We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great value. Highly recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tall Timbers Tasmania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tall Timbers Tasmania to your Saves list
Tall Timbers Tasmania
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 / 15 Scotchtown Road, Smithton, Tasmania 7330, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
1 review
“Really great value. Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night just after Xmas. Really clean. Friendly staff. New bathrooms. Very spacious. You'll love it. If you eat at the bistro, anything from the tasmanian grill will slice through like butter. It's proper grass fed, organic beef, and they cook it to perfection.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi Miles,

Thanks for the review of your stay with us just after Christmas. Glad you enjoyed the service from staff and we appreciate your feedback on cleanliness and bathroom renovations. Lovely to hear your comments and positive feedback on the accommodation and bistro especially with our fine produce offered here on the North West tip of Tasmania.

Safe travels in the future and thanks again for taking the time to post this review

Kind Regards

Sophie
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
30
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wentworthville, NSW
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed one night whilst on a bus tour, it was the nicest accommodation we stayed at throughout the tour. The 'log cabins' are all named I noticed, mine was 'Dorrel' which doesn't mean much in the scheme of things, but added a nice touch. The cabins are quite large, most comfy king-size bed & pillows. Very clean, lovely wooden decor, and furniture, even the blinds. All the amenities you expect and I had the best night's sleep. I had a chance to explore the grounds, which are extensive, including duck pond - loved it. Lots of ducks. A white duck was nesting under my veranda in the shrubbery. There is also a heated indoor pool & gym. The dining area (all lovely wooden decor again) & bar was quite large and the 3 course meal that was prepared for the bus tour, was very nice. I have no complaints at all about this establishment and recommend it for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the duck pond, then you have the view of the pond, which is fairly large
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here recently on a family holiday that included 2 people that needed easy/disabled access. The 2 bedroom villa/cabin we had overlooked the small lagoon and was far enough away from the main building to feel private and quiet.

Good : front desk staff was friendly, professional and helpful with advice on what to do in the area and about the facilities. Cabin was spotlessly clean with new modern kitchen, and the furnishings were in excellent condition. The view from the deck was gorgeous. Had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent and the staff friendly, polite and professional.

Bad : the restaurant was very loud and felt a little crowded and the service was a little hurried as there was a tour group there. Not necessarily a bad thing just an observation.

I would definitely recommend staying here and I would happily come back again only for a few days instead of just one night.

Room Tip: ask for the 2 bed new villa/cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the lakeside apartments. The view was beautiful and we instantly felt relaxed. The rooms are quite modern, large and clean. It was wonderful watching the ducks and wildlife wandering around just under our deck, and so peaceful.
Had one of the best night's sleep in Tassie! The only downside was the meals in the restaurant. Not quite the quality we were expecting but the staff were helpful and very friendly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed as locals with the service and food. We were offered drinks once throughout our dinner dining. The food was very average and cost a fortune. A steak that you pay $40 for should be cooked to perfection- not well over cooked! Overall a disappointing night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Tazzytiger,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As North West locals you are certainly aware of the top quality produce the region offers and it is disappointing your evening was marred with this experience.

The Tall Timbers experience strives to offer quality food and service to all guests and patrons at the bistro. I am sorry to hear that your drinks wait staff were not attentive to your table and please be assured I have spoken to the suitable people about this to ensure this is dealt with.

In regards to your steak it is inadequate that your meal was not served how you had ordered it. I would hope that you made a suitable complaint about your meal at the time whilst here at Tall Timbers and our staff were able to rectify the situation.

Our complaints policy is that we deal with issues such as this as soon as they arise and unless we are aware of what is happening we are unable to resolve such issues. Once again thanks for your review.

Regards
Sophie
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

we only stayed one night as we were touring around Tassie but it was one of the best our cabin was clean and comfortable plenty of room. the surroundings were beautiful unfortunently it was raining so our exploring was limited but we were greatful for the restaurant as we didn't have to go out in the weather the food & wines were great and the staff had a lot of local knowledge so it helped us in the planning of the rest of the trip. We went a little out of our way to stay there but it was well worth it and would recommend it as a must if your travelling that way

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom lakeside apartment. We found the accommodation to be clean and very comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped and even has a dishwasher. There is a bottle shop at the entrance and there is also a restaurant on site (very handy if you want to have a drink and not drive).
Our only negative comment was the water. It was brown in colour and looked like it had dirt in it. While I understand that this is not the resorts problem, it would have been nice to have a note in the information booklet about the water to confirm that it is ok to drink and to explain why the water is the way it is. I boiled all of our drinking water just in case!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi KDCBA,

Thanks for the review! It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed the Lakeside Accommodation during your visit and I note you mentioned the amenities and offerings these rooms have. It does make the stay enjoyable for families, travelling couples or longer term travellers/ corporates. I hope you also made use of the restaurant facilities or cooking facilities in your room whilst staying with us.

In regards to your negative comment about the water it is disappointing to hear this and we appreciate your feedback. I would like to assure all visitors that this was checked once the guest had informed us. The room had no issue with the colour of the water and we concluded it may have been a child in the bathroom with dirty feet that may have led to this issue arising. The water quality at Tall Timbers is safe to drink and this is not an issue we have ever had previously. Once again it is disappointing to hear this impacted on your stay but glad all other facilities were enjoyed during your visit.

We appreciate the feedback and thank you for making our staff aware of the situation prior to your departure so we could ensure this was dealt with immediately.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Sophie
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tall Timbers Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timbers Tasmania

Address: 5 / 15 Scotchtown Road, Smithton, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Smithton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tall Timbers Tasmania 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star accommodation set in a rural landscape in Smithton, offering motel suite style accommodation to self contained luxury apartments. 2 function rooms available for conferences, weddings or conventions. Fully guided tours to Tarkine wilderness on request, or helicopter scenic tours can be arranged dependent on weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tall Timbers Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timbers Hotel
Tall Timbers Tasmania Smithton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tall Timbers Tasmania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.