We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tidal Waters Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tidal Waters Resort to your Saves list
Tidal Waters Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

this place is comfortable and the rooms are big, well-furnished and clean. it's got a lovely view of georges bay and the restaurant serves great food. the staff are very amicable. it would be a great place to have a conference.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    75
    37
    21
See reviews for
32
116
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

This hotel has an amazing location over-looking the bay, it's a great place to stop and have a evening drink on the deck but the accommodation fails to measure up to a purported "4.5 stars" from my experiences and i can't say there's much value for money staying here.

The room was a nice size, but for a reasonably new building the fittings and painting already looked dated (creamy yellow and salmon!). They shouldn't have bothered with walls between rooms, i heard every word spoken by our neighbours clearly and every foot step taken in the hall. The building is on stumps and no attempt to reduce the noise seems to have been made.
The room wasn't cleaned that well during our stay, they left dirty cups, and the bathroom was not cleaned adequately.
While the staff were very friendly we had a 2 hour wait for a main meal that eventually turned up at 9:15pm though the restaurant was only 25% full.

If this hotel had sold itself as a 3 star place and charged 3 star prices i would probably not have had grounds for complaint. It feels they're cutting corners to reduce costs (not enough resturant staff, garden was full of weeds and bathroom was not restocked during our stay).

If i was to return to St Helens again i would hire a holiday house that would be cheaper and more peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

Stayed at Tidal Waters for 1 night but were quite disappointed.The bed was very comfy and the view was pleasant but there was no atmosphere at all at the hotel/resort.The rooms could have been beautifully decorated but were old fashioned and didn't even have a small table to eat on.The TV was small and in an old fashioned cabinet.We weren't game to try the restaurant so ate out.I felt it was too expensive for what you got.Having said all that we had a good night sleep,the bed was huge and very comfy.Think there is limited accommodation in St Helens so may recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We recently stayed at the Tidal Waters Resort on a package deal including a 3 course dinner for 2 and full breakfast in the resort's "restaurant". Along with a number of other guests, including couples staying on the same package, we were very disappointed by the dire service in the restaurant (more big dining room, lacking any atmosphere). There seems to be a new manager who appears to have no idea of how to organise/manage. It was very disorganised and very undertaffed with obviously inexperienced staff. You had to feel sorry for the junior staff, for enduring the many complaints they were getting. After having to seek someone out to order our meal, we waited well over an hour for our meal. One chap complained of waiting an hour for his wine order...still waiting after he had his entree he ended up going to the bar and getting it himself. By the time we got to order desert we were informed that they had run out of a number of them and only had 2 options available. The food was hit and miss, some of it very nice and some very ordinary. The manager's response to complaints from other guests was a joke...she was totally disinterested. Breakfast the next morning was a similar experience. While breakfast was scheduled to go until 9.30am The buffet had run out of all hot food and lots of other things (e.g bread, tea cups) by 9.00am, though they did say that you could order something from the menu if you wanted it.

I would definitely recommend not taking a package deal here but looking elsewhere to eat. Pity help anyone who expected a romantic package deal at this place. (There is a great restaurant a 10 minute drive away at Binalong Bay called Angara).

The rooms were otherwise pleasant enough. Large in size and clean but fairly basic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed one night at Tidal Waters in a standard room with a view of the car park, which suited us as we weren't bothered about having a view of the water for such a short stay. The room was quite large and had two queen size beds but no table suitable to sit at to eat meals. We didn't go to the restaurant at the resort and chose to have takeaway for dinner. We took it back to our room and had to eat this and breakfast leaning over the coffee table. There was a writing desk but this didn't seem appropriate.

There was plenty of car parking but not close to our room so it was quite a way to carry our luggage. A trolley would have been useful for guests.

The fan in the bathroom was very noisy and the hairdryer was very difficult to use as it hadn't been attached to the wall. There was only a small shelf for toiletries etc near the basin and the tissue box was almost empty with no new box supplied.

We had a good nights sleep but felt there were a few things that would have improved our stay, especially for $160 a night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We stayed for 1 night whilst making our way down the east coast.

Generally the room and facilites were the standard you'd expect in a large hotel, nothing out of the ordinary.

I'd have to say the most disappointing aspects of our short stay related to the atmosphere (subjective view) and the speed of service. We ate in the bar/restaurant for dinner where there seemed to be only 1 person covering the bar, although often nobody was behind it. We decided to eat in the bar area (same menu) as there we a few others people in there, other option was to be the only couple sitting in a vast restaurant area, I guess it would seat 100+! You also placed your dinner order at the bar, they also do a take-away food service from the bar. It was probably the most silent bar/food area we'd encountered on our trip, even some background music would have helped. Probably around no more than a dozen people in there at any one time.

The food took longer than average to arrive and was just about ok, make sure you order drinks when you get a chance as no offer was made for more drinks, just a quick visit to clear plates when someone appeared.

Breakfast was kind of similar. The breakfast buffet was very limited, honestly speaking it was the worst we encountered anywhere during our stay in Tasmania.

On balance, I couldn't fault the room and in-room facilities - they were clean and all in a good state. However, it just wasn't an enjoyable experience once you ventured outside of the room which is a shame given its great waterfront location. For AUD$190 a night I was left feeling very short-changed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

I need to preface this review by saying that our rooms were acceptable and the reception staff helpful. However, our stay was tainted by an extremely bad experience in the restaurant at Tidal Waters. It started with a mussel (one of four) in a seafood dish that had been sent out closed, not even a little open but completely shut. We sent this back to the chef and a young waiter promptly came back to us and was extremely apologetic because they could not replace the mussel as the seafood is precisely portioned for each serve. Fine we say, we would like some bread in lieu to mop up the sauce. The waiter agreed to this and we thought that was the end of our little issue. Well, approximately 20 minutes later we had not received our bread (the restaurant was not busy) so my mother went to speak to a woman named Diane. (This was after being blatantly ignored by one waiter who looked in my direction at my raised hand and then continued walking). This woman was rude and condescending stating that, "for those of us who have eaten mussels all our lives we know that they are fine when they are closed. It is a common myth, you should visit the CSIRO website" She even told my mother it was the freshest one and that she should have opened it herself at the table (this was after she was asked why the other three had opened..did this mean they weren't fresh? Also, I was wondering how exactly we were expected to open it). I have visited the CSIRO website and cannot find such a fact but perhaps I am wrong if anyone wants to correct me. I just cannot stand being lied to. So that was our experience, hope yours will be better.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tidal Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Waters Resort

Address: 1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tidal Waters Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tidal Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Waters Hotel St Helens
Tidal Waters Resort St Helens, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidal Waters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.