We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience of the weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eureka Farm

Eureka Farm
89 Upper Scamander Road, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
61363725500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Scamander
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We grow berries, stone fruits apples and pears. We are open most days (the exception is Christmas Day). With our fruits we also make prize winning jams, sauces and chutneys which we sell at the farm. But the best reason to come is to try our delicious desserts and Tasmania's best ice-cream which is made on the premises using our own fruit. WiFi available in our cafe. Farm walks.
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Best experience of the weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were keen for that farm experience we all fantasise about. Where you roll up to that nondescript place by the side of the road and discover all sorts of yummy local baked goods and the beaming farmer and his wife.

Hooray and as it turns out, unusually (in particular for this area which we ultimately named "the tourism area with no service"), we actually found this in this remote part of Tassie. The hosts, Ann and Denis are well travelled and very interesting and have put a huge effort into developing their farm and their offerings.

The farm has a large array of fruit - beautiful raspberries, strawberries, crisp apples, plums and more.They have a vast selection of james and butters including some more exotic offerings, such as their quince butter, which was divine.

We had cakes, scones and yummy homemade ice-cream. We we so in love with the place we went back for seconds and then also bought takeaway, In fact, I'm now sitting in bed with my warm fruit pie writing this. Would have to be the best fruit pie I've had in years! Lots of different summer fruits encased in a moist buttery shortbread crust. Heaven...

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
1 review
“Good coffee, yummy food & lovely service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We came for coffee, stayed for breaky & left with an array of beautiful fresh berries, jams & chutneys! It's the best coffee in town & we will be back to try some of the house made ice cream & deserts!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great suprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We popped in for a late breakfast as we were too late for the hotel and nothing else in scamander was open. The staff were wonderful especially with the kids and food and coffee were great. We even walked around the farm and were invited in to watch the jam being bottled. A lovely morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious raspberries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Lovely fruit to take away, and a fabulous crepe that we ate there. Raspberries and cherries were really high quality.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice berries but staff need a kick up the bum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Hopefully this was a one off as every other reviewer seems to have had a positive experience. Maybe the staff are over working on Boxing Day as the service given to us was atrocious - my wife was completely ignored while waiting to be served then told to move her car when someone finally decided to put down a cleaning cloth and talk to her. The final straw was when the staff member couldn't add up the total cost and wouldn't believe my wife's addition. We spend quite a bit of time in this area during the year but won't be visiting Eureka Farm again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molly073, Owner at Eureka Farm, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
I am Denis part-owner and I served this lady and therefore I feel responsible that this lady feels she had a unhappy experience whilst visiting our farm. We would like to think that our visitors have a unique and happy experience whilst visiting us.
Not all the events that led to this review do I remember. However I do clearly remember asking if the person who owned the car could move as it was parked dangerously. It certainly wasn't meant to hurt the person's feeling but to warn them that their car could get hit as it was parked in the middle of the road on a blind corner.
As regard the service we do not like to keep people waiting but this can happen sometimes when many people turn up at the same time. We apologise if she thought we were cleaning up rather than serving her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka Farm also viewed

Tasmania, Australia
 

Been to Eureka Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eureka Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.