We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port Arthur villas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Arthur Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Port Arthur Villas to your Saves list
Port Arthur Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   52 Safety Cove Road, Port Arthur, Tasmania, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Port Arthur villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Loved staying here as it was close to Port Arthur Historic site. The room was clean cosy and had a kitchen as a bonus. The host Wally was very informative and helpful. He booked our tours for us and couldn't have been more obliging. Loved the historic site and it was the highlight of my stay in Tasmania .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portarthurvillas, Owner at Port Arthur Villas, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Joan
So pleased we were able to fulfill your accommodation needs and provide you with passes to the Historic Site, it really is such an amazing place to visit, one night is never enough to fully explore all the Tasman Peninsula has to offer..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aussie returning
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The title mentions the best features.

Essentially these Villas are akin to rather sterile motel rooms and lack ambiance. I booked over the phone the night before. as my wife was unwell I asked about cancellation policy. I was quickly told "We would go broke" if we refunded in situations like ours.

So we continued on and arrived the next day. It turned out most of the place was vacant anyway.

I suspect there are better options. This place "feels like" a business and rather like establishments where you are advised what you can't do rather than impressing with the positives.

Potential noted however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where there is adequate storage space in the bedrooms - like a chest of drawers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portarthurvillas, Manager at Port Arthur Villas, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We clearly state our terms of booking and advise guests to take out insurance, we cannot do this.
All villas have a chest of drawers in the main bedroom for guests, plus adequate hanging space, with a bag rack to place cases on.
Our mission is to endeavour to have rooms available, when guests arrive, which avails more time to experience Port Arthur Historic Site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here as we were going to Port Arthur and this hotel is just down the road from Port Arthur and you get the key to the gate which allows you to enter into Port Arthur missing the crowds.
However there are more negatives than positives about this hotel sadly.
1 if you like rules this hotel is for you as there are so many rules in this hotel I felt like I was taken back in time to my military experience, it is good to have some rules but having them on walls and everywhere is a little to much.
When we first got there the receptionist was busy so we waited only to be rushed in such a way that I had to ask for things such as tickets that I had paid for and she neglected to give us (Frustrating).
Room is old school and needs an update as it feels tired and boring.
The hotel though is currently up for sale so this may change.
if you wish to borrow something you have to give a deposit ie umbrella dvd player etc.
if you use dishes make sure you clean them or they will charge you for cleaning them no excuse.
Over all will not stay here again unless new management changes things

Room Tip: Make sure you follow rules or you will be charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portarthurvillas, Manager at Port Arthur Villas, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I am sorry that you are offended by, what you call rules, but to cover us, in adverse situations, we must legally advise the terns of booking. This is the norm.
Our receptionist is normally extremely efficient and obliging. I note that on the 19 Feb, the day you booked in, was a period of "Fully Booked" and she would have been anxious to ensure all rooms were ready for in-coming guests.
Deposits are to ensure items are returned, otherwise we have no come back.
We are now in out 13th year and, even tough the villas are for sale, we are still constantly doing upgrades and refurbishments'
Bathrooms are to be done in May, kitchens were done 18 months ago, Both works are extremely costly, but we do not want to down-grade the establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The grounds of Port Arthur villas are beautiful. The villas are very well equipped for self catering and the privacy screens on the bedroom windows are a real asset. Wally greeted us with a friendly welcome and was very informative about the surrounding sites. We had dinner at the historic site one night and Wally gave us a key to access the gate opposite the villas which enabled us to walk across the historic site to the restuarant. The room was spacious and overall very clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portarthurvillas, Owner at Port Arthur Villas, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Pamela
Thanks for your review, i do hope you had a most enjoyable holiday.
Autumn is just around the corner, which will cahnge the garden scene.
Do come join us again
Wally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The villa has everything you need, is very clean and comfortable. We stayed here for 1 night to do the Ghost Tour and it was very good as we only had a short 5 minute walk into the Historic Port Arthur site, although it was a little scary walking back after the tour! The Villa has a fully functioning kitchen with stove and oven, but also there's a communal BBQ outside that we used as well. After traveling from Devonport to Hobart, we have found food really expensive, so it was great to be able to cook our own meals for a day. Would recommend the villas to stay at, although we felt they were a little over priced, but all in all, very good accommodation. Would definitely come back here to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portarthurvillas, Owner at Port Arthur Villas, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for your comments, yes we do try to have all the mods and cons to make your stay enjoyable.
The BBQ and garden are features we love and trust our guests enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A great location right near the Port Arthur site and the departure point for the boat cruises. The motel rooms are perfectly and spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Perhaps, as others have mentioned, we don't need a sign for absolutely everything - it can be rather offputting to be treated as though you are going to trash the place! The owners were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portarthurvillas, Owner at Port Arthur Villas, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments. much appreciated.
It is our mission to have the villas ready, early for our guest and without the notice we found some villas so bad we were not achieving this resolve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Villa was comfortable but was a little old fashioned. The interior sliding doors were noisy especially the bathroom/ toilet door. We had a double room unit which we shared and this dificulty keeping the door quiet was very annoying. The fact that the owner took the total payment from our credit card account 14 days before we arrived for our stay was disgraceful. I wonder what would have happened if we had been unable to get to Tassy because of a disaster somewhere. Would we get our money back. I would not accept these terms on another occasion.

Room Tip: Do not stay here under the terms that your payment is extracted 14 days prior to your visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portarthurvillas, Owner at Port Arthur Villas, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Bob
Appreciate your comments but in defence must say as a small operator we cannot accommodate guests on the off chance they will arrive.
It is easy to insure so that, in case of an adverse situation, you can recover your money.
We do stress to a=our guests that they should take out travel insurance.
Wally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Arthur Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Arthur Villas

Address: 52 Safety Cove Road, Port Arthur, Tasmania, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Arthur Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Arthur Villas offer fully self-contianed villas, with all mondern furnishings, spacious and well appointed.There are numerous combinations, namely: 4**** 2 bedroom, sleeping max 5 persons, 1 bedroom sleeping max 2 persons and studio sleeping max 3 persons.The location is rural, and the villas are set admist a beautiful garden, overlooking and adjoining the Port Arthur Historic Site.Our aim is to plaese and make your stay memorable.We can arrange and book your pass to the Historic Site, book the lantern lit Ghost Tour. Also we can arrange and book the Tasman Island World class eco-cruise, 3 hour duration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Port Arthur Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Arthur Villas Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Arthur Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.