We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Done right by me.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ark Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ark Stanley to your Saves list
The Ark Stanley
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   18 Wharf Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Done right by me.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had paid for accomodation in October but my wife's mother got hospitilased at last moment & we couldn't travel. Rhonda was very gracious & allowed us to shift our travel plans to a later date. Old fashioned morals like that are hard to come by these days!! We stayed in the Belvedere room & it was fitted out beautifully. The room was very comfy...we couldn't fault it. Rhonda recommended 'Xanders' restaurant & what can I say.....'Wow, we were impressed'. Stopped at Stanley Hotel for a bevvy on way home. What a great night. Went to Moby Dick's for breakfast & that was sensational as well. Stanley......what a lovely litlle village. Hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: I think they would all have their own character but can't go wrong....they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our guest house, it is very much appreciated. I am glad you were able to finally visit Stanley, and evidently enjoy quite a few things in town! We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently had a 2 night stay in the Admiral room which was extremely comfortable with plenty of room (2 rooms - 1 bedroom and 1 lounge). The bed was super comfy. The room had been very recently built / renovated and is very well appointed with quality fittings in the bathroom.
The only inconsequential negative is that the sound on the TV is very low when watching a DVD (which we did because unfortunately it rained the whole day we were there).

Unlike cradle mountain lodge ( see recent review), Rhonda, owner of The Ark, was quite happy to accommodate a change in the dates of our stay if we wished. Maybe Peppers could get Rhonda to manage the lodge to provide lessons in customer service.

We will definitely stay again when we are next visiting Stanley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Great to hear Stephen you were happy with the comfort and style of your accommodation; shame about the rain! A good is very important when you are away from home and it seems we scored on that one. We have looked at the issue regarding the sound on the tv upstairs in the Admiral Suite. It seemed quite alright on a general check, however, we found when it was raining it did need to be turned up slightly. We have altered the sound level and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please come again. Best wishes, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the end of March - lovely newly renovated B & B - beautiful décor - great location - close to everything - nice continental breakfasts by hosts who were lovely and very proud of their achievement - a must stay in Stanley. We will highly recommend The Ark when staying in Stanley... Dinner at Stanley's on the Bay was walking distance and very nice - Morning Tea and Lunch at Touchwood Gallery Café homemade and fresh lovely owner - Stanley Hotel nice for a pub meal...enjoy this quaint town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Sonja E. Yes, you are right, Stanley is a great place to visit and stay for awhile. With so many varied quality places to stay in town we are happy you chose The Ark and that you had such lovely things to say about us. Best wishes. Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nothing to add, see for yourself whenever you're in the Stanley area. We will be back, but it might take a while as Tasmania is a bit far away from Germany. Go for a delicious breakfast at Moby Dick's, it's worth each and every cent.

Room Tip: Any room is nice, we stayed at the Anderson Suite which has a wonderful view. We loved the heated fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you Susanne B for your kind comments. It is nice to know you thoroughly enjoyed your 3 night stay at The Ark and that you were able to indulge at Moby Dicks. Please come back if you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I loved staying at The Ark - the hosts were great They have done a wonderful job renovating and very thing room is beautifully finished. I highly recommend the property. Everything was perfect. We stayed just after Christmas and found some excellent restaurants. Loved the location and looking forward to returning. When the hosts are in residence, they offer an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are very happy Gabrielo1 that you found everything perfect with your accommodation during your 4 night stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet such a lovely couple and we do hope to see you again. Best wishes Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here at the end of May in the Belvedere suite and it was beautiful with a lovely water view. The fixtures and fittings were of excellent quality and we would readily recommend The Ark to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much Tednjen for choosing to stay at The Ark Stanley. Importantly, you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will return one day. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautifully renovated home with a great view. The rooms were lovely, clean, nice line with comfortable beds.

We went in October so it was a little cold, unfortunately the heater had broken down and it was a bit of an effort to get a replacement, but they came through in the end.

Its located in a great spot, easy to get to and not far to the restaurant strip.

Definitely a romantic getaway, no so suitable for children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you Tracy for staying with us, and for taking the time to leave a review. We were happy to have helped with a replacement heater, which admittedly was not an easy task late in the day as the majority of heaters in the town were being used that cold night! Since your stay in October 2012 we have installed reverse cycle heating/cooling individually in each suite; which was just in time for the unexpected record heatwave experienced over summer. We hope you can visit us again soon, and I am sure you will be comfortable regardless of the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ark Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark Stanley

Address: 18 Wharf Road, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ark Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Ark Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Stanley Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ark Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.