We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Restaurant

Shanghai Restaurant
50 High Street, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
03 6261 2866
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in New Norfolk
Restaurant details
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Shanghai Restaurant was a good place to eat for hungry travellers on Sunday afternoon. The only restaurant for us in the late afternoon in New Norfolk. Chinese food was good to me. Taste was good, cheap, moderate amount. Kind restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We didn't have a booking, and it was obvious that this restaurant is popular but they were able to find us a table. We opted for a 2 person banquet - the choice of dishes was good, the only down-side for me, was that I would have preferred steamed rice instead of special fried rice, but that was only a minor consideration. The staff were fantastic, though very busy. Thankyou.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Simple menu, nice choices, Not much more to say really. No alternatives in New Norfolk but quite frankly... No other choices are needed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food in a simple restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Passing through New Norfolk we decided to find somewhere to eat. Spotted the Shanghai and the three of us got a table. Standard Chinese decor for a suburban restaurant, plastic tablecloths, soy sauce on the table, etc.. BUT a HUGE menu, with so many great choices. My husband and I went for the basic Banquet ($28) - Soup, Entree, two mains, yummy fried rice, dessert and coffee/tea. Our daughter had Chicken and Cashews and Fried Icecream. The service was quick, the food was plentiful and tasted great. We were given knife and fork but we asked for, and vwere quickly given, decent quality chopsticks. I have to say, the food was the best Chinese I have had in years (including the Me Wah!!) The only drawback was that the restaurant was FREEZING cold .. although they had the heater on, it was a very cold night and the heater had no impact on the shivering diners. Well worth the long drive, but take a coat with you if you visit in Winter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dockland
1 review
“Good taste and reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to restaurant last Sunday. It was busy in restaurant, and we worried about we need to wait for a long time. However, it is not a long time to wait. I ordered a beef dish and that was very nice! I loved it.
My friend and I order two entrees and two dishes. All cost us less than 40 dollars. That is good price for the quality good!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

New Norfolk, Tasmania
New Norfolk, Tasmania
 
New Norfolk, Tasmania
 

Been to Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.