We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Helens Big4 Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Helens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Helens Big4 Caravan Park
Save
You added St. Helens Big4 Caravan Park to your Saves list
2 Penelope Street, St Helens, Tasmania 7216 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Friendly service at the office on arrival and accommodated on a quite bit of grass for our motorhome, which was great. You'll pay a little more than the other caravan park up the road but you can walk to town. Just be sure you pack up and leave by 10am, otherwise you'll get a knock at the door from the lawn mower man reminding you of the fact. Like we did at a few minutes past 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at the big4 over the australia day weekend on a powered camping site which included a tap for water, it was fairly busy as you'd expect on a long weekend. Found it to be a great little caravan park for camping with kids, even as young as ours are. The camp kitchen is fantastic, everything you could want is in there, including a large flat screen tv! Toilets were ok considering the amount of traffic they were getting. The playground is good, the jumping pillow is fantastic for the kids, however a lot of big 'kids' can't seem to read the warnings on it about flips etc. The games room only really had expensive coin operated games, but we weren't there for that anyhow.
Loved that they have a family bathroom where you can bath the the kids, only thing that was strange is that there is no baby change facitlities in the whole park. Noise wasn't much of a problem as there is a noise policy which was loosely enforced as well. All in all a great place for camping with kids, will stay there again :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Was meant to be a 1 night drop in to enjoy a hot shower, ended up staying 3. Excellent customer service, friendly owners and staff. Spotless amenities, great camp kitchen and laundry. Lots of fun for the kids. Will definately return. Thanks

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have stayed in caravan park cabins before, but this was like going backwards many years.
Our "standard" cabin was little more than a building site shed from the 1980s with a bay window and a coat of paint over the plywood wall panelling inside.
Packed in a row like sardines, our cabin was no more than 2 metres from side and rear neighbours. The only break in the spacing of the cabins is the car parking space.
At over $210 a night for a family of 4 ( when other motels and B&Bs in town were advertising $70 a double room) it does NOT constitute any sort of value accommodation.
I could go into detail about the poor layout, broken latch on bathroom door etc but to summarise: i dont think this cabin could possibly have been built, or fitted out, with any cheaper materials. We will probably give the Big4 chain a miss after this stay.

Room Tip: Be aware standard cabins are very very basic. I hate to think what "basic "gets you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Having camped without hot water or laundry facilities big 4 St. Helens was a welcome relief. We wouldn't normally choose a big 4 but we needed to wash our clothes and ourselves! We probably wouldn't use a big 4 again unless we really had to. There's the noise factor, the overused toilets which were not clean at all (maybe they should be separated into men's and women's and not shared). The people were friendly and everyone's happy because they're on their holidays but its just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only a night on our trip around Tassie, but really appreciated the cleanliness of the one bedroom cabin we stayed in. It also had all the things you need for self catering - complete place-settings for four as the sofa bed in the lounge meant another couple/kids could also stay. All cooking utensils gas stove, microwave, pans, etc. Everything worked well. The only downside may be for some is that the jumping pillow was right opposite and it was a real attraction for very noisy kids. Didn't worry us as that is what kids do, and it was shut down by park management at 8.30pm to much disappointment, but if you're delicate get a cabin on the next street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed for 1 night here in a family cabin after arriving on The Spirit from Melbourne. The room was clean and comfortable. It wasn't terribly modern, but it wasn't too outdated either. It was pretty simple, but for a single night it was a great stay and great value. Check-in and check-out was easy and service with a simple was welcoming. The park is a little out of the main strip of St. Helens - about 2 minutes drive - but for us this wasn't too much of an issue. A nice place to stay if you are planning on heading to places like bay of fires (north), or the Freycinet (south). Note: My wife and I had no phone reception (Vodafone) while in St. Helens.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Helens Big4 Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Helens Big4 Caravan Park

Address: 2 Penelope Street, St Helens, Tasmania 7216 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
St. Helens Big4 Caravan Park St Helens, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Helens Big4 Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.