We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderfull place to relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Save Saved
You added Beachside Retreat West Inlet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BONUS NIGHTS BY THE BEACH
Ranked #2 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a wonderfull place to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I loved to stay at this place. It is so relaxing to sit on the little terrace and look at the wonderfull beach. The cabins furniture is very nice and well planed, the cabin itself fits perfectly to the landscape. I do recommend to stay at Beachside Retreat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Margarete,
Thank you for your review.
We hope that you had a safe journey home to Austria after your relaxing stay here.
We employed an environmental architect to design the cabins so that they fitted perfectly within the natural setting and we think that she came up with an amazing result.
It was lovely to meet you both. Maybe we shall see you again one day.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
129
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Many thanks again, Janette, for the continued fine hospitality manifest at your Beachside Retreat at West Inlet.

We've yet to experience the so-called Tassie weather in the shadow of The Nut -- it always been great for those few days of our visits.

And my highest praise, on this our fourth visit, for the surprise of a genuine lap pool, and the complementary spa – both enjoying heated water. A wonderful bonus.

You and Chris must come visit us sometime.

David & Lyn Derrick
Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

Room Tip: The architect-designed detached cottages are unique, and perfectly sited affording privacy and sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Davidderrick,
Thank you for your review.
Good to hear you continue to enjoy our hospitality and also our latest development - a 15 metre heated lap pool and spa; a lovely way to relax at the end of the day.
Nice to see you year after year. Looking forward to your visit next Christmas.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The location alongside West Inlet is wonderful with a safe tranquil beach a place for enjoyable walks in the sand, oysters to pluck from the rocks, fish to catch if you so desire and eagles and hawks circling above the dunes. The cabin we stayed in (Pelican) has beautiful with fabulous joinery and superb wooden floors of Tasmanian timbers. Extremely well constructed cabins. Excellent design, spacious and comfortable. A great place to relax and read a book or enjoy the view or go for a swim. The service was top notch and the owners are lovely people we enjoyed meeting and talking to. The retreat is well located for exploring NW Tasmania. We will certainly return!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Pelican" chalet and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi KenB,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Pelican, our latest cabin overlooking the sea. The view of West Inlet is superb from the floor to ceiling windows and Pelican has possibly the best water view of all the four cabins. The inlet is a fisherman's paradise and we supply shucking knives and buckets to guests who wish to collect the Pacific oysters themselves. The location here lends itself to relaxation and guests leave here feeling rejuvenated after their stay.
We hope to see you again sometime. Thank you for your review.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Sandpiper cabin right on the sand dunes was perfectly located, with sparkling water views and everything needed provided in the cabin. A lovely deck to sit outside and admire the view was just perfect. Located on the road to Stanley, (well away from the road with no traffic noise at all) and just a few minutes drive into the town itself and all it has to offer i.e. cruises, restaurants, museum, interesting shops and boutiques and of course The Nut. Great position to explore the surrounding area - glad I stayed for a week and didn't keep changing accommodation.

Room Tip: I found Sandpiper to be in an excellent position, but all the cabins face the beach and would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi Jampot666,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Sandpiper is always a popular choice with it's views along the beach and very private deck area.
We try to provide all amenities for guests to self-cater as most do not want to eat out every night. Traffic noise is never a problem staying on a rural property, with only the sounds of the sea and the bird life to soothe you. Yet we are only 3kms from the pretty, historical village of Stanley and well placed to visit all the local attractions.
Glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Beachside Resort in the Sandpiper Lodge. Both Chris and Jeanette Bishop were there to greet us upon our arrival and showed us to the lodge. We were immediately struck by the unique, creative and superbly constructed lodge. Chris gave us a very comprehensive description of how every thing worked within the lodge before leaving us to enjoy the late evening sunshine. The lodge is superbly equipped with nothing missing from what we needed to make our stay special. The internal finishes are excellently co ordinated with lovely wooden flooring, a handcrafted bed, naturally dyed rugs and a very imaginative shower room. Chris and Jeanette have obviously put a great deal of thought into the construction of the lodges and there are some very interesting use of materials which really need to be seen to be appreciated. The following morning we could then fully appreciate the unique setting of our lodge which was just a few meters from the beach which is owned by Chris and Jeanette, it is a stunning vista, totally secluded and for the duration of our stay we only saw a couple of other people on the beach which for us was heaven! We made a trip to Stanley and climbed the very steep track to the top of the Nut to enjoy the wonderful views of the coast line and hinterland. Chris was very knowledgeable and informative about the history of Stanley and the outlying features of distant islands and features. We walked back to our lodge via the main beach and again only saw two other people despite the glorious sunshine and bracing wind.

