We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tucker and the place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Hotel Bistro

Stanley Hotel Bistro
19 - 21 Church Street, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
61 3 64581161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Stanley
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: At the Stanley Hotel you’ll find a cold beer, a warm welcome and great food.Our bistro offers quality Tasmanian produce featuring great steak and seafood. Produce is sourced from the local region. In season try the fresh Lobster (crayfish), scallops, crisp battered fish ‘n’ chips, great local oysters, juicy tender grass fed beef and natural chicken.Join us for lunch or dinner which is served every day in our bistro or on our sunny deck.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good tucker and the place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

After sampling the fare at a restaurant with claims to quality in the same street a few evenings prior to the Stanley Hotel - and which may have disappeared as I don't see it anywhere on this site - and being floored at the average quality of the food and the risibly pretentious staff, we held our breaths entering when we ate dinner here. Had to duck my head too as one of the doors was pretty low! This place is a winner. Big room with lots of memorabilia of the nautical kind, jam-packed with families, great pub food, and a happy buzzing atmosphere. My wife had a meat dish and the other two of us had fish. Nicely prepared, cooked, and presented and with plenty of sides. Drinks roster was a bit light on so stuck with a Cascade. Staff were really nice and friendly and seemed to enjoy working there as much as we enjoyed having a pub meal and a beer. We even saw our waiter from a few nights previous meal at a lovely hotel in Stanley having dinner there on his night off! He just smiled when he saw us... Great pub food, happy and competent staff, buzzing pub near the bay; what more could you ask for?

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    73
    27
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food - expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

While a little pricey, the Bistro's prices are at the lower end of this extremely expensive town's restaurants. The crumbed scallops are to die for!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good use of local produce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

After a very disappointing dinner at the Marrawah Tavern (see other review), I was very eager to try decent local food (after hearing so much about it)...and I was not disappointed!
After reading all the information on where the main produce featuring in the menu were sourced, me and my partner had very high expectations. We decided to go for the fillet steack and the chicken schnitzel...2 traditional pub dishes that can turn out really bad or really fantastic and they were really good, well cooked and seasoned. It is not cheap but it is really a good place to try Tamania's produce.
On the negative side, nothing major. The desert (crumble) was ok, nothing fantastic. And the wine/beer list could showcase Tasmania's products a bit more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Qld
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Who was in the Kitchen?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were in Stanley on a Tuesday night so not many restaurants were open. We walked to the hotel and were welcomed by friendly waitress. We ordered meals but after 75 mins still had not seen our meals. The waitress did apologise but the kitchen seemed to be under staffed. It was not overly busy. The meal was OK when it arrived. Felt sorry for the young waitress as she seemed to cop the ire of dissatisfied diners. However it was really out of her control.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food for good prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Meals were quite good. We had chicken schnitzel and steak. Both were cooked nice but steak was a little too fleshy. Chicken breast was lovely and crumbed very nicely. Pretty good for bistro/ pub meals. Prices were good for the meals and for a Wednesday night we booked but didn't need to. They have a good sized dining room. A nice option if your in Stanley.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley Hotel Bistro also viewed

 
Stanley, Tasmania
 

Been to Stanley Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Hotel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.