We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much more than a very basic motel room - and a pricey one at that!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tidal Waters Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tidal Waters Resort to your Saves list
Tidal Waters Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't expect much more than a very basic motel room - and a pricey one at that!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

In consensus with most other reviews - one of the pricier rooms on our tassie trip which would have been fine except for the fact it was the worst equipped - the bathroom needed updating, only very basic facilities - ie - a kettle, and a long walk from the carpark with our luggage. Good views - but we ate both breakfast and dinner elsewhere based on the prices and previous reviews. Would try accommodation at Binalong Bay next time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    83
    41
    25
See reviews for
35
137
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

From the friendly, helpful staff in the impressive lobby, to the wonderful king rooms with fabulous, restful, views of Georges Bay; Lovely open log fires; a short stroll to wander through the town of St. Helens and an absolutely incredible meal at the restaurant within Tidal Waters Resort! Every one of the Staff that we met were so friendly and helpful and definitely made our dining experience one that we want to have again. We can't wait to go back. An absolute whole total package of relaxation.

Room Tip: phone the resort direct to get a price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

In spite of the beautiful beaches and lovely walks, there are not many places to stay in St. Helens. The Tidal Waters was all that was available when we booked. Our room was comfortable although not especially well decorated. It is the general environment of the hotel which is the problem. It looks run down from the gardens to the lobby. There were a couple of piles of rubbish in the parking lot. Food trays in the hallways from finished meals were left untouched for well over a day. I asked about the gardens and was told they wanted it to look "natural". The hotel is badly understaffed. The dining room was busy and the food was OK, but tables were left dirty and chairs were never replaced even when the table was finally cleaned. One reviewer remarked that the hotel looked like it was in receivership. It is a very good way to put it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This was the most expensive place we stayed on our recent trip to Tassie. We had a spa room with a water view. I was really surprised how dated the furnishings were, and the fact that the tv was a small older type. We were on the bottom floor, and we heard every footstep from the room above. In fact people walking down the hall made the floors creak.
We ate dinner at the restaurant. The food was ok, and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We were all disappointed with this accommodation. Our rooms faced the carpark, but it was quite a walk from the car park to any entrance for us to unload our luggage. We arrived at 1:00pm but were put in rooms as far from reception as possible. Prices for breakfast and dinner were high, so we went elsewhere. Rooms were very basic. Would not recommend or stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We were booked in for 3 nights but left after 1. It is a lovely location but it is very expensive for very little, value for money is terrible! It is called a resort but not sure why as there were no leisure facilities other than a tiny pool. It is just a hotel room with a lovely view.
Our room was comfortable and clean but the couple we were travelling with advised that their bathroom smelt of urine.
The view from the rooms is beautiful, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location for the bay of fires is great as it is not very far to drive from the hotel.
I would not recommend this "resort" due to cost, it offers very little for your money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Stayed here for just one night but thought the locations was excellent. Lovely views. spacious rooms and good facilities. A very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tidal Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Waters Resort

Address: 1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tidal Waters Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tidal Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Waters Hotel St Helens
Tidal Waters Resort St Helens, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidal Waters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.