We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little pub - just what you expect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St.Marys Hotel

St.Marys Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St.Marys Hotel to your Saves list
St.Marys Hotel
48 Main Street, St Marys, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 St Marys B&B and Inns
Hobart
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice little pub - just what you expect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here as part of a weekend trip up to St Mary's to do some mountain biking. The Pub was exactly what we wanted- nice, clean, inexpensive but basic rooms and a large dinner. Service was pretty 'country relaxed' (and I could see that might get up some people's nose) but this isn't a four star motel. Dinners were large, but they're home cooked style meals, good shared bathroom facilities. Only minor complaint was we weren't told about breakfast in the morning and had to drive down to Bicheno for some, and the hallway is a bit creaky at night. I'd happily stay there again. There's no TV's in rooms, but there is a shared lounge.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was ideal (far from being above the bar) so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The St Mary's Hotel is on the legendary motorbiking roads of Elephant Pass and St Mary's Pass and is great country accommodation.

It's a beautiful old pub built in 1910 with new owners (from Oct 2012) in Rod and Belinda. They're focused on friendly service, big meals and value.

Rooms are cheap ($70 for a double), it was very clean and had a lovely friendly vibe.

The hotel was very busy when we were there, the locals are friendly. Well worth a visit for some country style hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We loved the atmosphere and the new owners... really good value and atmospheric place - would recommend! The new owner is really positive about the place and the furnishings were lovely... Breakfast was unexpected and we felt unrushed and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very cosy little pub in a pretty area. My wife & I enjoyed a delicious meal which was genuine pub fare. The bed was soft, the beer was cold and the owners were very hospitable. Will return again in the future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Marys, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This Hotel was very clean, but I found it very noisy. St Marys is a beautiful country town on the north east coast of Tasmania. A very pretty part of Tasmania. The locals were very friendly, staff were friendly but the noise from the bar was unbearable.

Everything was functional, but I felt for the price, we should be able to have some peace during the night. There had been a disagreement between locals which made it worse. When you arrive into St Marys, the Pub seems to be the feature of the town and looked very inviting. They just need to prevent the noise getting to the rooms.

Room Tip: I would really take the time to stay elsewhere. Sorry, but this is how I feel. If I had to, the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Myself, my wife and children (3 & 14) stayed here for a weekend and had a great time. The locals were very friendly and welcoming which is quite a contrast from the city. The rooms were reasonably priced and very comfortable. Room had no ensuite but the shared facilities were close and were very clean.

It is a beautiful area with fantastic scenery. Sitting in front of the fireplace having a drink was very relaxing. The hosts seems very nice. Meals were good too.

The only negative is the time went too quickly and we were back to the city too soon :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

Customer service was appaling. Incredibly noisy room above the bar. Able to hear people on the ground floor playing pool, when I requested a different room was asked to pay an extra $20

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St.Marys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St.Marys Hotel

Address: 48 Main Street, St Marys, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Marys
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your St.Marys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St.Marys Hotel Tasmania/St Marys, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St.Marys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.