We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox and Hounds Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Fox and Hounds Inn to your Saves list
The Fox and Hounds Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6789 Arthur Highway, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Yeppoon, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Fox and Hounds Inn is a short drive to the Port Arthur Historic Site and we decided to stay there on the recommendation of friends. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and adequate for our one night stay. However, it was a basic motel room, pretty old fashioned and probably a bit overpriced for what you got. It was cold, windy and raining when we stayed and, once we worked out how to use the heater, we had a nice warm night in the room with no issues. The TV and phone reception is not very good but it is like that in the whole area, you also have to pay for WiFi. We were in a stand alone chalet right on the water at the back of the complex so had plenty of privacy and a fantastic view, not sure if the double storey block of units would be as good to stay in but there were plenty of other people there and it seemed like a popular choice. We had dinner at the Restaurant and both had excellent meals. The restaurant, bar and menu are Olde English themed which is something different. The meals were a little bit pricey but in saying that the meals we had and saw were huge and we found most meals in Tasmania to be more expensive than we expected. Overall it was a pleasant enough experience and I would recommend it to people and probably stay there again.

Room Tip: The stand alone rooms might have better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    46
    27
    24
See reviews for
36
63
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had made a booking for 19:30 to eat the restaurant, upon arriving none of the staff had a clue as to what was going on which was annoying and the beginning of a trend. The man was heavily tattooed and looked like a bouncer and was the un-friendliest person you could ever meet.

After finally been shown to our seats we were left wondering as to what to do as no one approached us or even spoke to us around ordering a meal, and the staff(waiters mainly men) walked around as though they were the missing extras from Star Wars (Stormtroopers), it was kind of unnerving for my partner. after 10 mins we went to find out what we needed to do to place our order.

A waiter finally came and then took our order but didn't even ask how we wanted our meat(steak) cooked. When the meal finally arrived mine being "The kings Banquet", which was 3 sausages, 1 egg, 1 lamb chop, 1 Steak, 4 pieces of bacon, tomato, onion and finally chips. Well once again I was let down, but this time by the Chef.

The food was oily very oily the steak was so overcooked it was like rubber, the sausages were very tired looking that they had many wrinkles and one would think how long had they been sitting in the fridge or sun, the chips were cold and onion was covering/smothering them so much that they became wet.
The bacon was nice but yet again smothered in oil, I was beginning to wonder if they had deep fried all the food as it came out in record time to our table and staff claim they didn't leave food in a bay marea and that it was all cooked fresh. After complaining to the staff all they could offer me is to talk to the chef and most people know what happens to your food if it comes back to the table for a 2nd go so I chose not too.
Also it appeared the staff could not give a crap about complaints or even had a policy around what to do.
If you wish to throw money away eat here, if like me you want good quality food and good price then eat at Port Arthur Restaurant "Felons" as we ate there the night before and it was wonderful food and great service.

This place needs Gordon Ramsay to come down and sort the chef out because this was my worst Kitchen Nightmare.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm-on=Tees
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This pub offered a clean chalet accommodation with a popular restaurant offering wholesome pub grub which suited our needs for a one night stay. The historic site of Port Arthur was 10 minutes drive away which is well worth the visit. Tip. There is a reduced entry fee to the site after 4pm which allows you time to walk around the whole site and imagine what it was like for the prisoners and the wardens.

Room Tip: It was reasonably quiet when we stayed so can't comment on other than our room which had views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Tried calling to make a booking, but the girl on the phone said "I don't have time for this" and hung up on me! Needless to say, I was rather annoyed and did not stay or eat here so I have no idea what it is like, but after having read some Google reviews I'm pretty glad that her rudeness turned me away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
646 reviews 646 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 305 cities Reviews in 305 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Rooms a fair size, good views, beds ok. Bathroom small, shower a bit aged. Location is good off main road with easy access to tourist areas. Restaurant reasonable on site for breakfast and dinner, access to ghost tours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

From the outside, this place reminded me of when I was a kid in Malaysia, staying in the ol' Smoke House in Cameron Highlands or Frasers Hill. So when I saw this, I was very excited.

When I checked in and walked into the place, it did look nice. Nice living area with a dining table. Large bathroom. Nice view out of the sliding doors.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly when we enquired about places to visit and directions. We decided to grab breakfast here before we went to the Port Arthur Historical Site. Continental breakfast was not too bad.

Okay, one thing I need to mention is that the linens were not that clean. There were spots on the sheets and there was even an animal dropping on it. Probably was a gecko because it was small, but it had a small yellowish circle around it. Yuck. We avoided that corner of the bed that night.

The weather was hot when we were there so the fan was a big plus.

We heard the food wasn't that great so we headed to Nubeena and had dinner at Lucky Ducks instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in one of the two bedroom units in January 2014, and found the unit to be quite pleasant. It was well kept and the kitchen was reasonably well equipped. We only stayed one night so we didn't use the kitchen to cook in. Instead we booked into the Fox and Hounds restaurant (see my other review on that). If you are planning on staying there for a few days, bring your own food because the nearest food shops are more than a bit pricey and quite limited in what they sell. The units had a heater in the living room, but no air conditioning. This was fine for us as the temperatures were around 13 degrees but I don't know how it would go on hot days (although it did have windows to open).

Two points that too our notice - the units actually provided dishwashing equipment (I find it odd that many motel units clearly expect you to wash your own crockery but don't provide you with anything with which to do that); and there was a nice note in the unit that said that the units are not serviced daily but that extra supplies of tea, coffee, toilet paper etc available from reception.

The unit had some information about paid wifi but we couldn't pick up a signal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds Inn

Address: 6789 Arthur Highway, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Inn)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox and Hounds Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox & Hounds Inn is an Olde English Tudor style hotel situated only 2km from Port Arthur. We have both motel style and two bedroom self contained villa accommodation separate from the main hotel. Landscaped gardens, water views, tennis court, children's playground, native wildlife, private jetty, restaurant, bar and bottle shop make this the ideal place to stay when visiting the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Fox and Hounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Port Arthur
The Fox And Hounds Inn Port Arthur, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox and Hounds Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.