We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punj Aab's

Punj Aab's
2 Tasman Highway, St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
0363761773
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in St Helens
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: PUNJ AAB'S gives you the fantastic and relaxing view of setting sun from Georges bay. Come with your family and friends for experience of incredible Indian cuisine.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently dined at Punj Aab's and had a lovely dining experience. We found the service slow and also overheard another table asking where their meals were, although the head waitress was very friendly. We had a lovely table overlooking the water, very romantic. We were looking forward to trying the to die for garlic naan bread, but were disappointed, the serve was very small, a little burnt and overpriced at $4, although it did taste good. The rice serving was also quite small. Our main meals were a good size and nice. beef vindaloo was medium, not hot - but excellent-our favorite dish. Kofta was very nice and beef Korma was ok. Would go back next time in St Helens!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“A good find in St Helen's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ate here on two occasions. The food was freshly prepared and tasty. The service is good too. I can recommend this restaurant. It has the added bonus of being more reasonably priced than others in town and adds variety to dining choices.

The restaurant is open for dinner and take-aways. Parking is available outside or on the road down below.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, beautiful meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have been to Punj Aab's on 3 occasions now the last time 26th Dec 13. The food is always is always nice fresh and hot. The staff and friendly and go out of their way to make you happy. I have have dined in the Restaurant and had Take away, the service was excellent every time.
I will certainly be having dinner there when I go back to visit my dad in February.
Keep up the good service :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum, Yum, Yum!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This would be the best curry experience I have had, tried 3 seperate dishes and every one of them was amazing along with fabulous naan bread. I will definitely be back, it iwill be worth the 2 hour trip to dine again. Yum, Yum, YUM!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious meal at Punj Aabs on our recent trip to Tassie. Coming from Sydney we are often spoilt for choice but I can say this is some of the best Indian we have ever had! The couple have put in a lot of effort to bring their taste of home to this lovely seaside town. We can highly recommend it to anyone looking to eat out in town,especially the lamb biryani!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punj Aab's also viewed

St Helens, Tasmania
St Helens, Tasmania
 
St Helens, Tasmania
 

Been to Punj Aab's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punj Aab's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.