We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Willow Lodge to your Saves list
Willow Lodge
119 Kings Street | (Tasman Highway), Scottsdale, Tasmania 7260, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Scottsdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

What more could I say. The hosts (Dean and Ross) were simply wonderful. Made us feel like we were back home. The place was gorgeous. Loved the rooms, kept in great condition, and one could tell the hosts put in lots of effort making this place cosy. Breakfast was a sure not to muss out event. You will know what I mean when you try it, loved the settings and the food itself, bacon and eggs? Divine. Too bad we only found out Dean could make a wonderful dinner after we've arrived. At last the pets around the garden, like the bunnies and chicks around, just love it. Would recommend anyone to stay there and feel the whole experience themselves.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at Willow Lodge for one night and my only complaint is that we didn't stay longer!! The house is gorgeous, being lovingly restored to its glory days, set in lovely gardens with a glorious backdrop. Dinner and breakfast were yummy served in the beautiful dining room complete with music. Our room was elegantly decorated, with a wonderful fire and all conveniences. Finally, Dean and Ross are great hosts - friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A must to stay in Scottsdale the garden is absolutely divine, The room very comfortable and
the breakfast yummy. But please if you stay order dinner the best food in all of Tasmania I
had the pork belly melted in the mouth, my partner had the steak and raved about it.
to say nothing of the delicious entrees.

Mr Magoo and Bella were lovely dogs and very well behaved.

Room Tip: the back bedroom as a lounge area but the garden room has a bigger ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Willow Lodge is an lovely house converted into a boutique bed and breakfast ( although the hosts Ross and Dean will cook up a fabulous dinner on request). We found the setting beautiful; a gorgeous garden, surrounded by green fields, complete with chickens, including frizzles. Ross and Dean were welcoming and after 3 days we felt as if we were saying goodbye to friends, Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

read the great reviews before booking was not disappointed, Dean & Ross Were Excellent hosts, This is how a B&b Should Be run attention to detail Nothing was too much trouble . Great room , garden and genuine hosptality

Room Tip: can<t go wrong either way
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Willow Lodge within the last couple of days when my partner had organised the stay as a surprise night away.

We had stayed in the lovely garden view room. It was a reasonable size room, clean with a very comfortable bed and wonderful furnishings and two very comfortable armchairs. This room doesn't have a fire but the heater was fine once it was going to keep the room warm. TV and DVD player were found to be easy to use. There is an large ensuite with the room and the towels were large and luxurious. Savoury nibbles were available in the room and later a small plate of biscuits were delivered.

Dinner is available with a choice of one, two or three courses at a reasonable price, however, we chose to go for for a meal. Breakfast was included in the cost and was quite plentiful. Cereal, fresh fruit, toast, plus eggs, bacon, sausage, mushroom, tomato and spinach.

The historic home is an ongoing work in progress...the guest rooms and dining room have been completed, however, the work in progress is quiet work and didn't distract from our comfort whatsoever, neither did the evidence of the work in progress.

I read the previous reviews prior to writing this, and I was surprised to read the review written by Dennis. One of the hosts did assist in serving breakfast in his dressing gown and we had thought nothing of it. I would imagine if we were to stay more than a night, that we would have felt comfortable enough not to feel that we need to be showered and dressed for breakfast, and would have appeared in our dressing gowns too.

We will be back and next time we'll be booking the Mountain view room and we will definitely be staying in for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Found this little place on tripadvisor and it came with some good reviews. Now I am certainly happy with the apparent willingness of the owners to be of service, and I don't mean to be politically incorrected, but being called 'darling' by another male, made me feel a little uncomfortable. The accommodation itself is clean and relatively tidy, but could really do with a little bit more TLC to bring it up to standard. Mind you, comparatively to other b&b's, it is well priced. I had a little trouble getting the owners to actually get the TV to work and ended up doing it myself, and having paid just a little extra to have the fireplace suite, was a little frustrated at the effort made to get the fireplace going for us on the second night, ended up having to sort that out myself too. The garden has plenty of potential too, but while we where there, needed some "catch up" work done to prepare it for spring. There was a bit of clutter that was readily visible as we exited our room, they really should have made a bit more of an effort to keep this area more discreet. also felt somewhat uncomfortable being served breakfast by our hosts while still in their dressing gowns. Bathroom was tiny and could do with an upgrade too. Lots of little things that needed attention. However, the bed was super comfortable! This place has potential, but at the moment, could do with a little work though.

Room Tip: Fireplace suite is worth the little extra as it has much more room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Lodge

Address: 119 Kings Street | (Tasman Highway), Scottsdale, Tasmania 7260, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Willowlodge* Is a stately, classic, Victorian Austrailian homestead..Built,1880's for Tucker family,Tuckers Corner(later renamed Scottsdale)Set on 2 acres of botanical standard, private, formal gardens, ponds and pathways..Situated on the edge of the township, set amongst a patchwork quilt of farmland, with mountain vistas...Enjoy a la carte cuisine, prepared fresh by our renounded chef, in the formal, Dining room served on fine bone china, silverware & chrystal,menus are pre arranged for your liking...The Garden View room: A large bay window,brocade, wingback, chairs, Queen bed,fine linens,elc blanqets,lge flatscreen,DVD,ensuite The Suite:Pillowtop Queen bed,elc blanquet,sumptuious furnishings, ensuite, priv sitting room, fireplaces,lge flatscreen,DVD, fridge, tea&coffee,fruit, snacks on arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Willow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Lodge Scottsdale, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.