We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wild life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lumera Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lumera Chalets to your Saves list
Lumera Chalets
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Lot 1 Off Gillies Road Street, St Marys, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Rainbow Retreat Wilderness Eco Cabins)   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wild life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in February and enjoyed all aspects of our stay. Great cabins, nice fire, girls enjoyed feeding the wild life and seeing the baby possum. We enjoyed the meal prepared by the boys.The weather was not great but being in the mountains made the experience a memorable one.

Room Tip: Get a map of St Marys before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were there in December as part of a longer trip to Tasmania
This was definitely a holiday highlight - the guys are so friendly and welcoming, the cabins are just what you need and the view is amazing.
Another bonus is that you have to turn your mobile phone off, as you can't recharge on the solar power (but they will recharge for you in the main house)
Worth a trip up that country road

Room Tip: The three cabins are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is beautiful! The setting here sees you looking out from you cabin right down onto the Bay of Fires coastline. The cabins themselves are warm and cosy and have all you need. The owners here were only too happy to help us with anything and cooked us a delicious in house meal the first night we were there. They provide you with food to hand feed the wallabies they have raised. Really awesome experience and we would love to return one day! Only slight downside was the price was quite high and was supposed to include a bottle of wine but nothing was ever said about this. But that did not detract from our fabulous stay! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowguys2011, Owner at Lumera Chalets, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for your kind and positive review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
I am very sorry about not mentioning the free bottle of wine, I assume that guests would help themselves knowing that it was part of your booking. Next time you stay I will give you two bottles!
If you stay "Off Season" next time I'm sure you will be more than happy with our price. :)
Cheers, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed here in Jan 2011 (so running a little late on the review!) However, we still have fantastically fond memories of our stay here. It was our first visit to Tasmania and we couldn't have found a better place to start. We were a little worried when turning up into a mountain track road (in a tiny hire car). But that's to do with being Brits! LOL
It is a haven amongst havens. The Eco Lodges are fantastic ... you have everything you ever needed there. Stunning Food, Great Woodburner, and just all round cosy. We opted to have a breakfast pack with our accommodation and weren't disappointed with home-made bread and fresh eggs.
Purple Possum Cafe is also a good place to visit if you want to take something back to cook in the cabin.
I fell in love with the wallabies who came visiting everytime I was in the cabin. On my last day I went down to take a close up couple of pics (watching for snakes!), and it is great that the hosts provide food for you to feed the wallabies (which I probably over-fed!) as they were just too cute and if I could've taken one home ... I would have.
A lovely finishing touch is that we were given photo's of the animals as a keepsake from the hosts with the details of the lodge.
We were made to feel very welcome, and thank them for charging our Video & Camera for us :)
If we ever come to Tasmania again ... this place is definately on our agenda :) Just to relax and listen to the quietness of it all!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Sensational location, great chalet and superb hosts! This was just a treat. The cabins had a stunning view, comfortable, cozy and the guys throw together an amazing pizza.

I rarely think I'll be back to a place I've been (too much of the world to see) but I'd hate to think I won't be back here.

It's remote, quiet and delightful. Pack some wine, nibblies and sit back and relax. You'll need your own transport and take the chance to get out for some wonderful drives/tours in the area.

It was a wonderful visit...I WILL be back!

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My teen daughter and I had two nights at the Rainbow Retreat and we would definitely rate this as one of the highlights of our trip to Tasmania. My daughter was able to hand feed the local wallabies and look at the stars at night - coming from inner city Melbourne this was a real treat for her. I was really taken by the fantastic views of the Bay of Fires and spent a lot of time sipping tea and looking at the view in the changing light. Extremely relaxing. Very highly recommended, I will definitely make a return trip to this little piece of paradise and maybe stay a little longer next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Arriving in St Mary on a Sunday evening after a delayed flight we found every shop/café closed in the village and no possibility to eat at the hotel. That was a bit disappointing for a start.
Luckily we finally found a good steack at the Pub and so we could start enjoying the peaceful atmosphere of Tasmania...
The rooms were very clean, there was a large choices of wine in the mini-bar as well as some food for the wild animals.
We saw and fed a lot of wallabies, a wombat and more. It was so cute!
During the night you can enjoy the heat from the stove in your room and relax while watching the wonderful sky full of stars. You really feel away from civilization, surrounded by wilderness and silence.
This was really a good pick in our trip in Tasmania!
Definitly somewhere to go!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lumera Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumera Chalets

Address: Lot 1 Off Gillies Road Street, St Marys, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Rainbow Retreat Wilderness Eco Cabins)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in St Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumera Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Retreat overlooks the Bay of Fires - we have the most sensational ocean panorama in all of Tasmania. The retreat sits within St Patricks Head Private Nature Reserve; you can see for 230 km along the expansive eastern coastline of Tasmania. Voted the best eco retreat and private nature reserve in Tasmania. Rainbow Retreat is a comfortable drive from Freycinet National Park, Wine Glass Bay, Ben Lomond National Park, and the beautiful Douglas Apsley National Park, so why stay in the cold wet and windy south of Tasmania when you can stay on the sun coast, the warm region of Tasmania, local holiday destination for many Tasmanians? The property has been proclaimed by the Tasmanian government as a private nature reserve, the highest conservation listing available. If you are expecting a resort, you will be disappointed as we are a nature retreat; we prefer to cater to nature-based travellers who appreciate the beauty of staying in a true carbon neutral Eco retreat. Rainbow Retreat offers an Eco tourism experience for those of us who enjoy the pleasures of comfort as well as being able to appreciate the sheer beauty of nature combined with the most sensational ocean views, which almost engulfs the visitor. We have three very comfortable solar powered Eco cabins with the most sensational ocean panorama in all of Tasmania, we are 600 metres above sea level on the historical St Patricks Head Private Nature Reserve. The open plan cabins are timber-lined and appointed with a queen size bed, a full kitchen and a spacious en-suite bathroom, a pot-belly heater, dining suite, and LED colour TV, prepare your own meals or enjoy the convenience of choosing a specialty dish from our in-house menu, meals are prepared by our in-house chef, delivered fresh to your cabin. Please place food orders prior to your stay. The cabins run on 12-volt solar. We recommend taking out travel insurance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lumera Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumera Chalets Tasmania/St Marys, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumera Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.