We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junction Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Junction Motel to your Saves list
Junction Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Lyell Hwy & Pioneer Avenue, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in New Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Busselton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Our first stop in Tasmania and it was lovely. Very clean and a bit of a mish mash of furniture but it added character. Bed was very comfortable and warm. Breakfast was huge and did us for the day. The reception was friendly and informative and he obviously loves his town.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
31
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay for the one night whilst on our way out of Tasmania via Hobart airport (which is an easy drive away).

The (seemingly) newly renovated rooms have everything you'd need from tea & coffee to TV and great bathroom. Each one had its own unique touches and they'd created separate areas in the room through clever use of the furniture. No expense has been spared in the decoration or furniture in the rooms and en-suite.

We visited the restaurant for dinner and had the tasting platter which had a huge variety of delicious items. The portion size would fill a giant.

Customer service was spot on with a really nice team.

I'd highly recommend staying and eating at the restaurant!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good accommodation with very friendly staff. Rooms accurately described, excellent value too. I was very happy with the stay and will stay again. Didn't get a chance to eat at the on site restaurant but the prices looked very good.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

The reviews on this place were good, so we booked a room for one night as part of our trip through Tasmania.
We arrived on a hot Sunday. The (sweating) receptionist apologized for the heat and for the fact that there was no air-conditioning in the rooms, which was a surprise....
The room was O.K. Nothing special and there was a floor-standing fan which helped somewhat.
The highly recommended restaurant, which we were looking forward to, was closed (Sunday....), so we went looking for something to eat "downtown" but everything was closed.
The Junction Motel was recommended on Tripadvisor as probably the best place in New Norfolk....However, since New Norfolk is only less than half an hour from Hobart (We were at the end of our anti-clockwise tour of the island), we recommend Hobart, which has much more accommodations to offer.
Nothing to write home about..!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed for two nights on our motor bike trip Tim is awesome super relaxed food is amazing do yourself a favour and stay here it is inexpensive and a great relaxing place to stay over we will be back thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are good this is not a 5 star but so worth the stop breakfast is super good and food is am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We live in New Norfolk, while we were remodelling our home we stayed here

Great customer service, and the rooms were up with the times
Highly recommend this place as this is a great place to stay

Nice restaurant, great food.
No need to go anywhere else as this place has the full package :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

It was a day of 35C heat. About half a dozen tenants sitting in courtyard shades was clue to an unexpected surprise. Another clue was the rosy cheeked and a little sweaty receptionist holding out at the reception that felt more like a sauna. The front door of our room was jammed tight shut. Forcing the door open, we dashed for the air-conditioner. To our horror there was none!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junction Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Motel

Address: Cnr Lyell Hwy & Pioneer Avenue, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Junction Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Junction... Where country vibe and prices- meets city service.. The Junction Motel is a clean, value for money 30 room, Motel and Function Centre situated in the picturesque town of New Norfolk, the gateway to the West Coast and Wilderness National Parks- Mt Field,Styx Valley and Lake Pedder.The "Best Food experience" awarding winning Agarian Kitchen is in Lachlan 10 mins away. Whilst also being just 30 minutes from Tasmania's capital city - Hobart or what the locals call Slobart. Also only 15 minutes away from the much controversial Mona Museum of Old and New Art at Moorilla Estate Vineyard (Berridale). Port Arthur and the HuonValley are about one and a half hours drive from New Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Junction Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junction Motel New Norfolk, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junction Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.