We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little villas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ross Motel

Save Saved
You added Ross Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ross Motel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   2 High St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special Offer
Ranked #2 of 3 Ross B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quaint little villas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in a family villa for one night. The motel is tastefully laid out and appealing to the eye. I did think the bathroom could have been cleaner. Rooms were cosy and the heaters did a great job.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMotel, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
As you stayed with us recently we would appreciate it if you could find the time to contact us directly to discuss the issue you raised in your review. In that way we can elicit some important details as cleanliness is extremely important to us. However, we were very pleased you were warm and comfortable during your stay with us. Christina and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

A beautifully presented nearly new motel with very friendly and helpful service, more like a B and B. Room was large and immaculately cleaned, comfy bed, blackout blinds and curtains, big shower, microwave. Continental breakfast supplied in the room to make at your leisure. The motel is on a side road and fronts onto the river and historic bridge, feeding the ducks in the evening whilst walking down to photograph the historic bridge was an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We were not looking for the olde worlde experience, which seems to be the essence of Ross, so this was a great find. A typical-sized motel room, but well laid out, and with very nice decor. Comfortable bed and pillows, good shower, quiet and convenient location. A couple of quick power outages in the evening meant we didn't rely on the electric clock's alarm (we used our mobile phone - too easy). The 'continental breakfast' was a little sparse - a packet of cereal each, a juice each, and 2 slices of toast each. But given the room rate I guess the breakfast was actually a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
299 hotel reviews
Reviews in 310 cities Reviews in 310 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The nicest hotel since we left Hobart. Very nice layout and well kept grounds. It had an alcove with refrigerator, microwave, and a toaster. The room was nicely decorated with nice matching furniture. Amenities and towels were of good quality. Very clean with monitor TV and cable. The location next to the river was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

There is only one word to describe the Ross Motel - Excellent! Driving from Hobart to northern Tasmania this motel offers the traveller all the comforts needed. From it's tasteful room decor to it's well appointed bathroom, to extremely comfortable bed as well as lounge chairs and writing table. In our opinion this motel has it all. Add to this the very friendly and courtious hosts and you have the perfect accomodation for 1 or more nights. Because of its location, the motel is the ideal spot to base a stay to view the highlights of central Tasmania, as well as being a great starting point to head to Cradle Mountain. Ross Motel for us scores a big 10 out of 10 for style, comfort, location and staff friendliness. We highly recommend Ross Motel to anyone travelling through the Tasmanian midlands.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We ended up at this motel quite by accident. We were booked to stay at a highly priced and somewhat overrated B&B for two nights further along the road, but the first night was such a let down (not to mention dirty and uncomfortable) that we finished up leaving after the first night, only to be seeking alternative accommodation late in the afternoon, closer to home. We called up the Ross Motel, and the staff were friendly and helpful, and offered us a very reasonable rate. I wasn't expecting a lot really, we were relieved to have found something easy and I was hoping to get a good night sleep. I was so pleasantly suprised when we arrived! The motel is charming in style, being sympathetic to the Georgian town in which it was built and located right at the river. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, and while they were basic and not overly big, they were above what I expected for the price and there was certainly nothing lacking. My family ran 4 1/2 star accommodation for some years until recently, and I can tell at a glance when a room has been cleaned properly. Our three older children were catered for easily, and the owner was very friendly and welcoming. I was thrilled to note that the bed was very comfortable (after the night before giving me a stiff neck), and I loved that there were lights everywhere in convenient locations, an area where motels can often fall short. The whole experience was pleasant and while our stay was short, I would certainly recommend the motel to anyone wanting serviceable, clean rooms. This is not a fussy B&B or a luxury resort, nor is it a colonial icon - it is simple and small, near new with modern conveniences but does have more charm than the average motel and presents honestly, matching it's advertising.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

This hotel is well situated by a beautiful river, the staff are friendly and helpful and the accommodation is spotless and good value. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The small historic town of Ross is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Motel

Address: 2 High St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2005, deluxe 4 star riverfront Georgian style motel. All non-smoking ground floor rooms which are regularly upgraded. Walk to all the facilities in the historic village of Ross, Tasmania which includes Ross Riverside Antiques which regularly imports antiques from the UK. Continental breakfast provisions, Austar (cable TV) included in the room rate together with WIFI internet. All rooms have heating, ceiling fans, electric blankets, en-suite bathrooms with walk-in showers, microwave, fridge, electric kettle, crockery & cutlery. Car parking outside door and Guest laundry available. Ross is centrally located 1 hour from Launceston, 1 1/2 hrs from Hobart, 1 hr from East Coast and a great place to base yourself if touring Tasmania - you always come back to a comfortable bed. Walking distance to the famous Ross Bridge (1836) and other historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Ross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Motel Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.