We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Seaview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stanley Seaview Inn to your Saves list
Stanley Seaview Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   58 Dovecote Rd., Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia (Formerly Dovecote Motel and Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed here recently for one night in a seaview apartment. The hotel is on a hillside and has fantastic views of Stanley, the Nut and the sea, but is a little bit of a distance from the town area although probably still walkable. My only complaint about the room was that when we arrived it had a horrible damp/mouldy smell, even though everything appeared to be clean. I think perhaps it had just been shut up for a while and after opening the sliding door it was much better but not great to have to do in the cold weather. There was a shower curtain in the bathroom too which had a bit of the damp/mouldy smell also. Overall, the facilities were good and clean and the room was a good size and we had beautiful views. We ate at the restuarant which was excellent and the service very attentive, although we were one of only two tables so felt we couldn't really settle in for a length of time. I think it would probably be much better in summer, although quite a distance from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    105
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
128
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wynyard, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a lovely township, although a bit quiet during the off-peak months (only a couple of shops and cafe's open), but you learn to appreciate and understand the quaintness and tranquility of the area, particularly with all it's history and the friendliness of the locals, and it's only a short 45 minute drive from Burnie. My only criticism is that the chair lift to the top of the 'Nut' doesn't operate all year round but I guess that's because of the summer tourist season, which is a great pity, aseach time we've visited Stanley we've just missed out on a viewing from the top escarpment and eyeballing the entire Circular Head region. Although well laid out, the 'walk' to the top is not for the faint hearted. However, there are so many lovely holiday cottages, shops and a fantastic hotel in the township. Every time my husband and I visit Tassie, we always try to visit this region.

Room Tip: Read the reviews of previous quests of the various accommodations in the Stanley township
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spent two nights here. Very good reception from Kerry, who also looked after us at dinner. Small but good selection of dishes offered in the restaurant. Two wines on the list were not available. We had room 7 at the front and end of the main building. Excellent views of township and The Nut. The room is sunny and well appointed, however the spa bath is a little difficult to enter. Noist refrigerator, but not too disturbing. Free on site parking and about two minites drive from town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyJayTasmania, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hi Richard.

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. The spa may be slightly difficult to step into, but isn't it wonderful how it is set into the room and that you can look out the bay window to see Stanley from laying back in the bath?

I am sorry that there were a couple of wines missing off the list.

Regards,

Clint Walker.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very comfortable accommodation at a very reasonable price. Clean and inviting with heating, electric blankets, hairdryer, iron and most importantly an excellent shower! There is free wifi which worked a treat. The view is suberb and the staff are very friendly. We also ate at the restaurant and had a delicious and very affordable meal. My only complaint and it seems silly to say but seemed valid at the time (LOL), was that the sheets were so well laundered that they were noisy!!!! (we guessed they were probably starched). Having said that we had a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyJayTasmania, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hi and thanks for this very nice review.

I am pleased to hear that you had such a nice time with us.

I know what you mean about the noisy sheets. It is so quiet here at Stanley Seaview Inn, that unless a bird is chirping at your window, the only thing you can hear is the sound of your own body moving in the bed linen!

Regards,

Clint Walker.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2- nights .had a spa suite room ,beautiful big and spacious room .from our room had great view of the big nut .town of Stanley only 5- minutes drive ,quite town lovely old style restaurants and buildings .if your like my wife and I just want nice and quite and relaxing place to see at your own pace ,lots of things to see and do

Room Tip: Get our room you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazzyJayTasmania, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hi there.
Thanks for taking the time to write this review.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a nice time while you were here with us.
Regards,
Clint Walker.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We've booked a studio in the Stanley seaview inn. The view from the room was amazing . There was free wifi in the room but unfortunately it didn't really work in my iphone or ipad. The restaurant was closed at the day we arrieved for some personal reasons. But the hotel was very close to the town centre and easy drive. Overall, it was worth to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to place your review. It just came to my attention that the wi fi is playing up. I have the Tech coming today - hopefully.
Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Great little motel tucked away at the back of Stanley. This was my 2nd stay here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean. I didn't eat in the resturant but the menu sounded great. Will definetly stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanley Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Seaview Inn

Address: 58 Dovecote Rd., Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia (Formerly Dovecote Motel and Restaurant)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Seaview Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley Seaview Inn is a multi award winning AAA rated 3 ½ star property in the peaceful historical fishing village of Stanley, at the Western end of Tasmania’s North coast.Our hillside location provides most guest rooms with magnificent views over Stanley, the famous Stanley Nut and the surrounding waters of Bass Strait.Recent refurbishments provided guest rooms with modern décor, furnishings and bathrooms, complimented by flat screen TV’s and fast, free reliable wireless internet (Wi-Fi).Other guest room features include : Complimentary tea and coffee facilities, electric heating, electric blankets, hair dryer, ironing facilities, desk, dining table, refrigerator, mini bar and free off street parking.We have a variety of room types including standard rooms (garden view), seaview rooms, family rooms and self contained apartments. Our property also features two playgrounds and BBQ areas (the second opens in October). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stanley Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Seaview Hotel
Stanley Seaview Inn Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Seaview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.