We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation in Stanley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cable Station to your Saves list
Cable Station
435 Greenhills Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Sydney
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in Stanley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is out of town, a lovely 3 minute drive. 2 hotel style rooms or the cottage with 2 living areas and three bedrooms. great to have all that room. The restaurant is to die for, expensive but well worth it for at least one meal. wonderful hosts. Wonderful place to stay to visit this gorgeous part of the world.

Room Tip: Choose the cottage if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last night on our recent trip to Stanley. The hosts took it upon themselves to book us in for dinner there for $55 pp unasked and then could not produce the set menu. We found a lobster special at the local pub which was far better value.

The unit was well furnished but the view advertised is not as it is described (see picture), I would not say a barb wired fence and unkept garden was a bass strait view. The bathroom was a bit of a let down with leaky shower and public hair on the floor.

Bed was comfy though and it was a nice quiet rural location. The new owners were quiet friendly and helpful.

They are on the right track here but just need some fine tuning and a good tidy up. Try not to just book people into your restaurant when booking as it is a turn off.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main restaurant as it could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CableStation, Owner at Cable Station, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you Brendan for your comments and drawing to our attention housekeeping matters regarding your room which we will shall of course address now we have been made aware of them.
The property is currently undergoing some outside landscaping so rather than being ‘unkept’ we are actually in transition and there is a plan to replace the back fence with new post and rail fencing in keeping with the rural nature of the property. However we shall still be obliged to run an electric wire along this fence as the neighbouring property “Western Plains” is a prominent Cape Grim Tasmanian Natural Grass fed beef farm and such is the requirement for cattle farms.
Our restaurant has a well established reputation and is often booked out so we endeavour to reserve seats for house guests in order that they are not disappointed if they would like to dine and have not pre-booked for dinner. Our house specialty the wood-oven roasted crayfish is a pre-ordered main course as we are the only restaurant in the region that cooks fresh cray to order.
Thank you again for your feedback and we trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Tasmania. We only wish you had made mention of any disappointment regarding your stay at the time of departure and we could have addressed the matter personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Wow! We had an amazing stay at the Old Cable Station. We were the only people staying so we had the entire 3 bedroom area to our selves, including a separate living and kitchen area. Would be perfect for family or couples sharing a holiday. We made sure to book in for the restaurant when we booked and ordered the crayfish (for an extra $35) and we weren't disappointed. The service and food for dinner was just fantastic. The wine list was local and gave us ideas of where to go to next. The hosts (Euan and Jacqueline) were helpful and great for a chat. Unfortunately the penguins weren't out for the night but an evening walk after dinner showed the magnifence of the Milky Way and the sounds of cows and sea birds. The brekky provided was huge and it was really nice in the midst of a holiday to have a little kitchen and to prepare brekky ourselves. Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here for one very blustery night at the end of January. This place is quite a way out of Stanley down gravel roads but the reviews made it seem worthwhile. Although there are no actual photos of the outside on their website the illustrations do make it look a bit more "well kept" than it was. The gardens are lacking a bit - perhaps a hot summer? The room we had was beautifully appointed with a huge bed, crisp sheets, nice toiletries and a large bath. As it was so windy we didn't get to use the little deck out the back. Breakfast consisted of numerous styles of bread and nice jams , cereal and delicious yoghurt, coffee and lots of teas for you to make yourself in your room (no dressing up for breakfast required!).
We had booked in for dinner to save driving in to Stanley and on the way up we were contacted to see if we wanted the crayfish supplement. We said yes for one. This was an extra $35 on top of the $44 or $55 for dinner. Cooked in the interior brick oven in the eating area, it was delicious. The food prepared by Euan and the service by Jaqcueline was just fantastic!! The wines by the glass were generously poured. The basil icecream was delicious. It would be worth the drive just to come and eat here. The menu changes regularly and most of the produce is sourced locally.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We turned up for lunch to find that the hotel/restaurant was in the new and very capable hands of Euan and Jacqueline.Turns out they had taken over on January 1 and we were their first lunch customers. They both worked together at a Michelin starred restaurant near Nairn in Scotland and this background shone through in what was an excellent meal. Euan is taking great pleasure in using the abundance of high quality local ingredients to create great menus. I had local Macquarie Harbour Salmon baked in their woodfire oven with olives, beans and anchovies and my wife had a Lamb fillet Salad, the kids devoured the slow cooked wagyu beef served on house made pasta. A sinful chocolate 'soup' and lemon tart finished off a great meal. Plus the price included a glass of wine. Go there to eat, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed only for one night and not lucky at all, it was a Friday, and the restaurant is not open Friday nights. What a shame. Very beautiful view from room, room was very nice, large, King Bed and all. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

This was one of the nicest places I have ever stayed, and I travel a lot for business and pleasure. The website is very low key, and it was wonderful to have my expectations exceeded on type of accommodation and price!! We stayed in the cottage, only for one night but we wished we could have stayed for mch longer. Charlotte is a most amazing chef, and she has set up the accomodation beautifully down to fresh bread, milk, juice and eggs for breakfast. Bliss. Plus it was the most stunning view of night time stars I have ever seen in my life!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cable Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Station

Address: 435 Greenhills Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY & DINE’ at the Cable Station. Formerly a tele-communications centre c.1936 connecting Tasmania to the rest of the world with the first telephone link. Located 5 minutes from the historic fishing port of Stanley and its ‘Nut,’ with the ‘Tarkine’ (the world’s oldest cool temperate rain forest) just 45km away, the Cable Station is an ideal base for exploring the northwest coast of Tasmania. Comfortable, stylish and contemporary rooms with en-suites are available as bed & breakfast or self-contained. Our "2012 Tourisim Restaurant of the Year" Tasmanian tourism awarded restaurant offers a unique culinary experience, featuring seasonal produce and fresh local seafood such as our house specialty, the ‘Wood-oven roasted crayfish.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cable Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Station Stanley, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.