We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ark Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ark Stanley to your Saves list
The Ark Stanley
18 Wharf Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in the Weatherly. The room itself was on the small size but had a well appointed on-suite. Air conditioner for heating (which is over the bed) was noisy, but fortunaty we didn't need it overnight. Clever decor and fittings made the best of the space that was available. Didn't use the balcony as the Council were doing road works right in front. Communication from the Manager who was in Melbourne to enable access to the key worked quite well, but not sure what would have happened if my mobile had not been on. Stanley itself was very interesting and worth the effort to get there. Lovely meal at the hotel.

Room Tip: Check the size of the room if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Stanley and concur it is worth the effort. It is certainly a tough choice for dining as the hotel and restaurants in town are all great, and the day attractions will certainly keep you busy. Rest assured the heat pumps in the suites are less than 12 months old. There is a regular maintenance program in place to ensure all equipment is in good working order, and we are pleased to be able to offer remote control heating/cooling for year round comfort. We were happy to have been able to reach you by phone on our first effort and there are definitely other measures in place to contact arriving guests when a phone call is missed. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashmore, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I had the whole house to myself and a beautiful room at the front named The Belvedere. It was an unexpected upgrade with communication by mobile from Rhonda who was in Melbourne at the time Double showers,floor heating,towel heating,bathrobes and luxury toweling all perfect.So comfortable with top class restaurants nearby.The whole of The Ark has been renovated and what a fabulous job the owners have done.I can highly recommend this wonderful accomodation and a visit to Stanley.

Room Tip: Front rooms get a marvelous view of the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you Minipoodle26 for your review and kind words. It was our pleasure to offer you the upgrade, and we love your photos! Thanks for sharing, and we hope you can return to us one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We regretted just spending one night in Stanley really. The Ark is simply a beautiful, beautiful accommodation literally just in front of the beach. We got upgraded to the Admiral suite which is a wonderful gesture by the owners and the Admiral suite is pure incredible. It occupies the entire second floor of the building and the windows open up to views of the vast Bass straits from all sides of the house except the back. The room is also very tastefully done up, bright and outfitted with modern fixtures which makes it an extremely easy and comfortable place to stay. The lounge chairs, the retro sofa, the vintage dining chairs (which incidentally weigh a ton) all add character to the room. The Ark is so much more a luxury option than a whole lot of 5-star hotels out there. This place deserves unreservedly the highest of praise. I really wish the owners the best and please keep on doing what you've been doing. I do recommend any visitor to Tasmania to make a detour to Stanley, if only to stay at the Ark, but also visit the quaint little town of Stanley which currently isn't overrun by tourists and incidentally has very decent restaurants too!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
You're quite a distance away Marvinhah but we do hope you can return one day and perhaps take the opportunity to not only revisit The Ark, but experience some other great locations in Tasmania, of which there are many. Your kind words are much appreciated and we are extremely happy to hear your time in Stanley was memorable. We are glad too that the offer of the upgrade to the Admiral suite upstairs was accepted and well received; we love those views upstairs so much that we just have to share them when we can. Thank you Marvinhah, wishing you many more happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We only stayed one night in the Corinthian room and wished it was longer. Although not large and not one of the rooms with the wonderful view we couldn't have been happier. The quality inclusions and décor were second to none. Great value for money with underfloor heating and heated towel racks and bath robes included. The owners have obviously spent a lot of time and effort to get things just right.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you Carol V for taking the time to leave a review for us, we feel quite special as we see it is the first review you have left. We do hope you can return to stay with us in the warmer months, when you won't necessarily need the heated floor, heated towel rail and fluffy Sheridan bathrobes and instead you can use the airconditioning. It is Tasmania though, so we have to be prepared.! Thanks again Carol V, happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichwalde
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Appropriate descriptions have been given by other reviewers.

We stayed in the left front room first and changed to the right one for extension. Both rooms have been built up with a high degree of stylistic assurance combined with highest knowledge about handwork and with a lot of love to just create the best. We had the pleasure to join our days with the owners Rhonda and Christer and we know e.g. how many layers of clear lacquer you need the get such a high gloss finish on the deal boards, - etc.

This guesthouse deserves the appropriate guests, who enjoy the beauty and carefully deal with these juwels.

We found another jewel outside: sitting on the balcony in front of the rooms in the evening sun, having some freshly prepared fish&chips from the restaurant at the corner and some glasses of Chardonnay until the sun disappeared behind the hill.
All told: Superb!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you bluemeli for your kind words and of course for staying with us. So fantastic when travellers to our lovely area enjoy themselves so much that they extend their stay from an initial 3 nights to 5, then to 7 nights. Stanley is indeed a great base from which to explore the Circular Head area, returning to a wonderful village at the end of each day and relaxing as you mention with a glass of wine. Watching those magnificent sunsets from our front verandah is definately a bonus. We were enriched, having had that time with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Cleverly renovated with a mix of old such as pressed metal ceilings and original wooden floors and mod cons such as heated floor tiles in the bath room. We stayed in the Belvedere as the Admiral came up as unavailable on online booking, although no guests later appeared! Would love to be there when the house was bustling with guests as there is no resident host and we tended to echo around the hallway on our own. Can't complain about anything, walking distance to town features. Great evening meal at pub and Moby Dick's a must for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you CandJ60 for your review. Stanley really is the full package with lovely areas to visit, great local restaurants for an evening meal and, as you mentioned, Moby Dicks really is the place to go for a great breakfast. When visiting the town between December and April you definately will have lots of competition for accommoation and dinner reservations, and the Ark itself is a great place to mingle with other travellers over breakfast or on the verandahs with a glass of wine, watching the sunset and sharing some great travel stories. On the otherhand, if you stay in the quieter months, you do have a peaceful and relaxed time and are often not sharing the house with others. We would love to see you for breakfast in summer! Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and for staying with us, Rhonda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

On our Tasmanian road trip we stayed at the Ark in Stanley for two nights. We had the Admirals Suite which is a larger suite in the attic with a separate living area. It was adorned in 1960s paraphernalia and had a dinning table looking out over the bay. It was very clean and well presented. There was even a small fridge. The main street of town and the cafes are in easy walking distance. We even got surprised by some little penguins just in front of the house. Great suite and excellent value.

Room Tip: We did like the extra room of the Admirals Suite but it does mean you have to take your bags up a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you zzrbell for your review. So happy to hear you were well accommodated in the Admiral Suite upstairs and you were able to get up close and personal with the wildlife! We hope you can return one day. Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ark Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark Stanley

Address: 18 Wharf Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ark Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Stanley Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ark Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.