We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and leisured atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ross Bakery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ross Bakery Inn to your Saves list
Ross Bakery Inn
15 Church Street, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and leisured atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were attracted to come because it was the background of the famous Japanese cartoon and we were not disappointed. We did not live in the inn but the bakery itself is a wonderful place to visit. The food is great, the staff are friendly and efficient and their 17th or 18th century maids' look adds special charm to the place. We sat outside under a big tree, feeling so leisured and peaceful. Other than Vanilla Slice, Scallop Pie is another food worth trying.

However, sad to say that the whole property is on sale. Mind you check if there is any change before you go.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend trip to Tassie a few years ago, but this time we were just passing through, so we stopped at the bakery with the kids, who happened to be very indecisive on this occasion! The staff were very patient with them, and the service was great. I was a little cynical of their claim to have the "World's Greatest Vanilla Slice", but it did look great, so I gave it a go and wasn't disappointed... I can't confirm that it's the world's greatest, but I look forward to seeking a better one!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We have just checked out & we LOVED it. The cottage has a very 'homely' feel and contained everything that we needed. We loved the huge kitchen table!

I am one of those people who reads reviews but rarely writes them! In this instance I feel I have to as after reading the last cottage review, I nearly didn;t bother staying here. I am very glad that we went ahead and stayed. The price was definately worth it. We paid under $200 for four of us.
The place was clean, lights were fine, the couch comfortable, the lounge room big enough for all of us, the lawn was mowed, the ivy has taken over the side garden a bit,but that didn't bother us. We also didn't mind the decor, we found it homely and very comfortable. Its an old cottage, not a standard modern building! As for having to collect our breaky, it is a minutes walk and we got to see it cooking! Can't get any fresher than that. I am also certain that if required one if the staff would have delivered it for us.....they were very friendly and helpful

Now to my review!
We were checked in at the bakery by the friendly staff who gave us our milk and a plate of bakery goodies. They then directed us to the cottage. About a minutes walk from the main Inn. We had an enjoyabe evening and slept very comfortably. In the morning we leisurely strolled down the tree lined street to the bakery to collect our much anticipated breakfast basket. Looking through the visitors book, breakfast was nearly always mentioned.
We were not disappointed. It was WONDERFUL. I don;'t know of any other accommodation where you can get croissants, cakes & bread straight out of the oven. We even poked our heads into the oven & saw our loaf baking directly on the bricks. It is a HUGE old woodfired oven. Be sure to take a look.
Ross itself is a lovley historic town with many beautiful sandstone buildings & of course the old bridge with its carvings. There are also quite few antique shops which are definately worth a look.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Ross and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Inn operates as an in-house bed and breakfast plus a small cottage down the road a bit. Booked Kirsty's Cottage for two nights and, based on other Ross Bakery Inn reviews, expected great things. Also, it was quite a bit more expensive than comparable accommodation on the road between Hobart and Launceston.
Quite a few disappointments. First, the living room was much, much smaller than it pretended to be via published photos. The chairs were comfy but the couch was a saggy mess. The cottage was decorated in a very ho hum, ordinary style, part kitsch, part suburban, part junk. The electrics were alarming! The lamp in the living room flashed on and off randomly ALL the time and, it transpired, so did the bedroom touch lamp. Quite scary. The back area verged on unpleasant containing dirty plastic furniture and 3 foot high weeds in abundance. The general feel of the place was a bit grimy and run down and we were glad that we had made plans to eat out both nights.
The breakfast was good BUT we had been told to pick it up at 8.30 the first morning and it was not ready until at least 10 minutes after that. For the price that is charged for the cottage, the breakfast should be delivered (on time).
The good things: Well, the beds were comfortable, the shower was quite adequate, the filtered water was welcome, there was a digital TV with a DVD player, washing machine functioned well and, of course, the cottage location in the centre of the small historic township of Ross is very convenient.
Worth about $100 a night, not the $175 which is being charged.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

food here is well priced and absolutely delicious, kids loved the cakes

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This historic bakery and inn is situated in the main street of Ross. The town of Ross is itself one Tasmania's earliest settlements and maintains that olde world charm with many historic sandstone buildings, ruins of a penal settlement and churches.
The staff in the bakery also run the accommodation side and are very friendly. Pastries on arrival and help yourself to the port and/or sherry by the wood fire in the guest sitting room. Breakfast is continental style and freshly baked warm bread, pastries, croissants and endless tea/coffee.
Don't expect too many mod cons, after all we are talking about a building nearly two hundred years old. However wi-fi is available free of charge to guests and customers spending more than $10 at the bakery.
Management advise NOT to drink water from the tap but have installed freshly filtered water in a separate dispenser for drinking and tea and coffee. Water used in the bakery is also of a very high quality. At the time of writing (1 Sep 2011), the local council advise that a water purifying plant for the Ross and surrounding towns and villages is expected to be up and running by the end of the year.
We stayed in the blue room which was quite suitable for a couple. Bathroom on the small side but adequate for the amount of time spent in this room! Other rooms were vacant on checking in and they were larger and suitable for a small family. All rooms were clean. Stairs to the rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Gorgeous little cozy spot - rustic and old fashioned just like I expected and wanted with this booking. Boyfriend got a bit tired of me swanning about like Elizabeth Bennett (but the setting was perfect for it - do you blame me?).
Ross is a beautiful place and can def spend a day there looking around and doing the historic walks.
Got the biggest baked breakfast plus continental brekky and got doggie bags to take the baked goods away with us (we def needed to!). At night we sat in the living room with a roaring fire and complimentary port and teas. Brilliant!!! Hosts were lovely too. :)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ross Bakery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Bakery Inn

Address: 15 Church Street, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Ross Bakery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Bakery Inn Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross Bakery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.