We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shingles Riverside Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shingles Riverside Cottages to your Saves list
Shingles Riverside Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   115-117 Glenora Road, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What A Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

It was only by chance that my Mum and I came across Shingles Riverside Cottages and we were so happy. John and Veronica were very friendly and accommodating. They had one Cottage Left (Paddy's Flat) and they encouraged us to go and have a look before we committed. It was exactly what we needed and wanted with a beautiful riverside view (what a bonus!). The studio room was modern and comfortable with a bed, two lounge chairs, table and two chairs, kitchenette, television, large bathroom and a continental breakfast.

One very minor thing was that one of the visitors staying in the Cottage above stomped hard on the floor as they walked and therefore we could hear the walking above (but only sometimes). This was only a small thing though and did not take away from our great experience.

Thank you John and Veronica for a great stay! We hope to be back in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at The Shingles (Nov 2011)
We were in" The Derwent" which is very spacious.
There is plenty of cereal but you need to replenish your own milk and bread if staying longer.
Even though there was a dining table we sat at the table outside the back door for every meal as the garden setting was so peaceful and beautiful.
Other units were occupied but we had total privacy and felt privileged to share the garden with the birds.
I had read some of the reviews before we left and was feeling a little dubious prior to arrival but we could have stayed forever. Our experience was wonderful. Thank you Veronica for making our celebrations even better.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed for one night in 'The Willows" studio style cottage. The queen sized bed (very comfortable) was made up with good quality linen.The decor of the room was modern and very tasteful. We were lucky enough to see a playpus down by the Derwent River at the owners private jetty. My only complaint would be that no spreads (eg. jam or vegemite) were provided as part of the 'generous breakfast provisions', so I had to be content with toast and butter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920brandycat920, Owner at Shingles Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
What a shame you did not have a selection of jams ect in your cottage as we normally do supply a generous selection, an oversite which is not normal. Our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The room is nice and well maintained and the view is very beautiful.

However our room was situated underneath the owners house - i.e. it's a split level and they occupy the floor above. As a result I could hear TV noise coming from above and I each time I went outside I never felt like I had much privacy as the level above can see right down into the back of the place.

I also felt self conscious each time I turned on the TV because I felt I might be disturbing the owners family.

To be fair though, I suspect that I am a little sensitive to unwanted, external noise and it's something that others may not even notice.

As a result of the noise and lack of privacy I never felt comfortable staying here and was glad to leave. I really felt like an unwanted intruder living in someones backyard.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920brandycat920, Owner at Shingles Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
In response to this review The Shingles Riverside Cottages have replastered and insulated with sound proofing products to overcome the noise transferance from the television in the Birches Cottage (upper level of this building) to Paddy's Flat and belive this will overcome the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

One night during our 3 weeks trip around Tasmania in this shabby place: dead spiders and a very bad wellcome, the owner Veronica was Watching tv so she was hurry to let us in our dirty paddy's flat. On the walls there are some Veronica's photos that she sells at 12 AUD each: Nude woman in an old industrial zone. The "gourmet breakfast as she offered us was 2 slices of bread in the fridge (photos 1), no table, bad bed all that for 120 AUD Nice shot Veronica! To conclude when we left at 9 o'clock nobody was there so we understood that service is an unknown word in the Veronica's B&B!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

There's so many good things to say about Shingles. The ground floor cottage we stayed in was charming, the owner was friendly and helpful, the garden and surroundings was beautiful, the jetty was peaceful and one could watch the rowers pass by or admire nature and God's creation. Breakfast is provided in your room for convenience. The decor is also tasteful. I can highly recommend Shingles. It's not far from Hobart but if you want to eat in New Norfolk I recommend Shanghai Restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed in Paddy's Flat, which was a perfect alternative to a motel room or B&B. It is right by the river , with a beautiful view from bed and surrounded by lovely and well maintained gardens with plentiful small birdlife and birdsong. There is a small landing by the river where you can sit and contemplate. Cooking facilities are very limited - small microwave, small fridge and toaster, with generous supplies for a continental breakfast. Bathroom is large (shower only) and spotless. Good quality linen and bed. There is no table to eat at (not enough room); there is a good quality , large flat screen tv.

New Norfolk doesn't have a lot of accommodation in the way of motel style (ie not having to come to a central area for breakfast). Paddy's Flat however, would stand up against the stiffest competition (if there were any!) Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shingles Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingles Riverside Cottages

Address: 115-117 Glenora Road, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shingles Riverside Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting fully self contained cottages on the banks of the spectacular Derwent River set in 2 acres of tranquil, private gardens with solar heated in ground swimming pool, private jetty and barbeque facilities. A short 2 minute drive to the town centre of New Norfolk, 30 minutes to Hobart and 45 to airport with all of Southern Tasmania's tourist attractions within easy traveling time, making this an ideal base for your holiday. A stunning location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shingles Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingles Riverside Cottages New Norfolk, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shingles Riverside Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.