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at any of the lodges at Beachside Retreat, this is a truly special place and it felt as if we were on the edge of the world, we left feeling we had experienced something that will stay with us forever.

Mark and Janet Wooff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi Janet W,
Thank you for your much appreciated review.
We have tried to create something unique here, in the construction of the cabins and the way they fit into and complement the environment. We have utilized the beach stone and basalt rocks, which are plentiful on the property and the natural colours were chosen to fit in with the foreshore vegetation. Some of the innovative ideas actually came from our son's furniture designer background and his pieces in the cabins are always admired.
The top of the Nut is a wonderful place to experience our breathtaking scenery, but you do need to pick the right day as Stanley is renowned for strong winds.
We hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back to the UK.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorsch, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beachside Retreat West Inlet ist well worth visitig it - very calm and suitable for relaxing and recovering. We only spent two nights in the Pelican cabin, but had a great time. There aren't many chances to have a shower while looking at the beach, but in the Inlet it is possible :) Surrounded by beautiful plants and often accompanied by rabbits and wallabies you can sit on the terrace and all you hear is the soothing sounds of the sea. Really wonderful!
And by the way: Thanks Janette and Chris for recommending "Xanders" to us - it was quite the best restaurant we were in on our journey through Tasmania. I think my dad won't ever forget their spare ribs!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi Katrin F,
Thank you for writing a review.
The secluded location here makes for relaxing downtime, with the wildlife never very far away, especially at dusk. All the windows of each cabin overlook the deserted beach, giving a feeling of isolation and solitude, just right for enjoying a peaceful, well-earned getaway.
We are pleased that you enjoyed Xanders Restaurant and realized that you needed to book beforehand to ensure a table. It really is excellent and a credit to it's owners.
We hope that you had a safe journey back to Germany and your Australian visit was a memorable experience.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Accommodation accessible for people in wheelchairs but definitely not wheelchair friendly. Large bathroom in the three bedroom unit could definitely accommodate an accessible shower without compromising space for the spa. Although it is detailed on the website the accessible bathroom is separate, it was extremely unpleasant to have to go down the road to use the shower- especially in the cold. The unit smelled of vomit on our arrival and we were told this was from "cooking smells" however we soon realised the smell was coming from the lounge cushions which the Owner told us she had cleaned prior to our arrival- then having cleaned them again during our stay the odour remained, leaving us unable to sit on the lounge.
Also during our stay we tried to use the video/DVD player. The owner tried to rectify this and spent some time trying to get it to work but failed. No solution or alternative was offered.
Most disappointed
Angela J

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi AngelaJ,
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay here and the normally, cool Tasmanian spring weather, but hope that you enjoyed our fresh farm produce, complimentary pick up in Stanley and the drive around the Green Hills in our new tour vehicle.
Please thank Jan, the lovely lady in the wheel chair, who handed me a thank you card in appreciation of our help given during your stay and signed by all of your party. Obviously Jan enjoyed her stay and was not disappointed. Thank you for your review.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a luxurious, waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary, award-winning beach houses for couples, nestle in coastal vegetation on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A refurbished, farmhouse-style lodge, adjacent to the homestead and saltwater pools, is available for 5 adults or 4 adults and one child. Relax and unwind in complete privacy, on this secluded, waterfront cattle property, screened from the outside world, yet only 3km from the historic fishing village of Stanley. Collect fresh, wild oysters for breakfast, walk barefoot on the deserted beach, fish or birdwatch in the inlet. At night, enjoy a dip in the heated, saltwater pool under a starlit sky, or relax in the spa with friends. Absolute magic! For horse riders, you may bring your horse on holiday too. Agistment paddocks are available. Owners, Chris and Janette, invite you to stay on their beachfront cattle property; an ideal getaway or romantic honeymoon destination. Winter Retreat Specials and Single Nights are available from May to September. Book Now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Retreat West Inlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.