkine rainforest tours in Chris' Mercedes 4WD, guests find very interesting. We look forward to your next Tassie visit and meeting you again. Thank you for referring us to others. Regards Janette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in March 2014. This is our second time and we enjoyed it just as much as the first time. We booked the Sea Eagle with the spa. We had a fantastic time. The Cabin was spacious, spotlessly clean, and private.The breakfast hamper was lovely, with so much on offer. It is a very relaxing, peaceful place to stay. A short trip to the historic township of Stanley where they sell the best curried scallop pies. The beach is pristine and private and you can walk for miles and not see another person. We thorougly enjoyed our stay and only wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sea Eagle which had a private spa in the sand dunes. It was amazing! We had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Suellen,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your second stay in Sea Eagle as much as the first time. Sea Eagle is our top cabin, with it's unique spa pool in the dunes, overlooking the deserted beach. It is very spacious and private for a couple, making it ideal for a relaxing extended stay. West Inlet beach is very secluded and goes on for ever; just right for those long walks, spotting the shore birds, collecting oysters from the rocks or taking a dip in the tidal pools. We are only 3kms from the historic, fishing village of Stanley, where guests can eat out at a different restaurant every night. Thank you for your repeat visit. We look forward to you visiting for your third stay in May.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We recently stayed for two days and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The cabin we stayed in was very well fitted out, comfortable and made imaginative use of the space. The breakfast basket was ample and delicious and Janette was very helpful with recommendations for dining in Stanley, just a few kilometres down the road. Excellent laundry facilities and the beach and birdlife are lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi AshleyW,
Thank you for your very nice review.
We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your short stay here. The cabins are all well fitted-out with every convenience for an extended self-catering stay, with comfort blending with unique artistic features. Restaurant menus and brochures of attractions and local maps of the area, are always kept in the guest compendiums in each accommodation and we are on hand to give advice when required. A breakfast hamper may be ordered when booking on line and a large modern laundry for guest use, can be accessed at any time of day. Our secluded beach, nature trails and plentiful bird life are all part of our property experience. Looking forward to your next visit; hopefully for a longer stay next time. Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead and saltwater pools, is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. Relax and unwind in complete privacy, on this secluded, waterfront cattle property, screened from the outside world, only 3km from the historic village of Stanley. Collect fresh, wild oysters for breakfast, walk barefoot on the deserted, sandy beach, fish or bird watch in the inlet. At night, enjoy a dip in the heated, saltwater lap pool under a starlit sky, or relax in the spa with friends. Absolutely magical! For horse riders, you may bring your horse on holiday too; agistment paddocks are available. Owners, Chris and Janette, invite you to stay on their beachfront cattle property; an ideal getaway or romantic honeymoon destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Retreat West Inlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.