We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shingles Riverside Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shingles Riverside Cottages to your Saves list
Shingles Riverside Cottages
115-117 Glenora Road, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect. The cottage is set right in front of the river. The whole place is beautifully-landscaped, with lots of ornaments to complement the wonderful little units nestled within the compound. The host is an avid photographer and you are able to purchase her photos if you fancy them. You will find
Lemon tree, apple tree etc. among the other flora.

If there is one negative which I must highlight, it will be the acute angle at which the road leading to the cottage is set.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed for one night in Paddy's Flat and couldn't fault it. It had everything you'd need for a very comfortable visit but what I loved
just as much as the inside was being able to sit and watch the river flow by. The units are hidden from the road and you can't hear any traffic. Such a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our "Willows" room. We did not book in advance although we did use Google to find the location. Veronica (the owner) was extremely friendly upon checkin. The room was lovely, clean and with all the comforts of home and some added extras... a real find at an extremely reasonable price. We loved our stay and would happily recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Three of us and a 3 year old child were visiting Hobart and wanted to stay somewhere outside the city. New Norfolk is very close and picturesque and easy to get to from Mona. A well equipped kitchen, lovely breakfast supplies and gardens leading down to a private little jetty.Comfortable furniture and relaxed owners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The reviews of this accommodation vary greatly, clearly different expectations and perhaps different units. We stayed in 'The Willows' for two nights at the end of an anti-clockwise two weeks around Tasmania - wonderful to pull up short of Hobart after coming through from Strahan in rain.
Out of Hobart, yes, but an easy drive of an hour to the airport and 20 minutes from MONA. A pleasant country town - find Pulpit lookout for views (across the river) and the point where the little Lachlan River enters the Derwent for platypus and other wildlife. A great walk built along the river bank.

Our unit - The Willows - was very comfortable and with subtleties of design which grew on us - not a classy first impression wearing off quickly. Very well equipped, quality appliances and with nice supplies of all the basics of cereals, bread, milk, eggs, juice... (Replying to the reviewer who was disappointed at supplies:– after circling Tasmania, surely she, like we, was travelling with favourite foods?)

BUT please note, this unit, with internal steps up to bed, down to bath and kitchen, IS NOT for people with mobility problems.

Room Tip: We chose The Willows as having more facilities than the riverside studio apartment which was a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Such a great cottage. It had everything we needed - from bath robes to modern bathroom. I would highly recommend this place and you have a wonderful views of the river. They even have cereal, toast, milk, different condiments, tea and coffee in your room. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

I was disappointed from the start. Was looking forward to our river view when we were down graded from that to a room with a view of the main road and no continental breakfast as stated. Very upset, it was my birthday holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shingles Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingles Riverside Cottages

Address: 115-117 Glenora Road, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting fully self contained cottages on the banks of the spectacular Derwent River set in 2 acres of tranquil, private gardens with solar heated in ground swimming pool, private jetty and barbeque facilities. A short 2 minute drive to the town centre of New Norfolk, 30 minutes to Hobart and 45 to airport with all of Southern Tasmania's tourist attractions within easy traveling time, making this an ideal base for your holiday. A stunning location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shingles Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingles Riverside Cottages New Norfolk, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shingles Riverside Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.