We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ross Bakery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ross Bakery Inn to your Saves list
Ross Bakery Inn
15 Church Street, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a gem of a BnB! I was greeted warmly by Karl, and shown to my room. I was staying in Kiki's room, named after a Japanese anime film. This wasn't the reason I chose the room, however reading the many guestbooks indicate it is for a lot of people! The room is in an attic, up a steep flight of stairs with an external bathroom, but it was really confortable. There is tea and coffee making facilities, and Karl provided a plate of bakery treats which were lovely. The breakfast the next morning was incredible. Fresh from the oven came a sourdough loaf, croissant and custard tart. Too miuch to eat there and then, the staff provide paper bags to take it away for later. The town of Ross is well worth wandering around for it's quaintness, and all in all I wish I had been able to stay longer. Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gympie, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had two nights at Ross Bakery Inn and found it be nice all round BUT WAIT FOR IT the bakery food was beautiful. A very nice bakery breakfast which you help yourself too, plus what you don't eat in your range of breakfast bakery bread you can take with you for the days outing. Our room did have a small lounge area where you have a small TV, little fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. No microwave or cooking facilities with being a B&B. a good size bedroom which has a comfortable bed. The Ross Bakery Inn is situated in the beautiful old heritage town of Ross and is why this is a very nice heritage accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

There are many positives to a stay at the Ross Bakery Inn.
For a start, the staff are welcoming and the bakery breakfast is great (as well as the coffee it comes with, which thus far is by far the best coffee I've had in Tasmania - I can even compare it to Melbourne coffee). Ross itself is a great place to stay at.
The catch is with the room. Ours was not only tiny, it was fitted with beds that seem to have come from some archeological dig. The accompanying bathroom did not improve things, and the shower felt like the classic English type (think zero water pressure).
Clearly, the venue aims at that classic old feeling. If that is your thing then go and enjoy it; personally, I think there are very good reasons why human civilisation moved towards comfortable beds and positive water pressures.
I'd be willing to turn a blind eye to it all if I wasn't charged extortion school holiday rates on top of things. As lovely as the breakfast was, my wallet still felt the pain.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatton, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed overnight in the Blue room, It had it's own tiny sitting room. The rooms were clean, compact and most comfortable, fresh milk was provided and also a selection of cakes. The view from the room is very pleasant of the street and the fields beyond and the windows open. The bed was comfortable and had an electric blanket. In the morning we went down to breakfast which was provided and what a treat, there were the usual cereals, juices and bread to toast but then out came the treat, a bread tray to each table straight from the oven and what you couldn't eat you were given a bag to take it away in. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: If you like extra space or one of you goes to bed earlier than the other ask for the Blue room as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Not a lot of frills, but homely, comfortable and clean. Ross was a good 'halfway stop' on the Midlands Highway.

Arrived early enough to have a good look around the very pretty town of Ross. The Bakery
was welcoming, quaint and with a lot of history. The old oven is amazing.

The next morning the breakfast downstairs was amazing. Cereals, croissants, pastries, toast,
a cob loaf, juice, yoghurt, etc. etc., and paper bags to take what we couldn't eat, away with us.

Very pleasant stay. Thank you Dot and Chris.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arrived in Ross weary from travelling when we inquired about Kirsty's Cottage for our overnight stay. Karl the Bakery chef and owner gave us a friendly welcome and showed us the accommodation. We were given some yummy slices from the bakery and told our breakfast was included in the cafe. We enjoyed a great nights sleep in the cottage (over 100 years old), then wandered across the road to the bakery for freshly baked bread, croissants, pastries, cereals, tea and toast and jam! We were given a bag to take away bakery treats we couldn't manage to eat! Would recommend the pies as week which we warmed for dinner in the cottage oven.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Friendly welcome and pastries on arrival, we stayed in the very comfortable Blue Room complete with small sitting area. Breakfast included the largest croissants, pastries and bread all straight from the historic wood fired brick oven. Great little village and well worth leaving the highway for a visit, coffee break or overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ross Bakery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Bakery Inn

Address: 15 Church Street, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Ross Bakery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Bakery Inn Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross Bakery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.