We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junction Motel

Save Saved
You added Junction Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Junction Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Lyell Hwy & Pioneer Avenue, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Entry to Salmon Ponds
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in New Norfolk
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were only looking for overnight accommodation, but it was so good we ended up staying 8 nights. Clean, comfortable, roomy - and easily the best value in Tasmania! Slept like a top every night. The owner, Tim, is a thoroughly nice guy, and cannot do enough to assist you. He is also a great source of local information. We dined in the in-house restaurant every night, and the food was excellent. Real home-style, good quality, well presented food, and the best value I have encountered anywhere. Parking at the door was great, and having laundry facilities was another bonus. Thanks so much Tim for making our stay so thoroughly delightful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Wow Eileen and Tom it was great to have you stay with us at The Junction. As I said to you at checkout its great for us when we have nice people to serve, stay around a while and get to know. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful Island home..once again thankyou for choosing us and your kind words.
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
22
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff (even tourist information was provided). Perfect for one night. Price level rarher high (via booking.com) compared to the standard equiped room. Trafic causes noise to some rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi PM, many thanks for your review of us at the Junction. We do advertising our stand by rates out front of the motel and thats the same price you pay when booked direct with us, if booked through third party sites I have to pay between 10-15% commission, so that is why our double price is $95 on those sites rather than $88 as stand by. Hope that this explains it all a little clearer...once again many thanks for taking the time to review us
regards
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having taken my car, for the first time, to Tassie, I had booked in for a foodie adventure at The Agrarian Kitchen just out of New Norfolk, so I needed accommodation nearby. I spoke with Tim and liked the sound of him - very helpful - loved the Collingwood supporters' discount! So I booked for 4 nights - what a great find - it made my trip to Tassie. Such reasonable rates - proves you don't need 5-star stuff to be happy and comfortable, having just spent 4 nights in Hobart. Tim was so informative, supplying a map of where eateries were, and the road to the Agrarian Kitchen. He apologised that the kitchen was closed for their annual leave - however, being a foodie, there was ample room in the 'frig for food and a microwave. The bonus was having a comfy settee and table & chairs - a heater for the cold nights and friendly staff and parking the car at the front door. Loved the place and will certainly recommend.
Bronwyn from Canberra

