We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Ridge Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Ridge Retreat to your Saves list
Silver Ridge Retreat
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   46 Rysavy Road, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Evening Wildlife Walk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My family only stayed one night on our way back south from Cradle Mountain, but we found it the most amazing scenery - looking out of the kitchen and bathroom to the beautiful Mt Roland. We had a 2 bedroom cottage and found it very spacious. The fire place kept us toasty warm all night. John was very hospitable as our host. I would definitely go back if I return to Tasmania. It's in beautiful country and has Sheffield close by for any services you require. Not sure about any laundry services as we didn't need them the night we stayed there. We didn't get a chance to use the heated pool either as we were time-poor. Lovely comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We used it as a base for the Walls of Jerusalem walk (you'll still need to get up early). The cabin was very comfortable although some things were a little "mean" like the size of cups and glasses and the size of the lounge, There was also no oven. We had a view of Mt Roland from the spa, which was a luxury. There's an inside pool - the pool room was quite hot, steamy and uncomfortable to be in when it's hot so we waited until the late afternoon to use it (nice after a walk). The "rainforest walk" near the property is a bit of a joke, but nice to get a good view of the property and surrounding mountains (take your camera). We also found that we needed to keep the curtains closed in the afternoon as the sun blasts in the front and there is no air-con or fans. It's not far from Sheffield (about 10 k's), which is an attractive service town. Overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin up the back which is highest and closest to Mt Rowland
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My family has stayed in Silver Ridge Retreat last week for 1 night. It was too rush for us to enjoy this accomodation. John is a very nice and heartful host. He brought us to look around the Retreat at night, spotlight tour, to see & to feed animals, like Wallabies, Possoms, his horses,,,,,, & the stary sky. It was a great experience. In the morning, I went out from my cabin, woooooowooooo, the surrounding scene is so beautiful & so quiet. Everywhere is a picture. Mt Roland, horse field, farm, duckling pool ....... regardless long-shot or close-shot. During that time, I thought myself chose the right accomodation but stayed too short for 1 night. If I go to Tas again, I will stay there again and shall be longer time.
I would like to give a credit to this Retreat and introduce it as a base to those who transit to Mt Cradle. BTW, it is worthy of money.
The only -ve to me was the lights inside the cabin were a bit dim.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed here whilst travelling Tasmania, especially used this accommodation for our base camp to Cradle Mountain. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with the children and found the farm environment to be very relaxing and the views were something special especially at the base of Mt Roland. The cabins themselves were quite old but had a lovely pot belly fire place to warm up at night.
The downfall would have been all the bedding that seemed to be really old with the pillows flat and old and the sheets thin and the towels hard and scratchy. When we entered the cottage the sink was dirty and needed to be cleaned before our arrival.
Overall a bit of TLC on these points would of helped our stay to be alot more comfortable, but the staff were friendly and the views made up for the ageing bedding problems.

Room Tip: These cabins were about a 1 hour drive to Cradle Mountain, so can be a bit of a drive with a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We spent 2 nights in 2 bedroom spa cottage. We chose the property as a base for a visit to Cradle Mountain National Park. Silver Ridge Retreat is at the foot of Mount Roland with perfect mountain views. The property itself provides opportunities for rainforest walks and can be used as a base for more strenuous mountain hikes. Our cottage was comfortable, clean and reasonably well appointed. We were self catering, so the kitchen was a bit limited - although adequate for our purposes. The closest town is Sheffield - about a 10 - 15 minute drive - so you need to be organised and get provisions before you arrive at the property. There are limited dining options in Sheffield - particularly on public holidays.
The owners of the property were very helpful and informative and Cradle Mountain National Park is less than an hour's easy drive away. After a day hiking through the National Park, it was nice to return to Silver Ridge for a swim in the indoor pool and a relaxing spa with views of Mount Roland.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed in the standard room which was more than enough for 2 adults and a 4 yo kid. The farm is very big and beautifully maintained. You get what you see in their website. Host is super friendly and brought us around the farm during day and night. Good location, near town and Cradle Mt. Only thing lacking is no sheep in the farm. Strongly recommend this place for a relax stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Ridge Retreat

Address: 46 Rysavy Road, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Ridge Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay 2 nights, there's so much to do. Offering an indoor heated swimming pool, onsite trout fishing, a silver mine to explore and quad biking adventures, Silver Ridge Retreat is set alongside Sheffield's Mt Roland. All accommodation offer lovely views of the mountains. Guests can go hiking on one of the many walking trails surrounding the retreat, including the 7 hour Mt Roland Summit Track. There are evening native wildlife tours (subject to weather) to see brush tail possums, wallabies, owls and platypus. Accommodation options include cottages, private suites and dormitory rooms. Most accommodation offers cooking facilities and some feature a spa bath. All accommodation has tea/coffee making facilities. Sheffield Silver Ridge Retreat is 10 minutes' drive from restaurants and shops in Sheffield. It is 15 minutes' drive from Tasmazia, the world's largest maze and 35 minutes drive from Cradle Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Silver Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Ridge Retreat Sheffield, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Ridge Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.