We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ross Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ross Motel to your Saves list
Ross Motel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   2 High St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 3 Ross B&B and Inns
Collaroy Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean room and quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Ross Motel is situated in a quiet location & within walking distance of the town. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was simple but adequate. The single bed I slept in was a little too narrow & short for me (my feet were overhanging the end of the bed) but was okay for one night's stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Tammy

Thank you for your review of the Ross Motel. We are sorry that the single bed you slept in during your one night stay was not adequate for you. If we had been advised that it might not be long enough we could have moved your group into another Family Unit where there were two bedrooms with queen size beds. We were pleased that apart from this you had a pleasant stay with us. All feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We look forward to making you welcome at some time in the future if you return to the pretty heritage village of Ross. Christina and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Caravan Park and it was really beautiful. It has well maintained facilities and a really beautiful view to the river and the bridge. The owners are very welcoming and have a fabulous selection of wine and beer to buy at the office. They really know how to make the little things count. The town itself is really interesting and beautifully maintained. The pub has a great menu and pool table. Try the damper garlic bread! Ross is definitely a town worth going out of the way for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
What a wonderful review of the Ross Caravan Park - thank you also for such positive feedback on the village of Ross itself . All feedback is helpful and your positive feedback is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you all back at some stage in the future - John and Christina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

At the time of writing this review we've not long arrived at the Ross Motel & Caravan park.
first impressions are a very tidy grassed area (we're travelling in a motorhome) when checking in at reception we given the pass-code for the amenities block & laundry and told the shower costs .40cents,(? -first park we've visited that has this fee) the amenities block is nice and clean with 3 toilets and 2 shower cubicles each- which is ok if there's not too many using the park. there's 5 motorhomes & 1 large caravan here tonight so hope it's not a morning rush to the amenities! all this aside it's a very nice setting - easy to drive around - fairly flat and amenities are central. its quite open so if there's a wind there's no windbreak (trees or fences etc) the famous Ross bridge is very close by - easy couple of minute's walk. Overall a great place to stop over when visiting the great little village of Ross!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your objective review about the Ross Caravan Park. We will pass on your constructive comments regarding the size of the amenities to the owners of the Caravan Park, the Northern Midlands Council. We were pleased that you found everything clean and tidy and enjoyed your stay in the pretty heritage village of Ross. John and Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a beautiful area and place to stay. Ross Motel have thought a little harder to supply/service their customers/guests a little better. As the title of my review says, would definitely stay again!
With the Macquarie River just out the front with plenty of park space for the kids to play its a great spot for all to unwind, relax and enjoy the wonderful picturesque setting in amongst the lovely surroundings of the Tasmanian foothills.

Room Tip: PS. Check the microwave for your cutlery :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so pleased you had a good stay at the Ross Motel and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future. John and Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

a very good place to stop... quite and comfortable.. have stayed four time before.. the thing which is great is the cleanless.. the rooms always look new...and ross is a lovely town to walk round particularly the bridge and church.
also as other people have said at the office you have an amazing selection of wines and beers for sale at good prices ,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are so pleased that you had another great stay at the Ross Motel! It is very pleasing when we get repeat stays from guests as it shows we must be doing something right. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ross Motel! John and Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

After driving for many hours with my elderly mother and grumpy partner it had become dark and I was very tired and recalled that there was a motel down a back street in Ross. How glad I was I decided to pull off the highway and find the Ross Motel! Nicely appointed, warm and cosy and to be able to buy wine at reasonable prices just made my day a whole lot better. I was able to continue the trip home well rested the next day after a great sleep.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We were so pleased we were able to "save" you. Thank you so much for your great review - your kind words are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Christina and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX INLET
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is one motel you must stay at if anywhere near Ross or make a special effort to visit Ross. Genuine friendly owners only too happy to settle in the traveller. On arrival, open the office door and there is a fridge full of fine wines and refreshments at the right price, (I might add, something a few other tourist establishments might take note of) with no need to go fossicking for a relaxing drink in your new found village. Then there's the antique collection to browse before heading off on the walk through the village of Ross for a good dose of nostalgia in this preserved historic village. Be advised, book ahead to stay at this establishment.
Well done John and Christina and thank you for your hospitality.
From John & Rita Sussex Inlet NSW

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
What a wonderful review - it was our pleasure to look after you both and we hope you will visit us again. John and Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Motel

Address: 2 High St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2005, deluxe 4 star riverfront Georgian style motel. All non-smoking ground floor rooms which are regularly upgraded. Walk to all the facilities in the historic village of Ross, Tasmania which includes Ross Riverside Antiques which regularly imports antiques from the UK. Continental breakfast provisions, Austar (cable TV) included in the room rate together with WIFI internet. All rooms have heating, ceiling fans, electric blankets, en-suite bathrooms with walk-in showers, microwave, fridge, electric kettle, crockery & cutlery. Car parking outside door and Guest laundry available. Ross is centrally located 1 hour from Launceston, 1 1/2 hrs from Hobart, 1 hr from East Coast and a great place to base yourself if touring Tasmania - you always come back to a comfortable bed. Walking distance to the famous Ross Bridge (1836) and other historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Motel Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.