Room Tip: Comfortable bed, quiet, plenty of room - everything suited me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Bronwyn, many many thanks for your kind words. We just loved having you here for the Agrarian Kitchen, we have people from all round the world come to our beautiful valley for their cooking classes , its been a great boost for our region. Would love to have you back to try our Restaurant specially when the local harvest of fruits, Lamb ,Atlantic Salmon all come in during the summer months...YUM...Once again many thanks for your review and Go The Pies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Where does one start when expectations are exceeded. Booked the Junction purely on price ( and good reviews), and found it to be easily the best little accomodation of our trip. Sure there are more fancy and stylised places, but if you dont demand 5 star everywhere you go, this is a great place to stay. Easy to find, right on the main (quiet) highway, the motel symbol is the first clue of what is on offer.
Tim has put a lot of effort in transforming an older motel into a homely, quirky & comfortable place to stay. Feng Shui is obvious, with the gardens & pots of plants & succulents all around. Each room is coloured differently, and the old time posters on the walls outside take us back to memories lived. The rooms have been renovated to what the building has allowed, and brightened with furnishings of colour & comfort. The table & chairs outside the room were handy too.
As for Tim, I suggest he start a "how to be a perfect host" school, many could learn from him. A genuine concern for our comfort, engaging conversationalist, and an ambassador for all the places to see. And he remembered our names. Very cool. The bar frige is fully stocked, and goods are at shop prices. Tell me where else you can get a stubby of beer from a motel room for $3.50.
At reception, every conceivable brochure of Tasmania is there, as well as local history. Tim even provided a map of the local eateries for us.
It was very pleasing to note Tims pride in cleanliness & comfort, the beds are sanitised regularly by a contractor, for the health & peace of mind of guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Wow Bill what a wrap ! Putting the pressure on me know...! Mate its great to Host Nice people , simple as that..and we do pride ourselves here on giving the best value we can. We don't make a lot of money from here but I'm here for the long term and I enjoy what I do. People who "get" what we are doing is the reason I do it and have been for 30 years. Once again Bill many many thanks for your kind words and look forward to seeing you maybe again.
cheers
tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A group of seven motorcycle buddies touring around Tasmania stayed at the Junction Motel for a night. The rooms were very comfortable with all the amenities you need. We had dinner in the restaurant - 4 course buffet meal for $25 a head and full cooked breakfast the next morning. The food was excellent and unbelievable value - would definitley recommend stopping off at the Junction Motel if you are passing through New Norfolk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Bryan, many thanks for your review of us here at the Junction. We just loved having you guys here, you were organised and wanted to have fun and that's what we do to those who want it !
Tassie's a great place for Bike Touring and every group we have are great people who enjoy life and understand that you reap what you sow. Once again Bryan many thanks
cheers
tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading the reviews we didn't know quite what to expect of the manager Tim but he was friendly and offered a lot of advice about things to see and do in the area. It's an old style motel and showing its age in some areas. We had a queen sized room, a bit of an odd shape but plenty of space. If you like standard beige/chocolate decor you'll be disappointed - the room had an eclectic mixture of sofas, side tables, vertical blinds and paintings. Not sure why there was one tooled leather side table in the toilet while its mate was beside the bed. The biscuits on the tea tray were past their use-by date. We did get a chuckle from the board showing 10% discount to Collingwood supporters. Free wifi was a plus and it worked well - if only all places did this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts on us at the Junction...sorry about the out of date biscuits, but were glad that you enjoyed the quirky décor and the free wifi. Thanks for saying Were not the standard type of bland accommodation and we feel our value for money rates and location together with the décor of the motel and I think that's why we have doubled turnover in the past couple of years. we Collingwood people must stick together !! Ha Ha.
Once again many thanks for your review and hope to see you again if visiting our beautiful Island Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My 17 year old son and I stayed two nights in July at The Junction Motel in New Norfolk whilst on our two weeks holiday travelling around Tasmania and we can both say that we really had a truly enjoyable, relaxing and very comfortable stay whilst there. The owner/manager of the motel by the name of 'Tim' was the perfect host in every way possible, he went out of his way to make us feel extremely welcomed at all times. Nothing was ever a problem for Tim which was really great to see!! My son and I stayed in a very neat, clean and comfortable motel room just near to the Front Office/Reception area which consisted of a lovely, warm and cozy queen and single bed with electric blankets, a wall heater in the room which worked beautifully and on both mornings we were served with a wonderfully hot, home-styled, hearty cooked breakfast which was conveniently brought to our motel room. On both nights we had dinner in The Junction Motel restaurant which had a really lovely, warm and intimate atmosphere about it with interesting decor neatly positioned around the restaurant for us to admire and appreciate whilst sipping on a nice drink and enjoying our heavenly dinner. I can honestly say that it was the best priced quality dinner that my son and I were both very fortunate to have had the true pleasure of enjoying whilst on the whole of our two weeks holiday in Tasmania. We could help ourselves to as much or as little food as we liked, from a buffet/carvery style 'Four Course' dinner menu for a mere $25.00 per person (for House Guests), which was the best quality/value dinner that we have pretty much ever come across. Every thing we ate was truly delicious and very satisfying:) All the staff were extremely friendly and a real pleasure to deal with at any time.
We will definitely come back and stay at The Junction Motel again, when we book our next holiday to Tasmania. Thanks so much to Tim and his staff for making our two night stay at The Junction Motel, a truly enjoyable and memorable occasion....we only wished that we could have stayed for much longer.....and to anybody else who is considering staying in New Norfolk for a night or two or even a week or more, we can highly recommend staying at The Junction Motel!!
Sally and Adrian, Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thanks Sally for review of us, its a pleasure to serve pleasurable people.
Once again many thanks
regards
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Junction Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Motel

Address: Cnr Lyell Hwy & Pioneer Avenue, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Junction Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Junction... Where country vibe and prices- meets city service.. The Junction Motel is a clean, value for money 30 room, Motel and Function Centre situated in the picturesque town of New Norfolk, the gateway to the West Coast and Wilderness National Parks- Mt Field,Styx Valley and Lake Pedder.The "Best Food experience" awarding winning Agarian Kitchen is in Lachlan 10 mins away. Whilst also being just 30 minutes from Tasmania's capital city - Hobart or what the locals call Slobart. Also only 15 minutes away from the much controversial Mona Museum of Old and New Art at Moorilla Estate Vineyard (Berridale). Port Arthur and the HuonValley are about one and a half hours drive from New Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Junction Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junction Motel New Norfolk, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junction Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.