We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House to your Saves list
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Gumbowie Drive, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Port Sorell B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Peter and Kathy have a lovely property and are exceptional hosts. The guest rooms are well appointed and if there is additional requirements to what is provided, they are more than happy to accommodate. We had a very early morning to get back on the boat and Peter was happy to cook our 6am breakie.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and there is a guests lounge to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gumbowie, Owner at Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks Neil for your positive review. We were thrilled to serve you when you first arrived, and even happier that you returned to stay your last night before you left Tassie to return home to Brisbane. Looking forward to seeing you again soon and trust you returned home safely, as did your parents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
35
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Sorell, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I had heard about these special dinners at Tranquilles, but I have never gone to. Them until our friends invited us along. It was a Sri-Lankin banquet, cooked by a traditional Sri-Lankin chef called Kamal. WOW what tasty dishes we were introduced to. We tasted some 9 dishes, there was so much food and. It just kept coming. What a treat, thank you Kamal and the owners Peter & Cathy who made everyone feel welcomed and relaxed. I will certainly be going to the next dinner next month. !! And I will be booking in for the cooking as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gumbowie, Manager at Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the banquet Helen. We are hoping that the food we serve at our new restaurant is as good and appealling as this. It is an attempt to respond positively to many of our guests' suggestions to add evening meals to our offerings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully appointed and spacious room! Great spa and very comfy bed. Excellent hosts with great breakfast provisions, from cooked to continental and wonderful home made condiments. We will be back and highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catpet, Owner at Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are continually aiming to improve to ensure our guests get the best service possible and the best value for money. It is great for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we are looking forward to having you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We only spent one short night here but it is a lovely, welcoming place. The room (Shearwater) was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was great - so much fresh, local produce on offer and the hot stuff cooked to order. It was just what we needed before spending a few hours on the Spirit heading back towards Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catpet, Owner at Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We constantly aim to improve the service we provide our guests and enjoy making sure your stay is as pleasant and welcoming as it can possibly be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After a long drive from Bicheno on the east coast it was wonderful to arrive at Tranquilles and be greeted by amicable hosts with a lovely cuppa and shortbreads. We were treated royally from the moment of our arrival to our departure. We took the option of the home cooked dinner. It was a simple roast pork and home grown vegetables, followed with bread and butter custard. Simply delicious and well appreciated after a series of restaurent meals. Also very cost effective! The hosts joined us for tea and coffee and made very pleasant company
The bedroom was not spacious, the queen sized bed was comfortable and we slept very well.
Breakfast offered a full buffet and was ready as you entered the room. The bacon and eggs were from pan to plate.
Their knowledge of Devonport area was beneficial. Breakfast at 7, departure at 7:30, 17 min drive to the Ferry terminal, we were straight on the ferry, and seated by 8:05 for an 8:30 sail.
Whilst located a little out of Port Sorell, Tranquilles is quiet and serene, and the access to the well signed Devonport road, made it the ideal stay.

Room Tip: Book directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catpet, Owner at Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you George and Liz for your Review. We very much enjoyed your company and hope to see you again in Tasmania soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I travel to Devonport on business about every two weeks. I used to stay in a hotel in town but passed Tranquilles one day on the way to Launceston and decided to try it. I now stay there every time and wouldn't go anywhere else. Peter and Cathy are wonderful hosts and the place is so relaxed and peaceful - the ideal place to stay to forget about work. Even their dog Paris welcomes me - nothing better than sitting in front of a log fire on a winter's evening with Paris curled up on your lap. Freshly cooked breakfasts, fresh bread rolls and home-made jams for breakfast - beats boring old hotel breakfasts any time. I'd highly recommend Tranquilles as the ideal base for exploring or working in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catpet, Owner at Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We love having you tay with us and Paris looks forward to his game of ball with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benowa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We only stayed for the one night and yet felt like "old friends" due to the great hospitality provided by Peter and Cathy.

It probably helped that both couples shared a common interest in cruises, dogs and lovely surrounds.

The no fuss approach was most welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The good news for us is that we have 3 trips to Tassie planned for 2014 and know where we will stay already.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catpet, Owner at Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are pleased that you appreciated the benefits of this property. We try on all occasions to make the guests' stay as pleasant as possible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House

Address: 9 Gumbowie Drive, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Sorell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B and Deluxe Guest House offers a unique blend of elegance, indulgence, pampering and relaxation.Our property offers:# three beautifully appointed ensuite bedrooms (two with double spas), # a fully set up kitchen which can cater for large events and functions, as well as provide cooking classes for guests and local residents;# an art gallery and lounge area with log fire plus an inviting conservatory overlooking the walled courtyard. All this is set amongst more than two acres of sweeping romantic gardens.Port Sorell in north-west Tasmania is within an easy 15 minute drive of Devonport, the Spirit of Tasmania terminal or the Devonport airport, and just over an hour from Launceston. This area is renowned for its golden beaches, many and varied walking tracks, magnificent views, a range of water sports and easy access to the flora and fauna inhabiting the Narawntapu National Park.Tranquilles is in a perfect location to unpack once, then explore the many highlights of Tasmania?s lovely north and north-west regions, such as Cradle Mountain, Stanley, Tamar Wine Route, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House Port Sorell, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.