We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic pub with good selection of tasty meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel Bistro

Stanley Hotel Bistro
19 - 21 Church Street, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
61 3 64581161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Stanley
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: At the Stanley Hotel you’ll find a cold beer, a warm welcome and great food.Our bistro offers quality Tasmanian produce featuring great steak and seafood. Produce is sourced from the local region. In season try the fresh Lobster (crayfish), scallops, crisp battered fish ‘n’ chips, great local oysters, juicy tender grass fed beef and natural chicken.Join us for lunch or dinner which is served every day in our bistro or on our sunny deck.
Brisbane Oz
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Iconic pub with good selection of tasty meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Arrived in Stanley on a Saturday, should have booked a table at the bistro in advance but didn't and missed out that night. We booked for Sunday night, not much else is open in Stanley on Sundays.
The bistro was really busy but we didn't have to wait too long for our food. We both ordered the coarse crumb scallops with were served with chips salad and tartare sauce for $29. The scallops were fairly small but sweet and juicy with a lovely crispy crumb. For dessert I had a crème brulee and my husband the sticky date pudding. The food was lovely and prices consistent with most of Tasmania. Cheapest main at $19 was venison sausages or vegetarian tart, scotch fillet steak cost $33 and the Seafood Plate $38.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    73
    27
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned with pub, with a touch of class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We ate here on a Sunday night - not much else was open. We did not regret it - the food, service and atmosphere were all fantastic. The meals go far beyond a typical 'pub meal' and they offer the freshest of fresh Tasmanian produce. Definitely recommend the seafood tasting plate - delicious! All round good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mixed experience from good to Ho Hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We decided to try the hotel on a Friday night we heard their Sticky Date was worth the visit alone.
We did not book as town was pretty quite, but as we walked in the waitress seemed concerned we had not booked and the directed us to any table and walked off.
After selecting our table, the blonde waitress arrived with our menu's, I would have to say she may like to change industries, her request if we wanted drinks was delivered with a air of urgency.
Once we got past the drink order we started to get served by two other waitress and they appeared to want to work in the hospitality industry.
The herb bread was just great and the mains we very nice, the special of lamb pie was very nice, I love rhubarb so given they had rhubarb and apple crumble on the specials I was hocked, but it was more crumble than rhubarb and apple and very dry, my partner had the Sticky date, her view ok. Over all I think this is a fair review. It seems Friday night is local night, if you are a tourist on Friday book, don't expect anything more than good food and perhaps enjoy the locals

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

While the Hotel is full of character the Bistro has been modernized. The service is very good, the menu is a little above the usual. The prices are mostly between $20 - $30.
The Steak ($33) we thought was a little bit too much.
The Venison Sausages ($19) reasonable price and very nice, came with Chips and Salad.
Scallop Pie also came with Chips and Salad ($21). Great location, good service, had a fire going which gave a nice feel to the place.
Just a little bit to modern, needs a bit more character in the Bistro.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

nothing to write home about but still worth putting it in tripvisor. ordered from the blackboard but the soup wasn't very good, the fish was OK but it came with pasta errrrrrrrr, would have loved a choice, but maybe to hard...the place need a upgrade it was ok in the 80s and maybe the 90s.......

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley Hotel Bistro also viewed

 
Stanley, Tasmania
 

Been to Stanley Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.